We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Malagas Hotel(Malagas)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
39
26
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
26
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscob cottagede hoop nature reserveself cateringperfect placefront of the housebird lifelong weekendget away from it allspecies of birdsexcellent accommodationgreat sceneryandreboathousebreakawayfishingshopferry
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We had a lovely time staying two nights in the boat house. We would however like a shower mat or something to stop water from falling on the floor outside of the shower area.
The power also went out while cooking breakfast. Although this is something that can not be controlled some backup power would have been nice.

All in all the stay was wonderful and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mariex603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesRiverLodge, Manager at Tides River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Thank you for your review.

Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Tides River Lodge is self- catering accommodation on the banks of the Breede River. We were accommodated in a large house which is well equipt, spacious and quiet. It must be borne in mind that the roads to and from the lodge are not a pleasure - even with a high clearance vehicle or 4x4, so it is worthwhile to be sure you take everything you need for your self-catering holiday or weekend. There was a friendly and helpful manager on the site, we enjoyed the bird life and made the most of the lovely fireplace when it was very cold on our first night there - take your own firewood and firelighters although these can be bought at the lodge. The Lodge is about 20km from the De Hoop Nature Reserve and the birding between the Lodge and De Hoop is excellent. The Lodge is secure and child friendly. The closest and only shop in the area is 2km from the Lodge.

Room Tip: Take a torch - there is no en suite bathroom, and getting from the bedrooms to the bathroom in the dark is a challenge. There is no mirror in the bedroom, and only a small one in the bathroom upstairs. No refuse bin in the bedroom, so keep a paper bag handy so that you can take your refuse downstairs in the mornings.
Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 890stanleyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesRiverLodge, Manager at Tides River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Thank you for your review.

Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Beautiful view from zebra lodge and beautiful setting! The children loved playing in the mud and puddles at low tide! Everything was very convenient and the house is just beautiful. Our sons didnt want to leave! We'll definately be back with family and friends.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesRiverLodge, Manager at Tides River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Hi Elizabeth.

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

Regards.
Andre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We met as a family of 7 adults and 3 kids for the weekend on the 4th of June. We were all blown away with the beauty of the location. The lodge itself was fantastic and very luxurious and rustic. Andre and his team could not have been more helpful. I would recommend Tides Lodge to anyone. I will hopefully be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karlof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesRiverLodge, Manager at Tides River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thank you for the review and your recommendation. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We had a lovely weekend away. Amazing accommodation with great facilities, an unbelievable view and friendly management. A bonus was the cute furr kids (Monty and Milo - the bulldog and Jack Russel) who are very welcoming hosts too! We will definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1JDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews