We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
CD.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2411
Dog & family friendly
Review of Antbear Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Jun 2022via mobile
A dog friendly, walkers dream. All you need. We had 2 large dogs with us who did not want us to leave them in the garden to go for dinner, so dinner was brought to us without a blink.

They also provided a cot for our daughter and steralised all her bottles for us. We had a berry incident on the way and our laundry was done and returned berry free.

The staff are superbly friendly.

The food was really good. They catered vegetarian for me without an issue. Tiramisu and boozy pears are highly recommended.
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Facade/entrance
Booking.com
    15.3 km from Antbear Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    A comfortable double bed with an electric blanket for chilly nights
    eDreams
      14.4 km from Antbear Lodge
      Free parking
      Executive Room
      Booking.com
      • ZenHotels.com
      • Agoda.com
      • Vio.com
      15.3 km from Antbear Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Booking.com
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      14.3 km from Antbear Lodge
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      eDreams
      • Vio.com
      4.2 km from Antbear Lodge
      Restaurant
      Bar/Lounge
      Vue depuis la chambre 101
      Booking.com
      • Vio.com
      16.3 km from Antbear Lodge
      Willowgrange Country Hotel
      Booking.com
        17.9 km from Antbear Lodge
        Pool
        Restaurant
        Booking.com
        • Priceline
        • Agoda.com
        16.0 km from Antbear Lodge
        Blue Room - family room with 2 queen size beds - shower
        Priceline
        • Booking.com
        • eDreams
        • Lol.travel
        16.4 km from Antbear Lodge
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Vio.com
          16.5 km from Antbear Lodge
          View more hotels in Estcourt
          Reviews (361)
          Filter reviews
          361 results
          Traveller rating
          235
          95
          20
          7
          4
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          LanguageAll languages
          More languages
          Traveller rating
          235
          95
          20
          7
          4
          Show reviews that mention
          All reviews the owner honesty bar attention to detail giants castle amazing views main building before dinner central drakensberg midlands meander two nights spa bath working farm wood working beautiful area home cooked his team get away
          Selected filters
          Filter
          Updating list...
          12 - 17 of 361 reviews
          Reviewed 16 June 2022 via mobile

          We slept @the cave in the Antbear lodge. We had a warm and pleasant welcome by the staff. The view from our sun deck was spectacular. We had a lot of privacy. The cooking was amazing and authentic. The place is almost self sufficient and good for the environment.
          Special thanks for the Antbear staff.

          Room tip: Stay home and relax. Enjoy the environment
          Date of stay: June 2022
          Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          Thank Mobile20618787219
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Reviewed 27 May 2022

          Stunning venue that I will definitely be returning to. The staff and owners are lovely and the rooms and views speak for themselves. Even when the weather wasn't on our side we had a wonderful time and returned home feeling refreshed and relaxed.

          Date of stay: May 2022
            • Value
            • Sleep Quality
            • Service
          Thank BrittSmall
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          andrew attwood, Owner at Antbear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2022

          Thanks for the review. Its sometimes difficult to enjoy a holiday with pouring rain. Nobody can do anything about controlling the weather and you made the best of it.

          Report response as inappropriate
          This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
          Reviewed 26 May 2022

          Definitely one of our best top 2 night honeymoon destinations. If you are looking for a safe and warm place in the middle of nowhere with no cities, no cars and no people in an absolute beautiful area to just relax and let go then this is definitely the place to be! It is quiet, beautiful, amazing views, stars at night which will take you a lifetime to count, the best and friendliest client service, and care during your entire stay, thank you Andile for your friendly and warm welcome and personality during our entire stay! The most delicious and tasty home made breakfasts and dinners served! Also the most unique and interesting wood working and crafting projects and items we've ever seen! Stayed in the luxury cavern and what an experience, its warm, cozy and so comfortable! Thank you Antbear, for an amazing visit and stay at your property! We would hopefully return one day!

          Date of stay: May 2022
            • Value
            • Location
            • Sleep Quality
            • Rooms
            • Cleanliness
            • Service
          Review collected in partnership with this hotel
          Thank Juan G
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          andrew attwood, Owner at Antbear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2022

          Really glad you loved your stay with us and we look forward to many happy returns. Its reviews like this that make doing what we love feel so worthwhile

          Report response as inappropriate
          This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
          Reviewed 24 April 2022 via mobile

          We had a great experience here, even during the pandemic when places like this lost so much money they managed to give us a wonderful experience. Thanks for the great care🙏 The place is wonderful for hiking in the Drakensberg region the views are spectacular 🥰

          Date of stay: April 2022
          Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          1  Thank fokkebok
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          andrew attwood, Owner at Antbear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2022

          Thank you for this review. It was a pleasure to host you and thank you for the advice that I need to improve our pictures because what we have is not as good as the real thing

          Report response as inappropriate
          This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
          Reviewed 24 April 2022

          From a warm welcome and delicious dinner to a magical, romantic and luxurious cave stay… to scenic strolls with marvellous views in all directions. We fell in love with every piece of furniture and hand crafted finishing touches. We’ll definitely be back! Thank you to our friendly hosts!

          Date of stay: February 2022
          Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          Thank antheaforder
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          andrew attwood, Owner at Antbear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2022

          Thank you for the review and I know we are going to be seeing you again

          Report response as inappropriate
          This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
          View more reviews