We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Rumah Buka

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dencarik, Lovina Beach, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
onderweg6...
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect villa, right next to the beach, with infinity pool and professional, very friendly staff. This is the place to relax!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Thank you Bart for your nice review.
We hope to see you on your next trip to Bali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferS...
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect place to get away from it all...”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending a week at Villa Rumah Buka in March 2016 and we very much look forward to doing so again. The villa itself is lovely. A thatched roof shades a large veranda that serves as the living space with a broad panoramic view of the Bali Sea. Even when an afternoon thunderstorm comes through, it is possible to sit outside with no interruption to the relaxed ambience that surrounds you. On clear mornings you can actually see Mount Merapi, one of the largest volcanoes on Java. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated and air-conditioned. One of the high points is the beautiful tropical garden, replete with coconut palms, white and pink oleander, tropicana hibiscus, and a wide variety of orchids. The garden is beautifully maintained and provides an incredible setting that leads to the swimming pool; beyond that is the black volcanic sand beach and the gentle surf of the Bali Sea.

Another high point was our early morning dolphin safari! The boat actually collects you at the beachfront of the house just before sunrise, allowing you to enjoy the ride out to the dolphin watching spot before you watch the flips and jumps of the lively pods of dolphins that live in that area.

The team of household help could not have been better. The housekeeper, Wayan, is attentive to every need and is a great cook of Indonesian and Western food. Binter is the cheerful gardener whose handiwork is such a pleasure to behold. Komang, the security guard, plays gamelan music in the early evening to accompany our sundowners, adding a lovely local flare to the end of each day.

Villa Rumak Buka has been awarded the best holiday villa in the whole of Indonesia by Zoover – the European equivalent of Trip Advisor, and it is easy to see why. Villa Rumah Buka is probably the best value for money of any villa we have rented and we are already planning when we might be able to return to this small slice of paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Dear Jennifer,
Thank you very much for this great review. It covers all the aspects of Rumah Buka.
Always welcome for a next visit to the villa.
With kind regards,
Maddy and Ton
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wberg2
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relax in Bali Paradise”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Beautiful spacious open house, but you will spend little time indoors. The covered outdoor living areas and seaside cabana invite you to relax and enjoy the sandy beach and ocean views. Large infinitee pool feels as though it is an extension of the ocean.
Included friendly housekeeper Wayan is wonderful and happy to cook breakfast and Indonesian specialty dinners. Just pay for ingredients, and a nice tip at the end is well deserved.
The location and villa can't be beat if you are looking to relax and enjoy the quieter side of Bali. Great for couples, kids, mature. May lack the complete privacy a young honeymooning couple may be searching for.
Suggest US bookers arrange payment transfer through local branch of owners bank to avoid $50 wire transfer fee on deposit & final payment.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Dear Wayne,

Thank you very much for this great review. You are always welcome for your next trip to Bali.
Kind regards,
Maddy and Ton
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sambambin...
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A slice of Heaven in North Bali”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Rumah Buka is a private oasis which provided us with a wonderfully, relaxing place to unwind. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our 10 night stay from the first moment we were greeted by the driver at our transit hotel in Kuta to the day we sadly said goodbye - every minute was amazing.
The photos do not do justice to the absolute beauty of the Villa and stunning garden. The architecture is amazing and the finishes of the oversized floor tiles, soaring roofline, open air showers and stunning timber staircase are superb.
Upon arrival we were greeted by smiling staff and beautiful flowers decorating the bedrooms and living spaces. We felt extremely special and knew that we had made the right choice in choosing Villa Ruma Bukah for our holiday.
There are so many places to chill out and enjoy the serenity from the seaside bale complete with koi pond to the timber recliners under the shade of the gorgeous oversized thatched umbrella on the garden deck.
The staff were wonderful and looked after us extremely well. Wayan greeted us with her huge smile each morning and we very much enjoyed her wonderful breakfasts on the wide open verandah.
Driver Pablo (Ketut) was fabulous and always ready to whisk us away to where ever we wished to go. We did several day trips with him including snorkeling at Menjangan Island and a day tour taking in the sights of North Bali from feeding roadside monkeys - a hit with the kids - to visiting the temple on the lake and the local buddhist monastery.
Binter the gardener was a delight and a particular highlight of our stay was when he climbed the coconut tree and plucked 2 beautiful fresh coconuts for us to enjoy.
Komang who comes each night to do security was also friendly and we enjoyed him playing traditional music and allowing the children to have a play on his bamboo 'Rindik'.
There were plenty of DVDs to watch and lots of books to read - though most were not in English I did find a couple and spent many hours relaxing in the bale reading.
We made use of the gorgeous pool every day and also enjoyed the gardens and beach.
A sunrise trip on a local fishing boat to see the wild dolphins was an amazing experience and being picked up right in front of the Villa was fabulous. This is a 'must do' experience during a stay.
We chose to eat out and try the many local warungs and restos in Lovina and were impressed each night - we visited the Spice Beach Club, Warung Apple, Starlight, Kakatua, Bintang Bali and Seabreeze. We also visited the Buda Bakery for treats for the children.
Overall our stay at Rumah Buka was wonderful and we were very sad to leave our little piece of heaven. Terimah Kasi to all of the staff and to Ton and Maddy who from our very first enquiries were amazingly helpful and easy to deal with. Despite being halfway around the world, communication was excellent and the information provided was extensive and very much appreciated. Villa Rumah Buka deserves 5 stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The garden and pool and wonderful staff
Liked least: At times the remoteness though this is also a positive!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2016
Thank you very much Samantha for your extensive review. We will pass on your compliments to our staff and hope to see you again in the near future during your next visit to Bali.
Greetings from Holland,
Maddy and Ton
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William P
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding holiday venue!!”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in November 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have stayed at Villa Rumah Buka several times and indeed plan to do so again in the future. The villa is spacious and tastefully decorated. All bedrooms are airconditioned and the bathrooms are wonderfully connected to the open air. The staff are helpful and Wayan, the housekeeper, is an outstanding cook -- Indonesian and Western food. The villa is located directly on the beach with a pool and a multitude of places to sunbath and relax.

Once we have unwounded in the lovely tropical garden, we were ready for diving at Bali Barat National Park. We have used a guide named Nono who is incredibly knowledgeably about the underwater life. Nono also guides birding trips in the National Park. We also have enjoyed fishing with the local fishermen, playing hide and seek with the dolphin and lounging in the nearby hot springs.

North Bali isn't like the south. If the noisey nightclub scene is for you, then give the North a pass. Lovina and Villa Rumah Buka are ideal for folks and families that want an old fashioned seaside holiday without the noise and chaos of Kuta.

Actually Villa Rumah Buka isn't just a wonderful holiday venue, it is a state of mind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa, garden abd staff
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$154
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing