We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place at the Breede River”
Review of Tides River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tides River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We (my wife, our son 15 years old and myself enjoyed our time at tides very much. Wonderful and romantic location, beautiful view, interesting birds, de Hoop Nature Reserve is just 40 Minutes drive away. The cottage (we were staying an the Cob Cottage) offers everything you need (however no catering provided), Andre, the host, ist very helpful. A shop is 5 minutes drive away where one finds a (limited) selection of food (and a larger variety of wines etc.). We hope to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jak20162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesRiverLodge, Manager at Tides River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Thank you for your review.

Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2016

We had a lovely time staying two nights in the boat house. We would however like a shower mat or something to stop water from falling on the floor outside of the shower area.
The power also went out while cooking breakfast. Although this is something that can not be controlled some backup power would have been nice.

All in all the stay was wonderful and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mariex603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesRiverLodge, Manager at Tides River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Thank you for your review.

Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Tides River Lodge is self- catering accommodation on the banks of the Breede River. We were accommodated in a large house which is well equipt, spacious and quiet. It must be borne in mind that the roads to and from the lodge are not a pleasure - even with a high clearance vehicle or 4x4, so it is worthwhile to be sure you take everything you need for your self-catering holiday or weekend. There was a friendly and helpful manager on the site, we enjoyed the bird life and made the most of the lovely fireplace when it was very cold on our first night there - take your own firewood and firelighters although these can be bought at the lodge. The Lodge is about 20km from the De Hoop Nature Reserve and the birding between the Lodge and De Hoop is excellent. The Lodge is secure and child friendly. The closest and only shop in the area is 2km from the Lodge.

Room Tip: Take a torch - there is no en suite bathroom, and getting from the bedrooms to the bathroom in the d...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 890stanleyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesRiverLodge, Manager at Tides River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Thank you for your review.

Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Beautiful view from zebra lodge and beautiful setting! The children loved playing in the mud and puddles at low tide! Everything was very convenient and the house is just beautiful. Our sons didnt want to leave! We'll definately be back with family and friends.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesRiverLodge, Manager at Tides River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Hi Elizabeth.

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

Regards.
Andre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We met as a family of 7 adults and 3 kids for the weekend on the 4th of June. We were all blown away with the beauty of the location. The lodge itself was fantastic and very luxurious and rustic. Andre and his team could not have been more helpful. I would recommend Tides Lodge to anyone. I will hopefully be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karlof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesRiverLodge, Manager at Tides River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thank you for the review and your recommendation. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tides River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides River Lodge

Address: Breede River, Malagas, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Malagas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Malagas
Price Range: R911 - R3 441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tides is a unique, self catering riverside lodge with four separate houses all fully equipped, all have verandahs, braai areas and wonderful river views. . A great family destination with safe swimming right on the doorstep. De Hoop Nature Reserve is 14kms away, a Pub is just down the road, a winery 5 minutes away. There is great birdwatching with over 300 species spotted,bring your own boat, canoe, kayak or just chill out on our lawns. No shoes required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Tides River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing