We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous half term holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cot

View to the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to the sea
Woodburning stove Cadgwith Cove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
View to the sea
Woodburning stove
Cadgwith Cove
The dining area
double bedroom with view over the cove
bespoke oak kitchen with granite worktop
Twin bedroom
sea views from the garden
bathroom with shower enclosure & roll top bath
View from garden
Cadgwith
Monty Halls - 'The Fisherman's Apprentice'
Fishing boats in the Cove
Kennack Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cadgwith, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Claire A
Chichester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous half term holiday”
Reviewed 2 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a perfect week in the Cot. It was cosy and welcoming and had everything we needed, and Cadgwith was just what we'd hoped for. A quiet and unspoilt village with a spectacular outloook out to sea and very friendly pub. We loved our walks along the South West Coastal Path and were not lost for things to do - our week flew by. It's a very special place and ideal for getting away from everything. We will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2018
Thanks Claire for your lovely comments, delighted that you had a lovely stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Cot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile752...
1 review
“Cute, cosy and comfortable.”
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed in The Cot for three nights in January. Such a cosy, pretty little cottage. The weather was wet and windy but it didn't matter. We lit the wood burner and curled up on the squashy sofa to watch Notting Hill!
Dinner in the pub on Friday night was great, lovely fresh fish with chips. We were lucky enough to hear the Cadgwith shanty singers which was fantastic.
The cottage is well equipped with everything you might need. The beds are comfy. It was all lovely and clean. All in all a lovely experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2018
Thank you for your lovely feedback, delighted you enjoyed your stay and also that you got to hear the Cadgwith singers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ampelivil...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
“Charming character cottage with fascinating family history”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just home after another delightful stay at 'The Cot'. We love the character, comfort and charm of Fiona and Simon's sympathetically restored 16th century thatched cottage. A further highlight was the newly terraced garden which has fantastic views of the bay and cove. The cottage is highly recommended for its facilities, tasteful decor and location. We also loved reading about the family history of the property. It's brilliant to have the beach, crab seller, ice-cream shop, café and pub only a few steps away. Thanks for a wonderful relaxing break - we look forward to a return visit before too long!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Thank you Nikki and Pete for your lovely feedback, we were delighted to welcome you back to The Cot and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the garden and its views over the cove. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorkin...
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magical, Mystical and charming”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having stayed in quite a few excellent cottage rentals I can confidently state that this one stands out head and shoulders above the rest.
The Cot has character and history combined with 21st Century comfort and facilities that leave one enchanted.
Hideaway nooks and crannies used for contraband or to evade press gangs combine with low beamed ceilings and doorways suggesting how the dwellers of the past lived here.
It's a glass throw away from the Arms which itself is wall to wall charactuer and characters from the mayor with curiously trimmed trouser bottoms to the singers and artists who evoke a sense of times gone by.
If I have one negative to throw into the mix for balance it is that we had to leave. This is a home from home and then some. Stay, embrace the vibe and leave enriched by the experience.
I feel privileged to have been allowed a glimpse into this world.
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was full of character
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2016
We are very grateful for your lovely review of the cottage and hope you will stay again soon. We're delighted that you enjoyed the character of the cottage which has been in the family for generations. The Cove is a very special place and full of characters (the Mayor switched on the Christmas lights dressed as Aiden Turner!)

Best wishes
Fiona and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delighted...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Cot has been well and thoughtfully renovated and equipped. It has bright sunny living accommodation, comfortable bedrooms and a particular bonus - a sunny garden that looks out over the village and the sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and sunshine in the sitting room
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2016
Many thanks for your lovely comment, we're very pleased that you found the cottage comfortable and well equipped. The view from the garden is wonderful, you can watch the cove go by!

Best wishes
Fiona and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing