We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty views but overpriced ”

Land's End Landmark
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Sennen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The beautiful scenery of Land's End has made it one of Britain's favourite destinations for days out. Located at the westernmost point of Cornwall, you can appreciate fully how the relationship between land and sea is constantly changing.Parking your car is the only thing you have to pay for, and you can then walk the clifftops to see how Cornwall changes from season to season, or contemplate the thousands of miles of the Atlantic Ocean which begin at the First and Last Point.No visit is complete without having your picture taken at the famous land's end signpost. Then do a spot of souvenir shopping at the West Country Shopping Village, before taking time out to relax in the Land's End Bar and Restaurant.When it comes to finding things to do in Cornwall, the very tip of the county makes a great starting point for discovering all the places to visit.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Lands end has been on my bucket list since I was a little kid, therefore I was really excited to go!
The first disappointing thing is that the parking is really overpriced for the place, £6 and there isn’t anywhere else near by to park for free and walk. The views are pretty and nice for a stretch of your legs, but overall it has been ruined as a tourist attraction and tacky (very unlike any other Cornish tourist attraction I’ve seen).
Overall I’m glad to say I’ve been but I think they’re nicer places to visit and cheaper around cornwall.

3  Thank KttCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landsendlandmark, Public Relations Manager at Land's End Landmark, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi KttCo,

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Land’s End, and leaving your feedback.

It’s wonderful to hear that you managed to tick something off your bucket list by visiting the westernmost point of Cornwall – and it’s great to hear that the views, scenery, and walks did not let you down.

We’re sorry to hear that the car parking charge was more than you had been expecting. The money generated from this goes towards the upkeep and maintenance of the 100 acres of ‘outstanding natural beauty’ that Land’s End is fortunate enough to offer visitors.

Thank you once again for your visit and feedback. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Filter

195 - 199 of 2 528 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We were visiting my Dad for the weekend and decided to get out for the day, as the weather was amazing. We thought Lands End would be fun, neither of us had been there for a long time. We pulled up at the booth before the car park expecting to pay admission, but sadly this was merely a parking charge. We both felt that as we were visiting the attraction the £6 fee was steep, anyway we paid and parked up. The car park was fairly busy, but parking wasn't and issue. Everything looked very tidy and we could that the attraction was having some work done. So we'd committed to the parking costs and felt we should pay for the full experience. This covered four attractions within the centre, a farm, an Aardman exhibition, a 4d dinosaur experience and an Athurian maze hunt. The cost for this was £14 each, this was a discount on paying individually for each attraction. We killed some time before the next 4d dinosaur showing and headed down to the iconic sign post. Here we were both gobsmacked to see it roped off. Yup you guessed, a fee to have a professional photo taken. It was somewhere in the area of £12! Not that enthusiastic about playing the tourist to that level, we shunned this and opted for a cheeky selfie our side of the rope. It was time for the 4d dinosaurs. This was a short animated film, complete with 3d glasses, moving seats and other surprises. I'll leave that one there, should you go, I wouldn't want to spoil anything. Once over, you had the exit through the gift shop route. We decided on the Arthurian maze next. Before we went in we could hear the booming voice of Brian Blessed. We joked about Flash Gordon and Brian's line, "Gordons alive". The walk through was fun, with the usual animatronic gizmos. We collected our rubber stamps on route, somehow managing to miss one. The mirror maze would certainly entertain smaller kids. We were highly amused to hear Blessed say, "Arthurs alive!" At the end. Once again our exit took us through the gift shop. We finished with the Aardman exhibition, being a huge fan, it didn't really disappoint. Lots of bit and bobs to push, throw and examine. Then upon exiting, can you guess where we came out? Yeah, the gift shop. It seems all paths lead there. We had a schmooze through the gift shops, they lacked the usual tacky gifts, which was a surprise and a pleasure. Having said that, we had hoped for some real tacky touristy bits to buy as a joke for family. In the end we settled on sticks of rock: in gin & tonic, prossecco, blue wkd, and Jaeger bombs. (When handed out, they were found to be soft, so not sure how old they were.) The exhibition at the entrance was fun and packed with the many ways people have done John O'Groats to Lands End. We finished with a walk to the craft centre, which is next to the farm. We weren't overly bothered at seeing the animals, being hot it had a very farmy smell. As we walked back to the car, we spotted a large pod of dolphins, playing just off the coast. It had to be the highlight of the day, funny how the best is free, we'll almost, if we'd just parked we'd still have to fork out £6!

Thank Loulabelletoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landsendlandmark, Public Relations Manager at Land's End Landmark, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hi Loulabelletoo,

Thank you for visiting Land’s End recently, and for the feedback you have left.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit here. It certainly sounds as though you made the most of the various attractions, outlets, and coastal walks that we have to offer our visitors.

We are sorry to hear that you found some of the charges across the site to be more expensive than you had planned for, however it’s great to hear that this didn’t prevent you from having an enjoyable visit.

It’s also fantastic to hear that a particular highlight of yours was spotting a pod of Dolphins out in the water – a great site for all to enjoy.

Thank you once again for your visit and feedback. We hope you will return and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Dear tourists, Land's End in NO WAY represents the Cornish people!! This represents a money grabbing rich owner, who cares not a bit about the impression it gives and just about selling 'tat' and making money!! On behalf of the Cornish, I am very sorry and totally embarrassed!!!
Oh my goodness.... where do I begin! I have lived down here all my life, 50 years and I'm Cornish through and through! I have not visited Land's End for 10+ years. All I can say is I am ashamed to be Cornish if that is the impression that Land's End gives to tourists of us!
Terrible, cheap, tacky, down-trodden, rip-off, poor quality and over-priced food..... the list could go on! They literally charge a fortune for every single thing you can look at or do! I joked to my family, that I bet they even charge to have your photo taken by the sign and, lo-and-behold, we went around the corner and they were charging!!! Every single thing has an extra charge; even the dinky (and I mean DINKY!) little farm on the cliffs for the children!
The scenery of Land's End is amazing!! Ignore the tatty and over-priced shops! Yes there is nowhere else to park, so brave the £6 parking fee, take a picnic and drinks, and a blanket in a little rucksack. AVOID the whole built up 'Land's End Money Making Dump' and enjoy the beautiful scenery that there is on offer. Walk the cliffs westward back to Sennen beach and take in the breath-taking scenery, maybe have your picnic there overlooking the Atlantic. If you're in the mood for a real good hike (and don't have little kids whose legs will tire) you could try a walk on the SW Coast path all the way around to Porthcurno!
Whatever you choose to do, we the Cornish people in no way want you to think we are anything like the impression that Land's End gives to tourists!
We are a kind, warm and friendly folk, who like nothing more than to pass the time of a day having a 'Good Old Yarn' - Cornish speak for nice chat! 8) - with any friendly passers by who care to pass the time of day with us..... Enjoy your trip to Cornwall!

5  Thank AlexFromCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landsendlandmark, Public Relations Manager at Land's End Landmark, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi AlexFromCornwall,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Land’s End.

It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed taking in the “amazing” sights and scenery that we are fortunate enough to have here at the westernmost point.

We are however sorry to hear that the rest of your visit left you disappointed and embarrassed. We aim to have something for all to enjoy, and for guests to be able to purchase local Cornish gifts to remember their time here by.

We offer a variety of family saver ticket options, as well as various discounts in all of our departments too.

The iconic Land’s End signpost is owned and operated by a local family business, and consequently they reserve the right to operate this how the deem appropriate.

Once again, thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

You have to pay £6 to park at Land's End, there is little parking elsewhere and no advise on getting public transport. So you have to pay to see a the coast that belongs to all tax payers already. When you get in there are a few tourist tat shops, which the website describe as "offering items unique to this corner of the British Isles". There are greasy hot dog, Chicago pizza, chips food stores, which sell nothing from the local area. There were a few pubs which may have done local food and drink but we didn't go in. The Land's End sign was put up by a local family who charge people to go close to it - it's a complete con and has no historic or social significance.

The locals are running a con for a piece of coast line that should be free for all to see. They have ruined it. There are also lots of other nicer and less exploited coast lines in Cornwall and I would advise you go to those and give this con a miss.

2  Thank Weece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landsendlandmark, Public Relations Manager at Land's End Landmark, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Land’s End Weece.

We’re sorry to hear that your visit to Land’s End was not what you had expected, and that the offering here was also not what you had hoped it would be.
We aim to offer something for all of our visitors to enjoy and experience, and are sorry that on this occasion it was not to your personal taste and expectations.

Thank you for your feedback and visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

I knew 'Lands End' itself would be busy and so we walked the coastal path to get there. It was nice to go and visit and to say we have been but it wasn't anything special and was just very busy. We hoped to get a picture with the famous signpost but actually the queue was massive and the photos were expensive so we took our own. I'm glad we didn't allocate lots of time there.

Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landsendlandmark, Public Relations Manager at Land's End Landmark, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi Rebecca C,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to the westernmost point of Cornwall.

We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here, particularly the coastal walk, and the views you were able to experience whilst exploring this part of the Cornish coastline.

We’re sorry to hear that not all of the offering here was to your personal taste, and parts of your visit left you disappointed.

Thank you once again for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Land's End Landmark also viewed

 

Been to Land's End Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing