We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So beautiful and peaceful”
Review of Tides River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tides River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We had a lovely weekend away. Amazing accommodation with great facilities, an unbelievable view and friendly management. A bonus was the cute furr kids (Monty and Milo - the bulldog and Jack Russel) who are very welcoming hosts too! We will definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1JDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2016

Great! Some of my friends just complained about staff spoiling the fresh morning air with cigaret smoke. Other than that, perfect
The property is very well maintained. Peaceful with great views. I would suggest maybe having canoes availible for guests.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Konstand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesRiverLodge, Manager at Tides River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Tides. We appreciate your input and we hope that you would visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Just spent a really enjoyable weekend at The Tides. Beautiful lush lawns rolling down to the river - such a peaceful spot. The trip over the river on the pont was enjoyed by everyone - not something one does everyday! Andre was extremely accommodating and helped make us feel at home immediately. Would recommend a trip to The Tides for anyone who is keen to get away from it all.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yvonnek72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesRiverLodge, Manager at Tides River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Tides. We hope you will return to Tides River Lodge on your next trip.

Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

I cannot speak highly enough of this place. It is an oasis of calm and natural beauty on the banks of the Breede River. The rooms are very clean, light and airy and have all amenities required. I enjoyed my visit immensely and I will come back next time I am in SA.

Room Tip: The boathouse would make a great honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LittleMissGeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We stayed as a couple in The Boathouse for 4 nights and it was perfect! It has a fully equipped kitchen including a cooker, microwave, fridge and freezer along with crockery, cutlery etc. It had both a king\double and single bed. We only needed the king\double which was extremely comfortable. Along with a fantastic shower i the ensuite bathroom, there was also a lounge area with chairs and sofa and DSTV- not that we needed to watch TV as there's always something to do on the Breede and this is perfectly located to take advantage of it! The staff headed up by Andre were extremely helpful and friendly and the whole of Tides is kept in tip-top condition. I highly recommend people to stay here- thanks Andre and all at Tides.

Room Tip: All the accommodation was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winston T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesRiverLodge, Manager at Tides River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Hi Winston

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your recommendation of Tides and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us.

Regards
Andre and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tides River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides River Lodge

Address: Breede River, Malagas, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Malagas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Malagas
Price Range: R1 077 - R3 464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tides is a unique, self catering riverside lodge with four separate houses all fully equipped, all have verandahs, braai areas and wonderful river views. . A great family destination with safe swimming right on the doorstep. De Hoop Nature Reserve is 14kms away, a Pub is just down the road, a winery 5 minutes away. There is great birdwatching with over 300 species spotted,bring your own boat, canoe, kayak or just chill out on our lawns. No shoes required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tides River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing