We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 18:00, 19:15 - 22:00
Save
Review Highlights
Good experience in Sutherland.

We did the show in the dome, not live Stargazing. This was a good experience and well worth the... read more

Reviewed 1 October 2021
Doug E
,
Knysna, South Africa
Sutherland planetarium

The planetarium is well worth the visit. You have to make time for this. The staff is friendly and... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2021
DirkV1660
,
Cape Town, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 44 reviews
  
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
27
13
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
27
13
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice coffee entrance fee van der popcorn dome nico star activity jupiter roof moons astronomy blankets galaxy evening knowledge presentation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2020

This is a quite new addition to Sutherland attractions and in the centre of the town. A small and very cozy sett up and should be a pleasant experience if you are not prone to motion sickness. Lying on your back and the roof moving all the time both of us were sick within minutes. Fortunately for us there was a power failure and they refunded us our entrance fee. Very friendly owner and I would recommend a visit.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank Danie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 December 2019 via mobile

Visited the planetarium with my grandson. Watched a 40minute 3D video on space, including the planets, the universe, great astronomers etc. suitable for everybody. Well worth a visit. Also has a lovely coffee shop. Call to watch
Shows as they at certain times only. A must see

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank niruDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 December 2019

We were invited to the opening of the Sutherland Planetarium. Great addition in Sutherland with a number of shows during the day and then star gazing in the evenings. A must visit when in Sutherland

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank HeksseHuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 December 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our experience. It was a most unexpected find. Very friendly management. Would go back with kids again. Also a lovely respite from the heat in the cool, dark, air-conditioned planetarium. We attended the midday show.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Lieselle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2019

Not much to say about this experience since there was none, we had a confirmed booking with Alta for Saturday evening, 5 October. However on arrival it as locked and closed, we even walked around the building to see if we are maybe mistaken. Being in the hospitality industry myself, service is everything, if you need to cancel a booking at least inform your guests.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Hansoloroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland_Planet, Owner at Sutherland Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2020

I apologize for this experience. Sutherland Planetarium adapted a new policy to contact stargazers in advance to inform them if there are any weather related changes to the schedule. If we can't get ahold of the group, there will be a representative at the Planetarium at the time agreed upon to avoid this indecent from happening again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews