We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We love Indie Campers”

Review of Indie Campers

Explore Europe with us! 
Go Indie!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Explore Europe with us! 
Go Indie!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
221 reviews
Explore Europe with us! 
Go Indie!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Camper van -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sacavem, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 221 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Civetfan
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We love Indie Campers”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

First time with a camper in Algarve and we are absolutely happy with Indie Campers.
Excellent service: they are punctual, very friendly and of course we love the van.
We chose for S-Camper and it was an excellent choice.
It has every thing that we need, it suits us very well.
We love 'go to basic' travelling and we enjoy the freedom the camper offers.
You spent the night where we want to: on the beach or at the campsite.
We ate where we wanted: simple cooking in the van or fresh fish at the restaurant.
The beaches of Algarve, especially the western part, are amazing!
Sun, surf and chill.
We love it and will come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the freedom that the van offers
Liked least: it is not 5 star stay, but that's the price of freedom
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Hello! We are happy to know that you had a blast during your first camper van experience in Algarve! Our team definitely puts an emphasis in providing the best costumer experience possible and to accommodate all our travelers requests! An Active S camper van was an excellent choice, its smaller size allows for complete freedom without cutting of comfort. Here we cherish independence and adventures more than anything - whether at a beach or a campsite, cooking in a bbq or going to a restaurant, you are assured that you have the freedom to chose what best fits your needs! Hope you were able to catch some unforgettable waves :) Stay wild and best wishes, Indie Campers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam K
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Freedom!”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just returned from a fabulous holiday in Portugal. The first week we stayed in a range of hotels, the second week, we spent in an Indiecampers van.
We had an absolutely fabulous time, the van provided us with incredible freedom as we toured around the country staying on beautiful cliff-tops, overlooking the ocean.
The staff at Indiecampers were absolutely fantastic. In particular, Diogo, who genuinely couldn't have been more welcoming, helpful, friendly and supportive.
The vans are all relatively basic, but we were comfortable and we had almost everything we needed.
Thanks to Indiecampers and to Diogo for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Hi Adam! Your words mean so much to us, it is so good hearing you had a fantastic time exploring Portugal! For us it is all about providing our travelers with vans that allow for complete independence and some offbeat experiences. And exploring Portugal's coastline this way is quite unique, right? We hope you have some amazing memories of Portugal's white sand beaches, cotton-color sunsets and blue waters! We are at your service and hope to hear from you again. We have some terrific routes in Spain as well! Warmest regards, Indie Campers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare B
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nightmare company! ”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I had a dream 2 weeks away in Portugal so decided to rent a camper and travel round. All started off well until about day 5 when we broke down outside of Beja on our way to Lisbon. The clutch went on the van. We spent an hour trying to get through to the company but no one answered. Eventually got through and they said they'd send someone out to us. 3 hours later a Portuguese man arrived who spoke no English and was completely unaware of what was going on. After multiple more phone calls at my expense i was told we were being taken back to Faro in a tow truck to get a new van. We'd just spent 5 days around the algarve and were now being returned to our starting point. We got there at half 12. No one was there to meet us at a dark empty depo. The tow truck man had no idea where he was going. We got our new van and were told we were being put up in a hostel for the night. We were led to a dark back alley of Faro which seemed very unsafe and cheap considering the van costs us around 100 euro a day. We then spent the next day having to go on toll roads to get back to where we were the previous day which we had been avoiding as not wanting to pay. The company wouldn't reimburse us for the money spent on toll roads. The BBQ we paid 20 euros for we found in the intermarche for 7 euro. We were given 2 gas canisters for 2 weeks to cook with which ran out and we couldn't find new ones and we'd only been cooking in the evening. The kitchen equipment was very much lacking and we had to buy a lot ourselves. We bumped into 2 other indie campers on our travels. One group which were broken down in sagres and couldn't get through to the company and another family who were going to a hotel for a few days!! Due to the breakdown we had to change our flights and alter our trip at our own expense. At the airport dropping the van back off they were half an hour late. The replacement van we got was a 'premier' van meant for 4 people but it was a struggle to sleep 2 adults in it!

I think if nothing goes wrong with the van then it would be a great company but their customer service is lacking considering how much money you're spending. To top it off on our last day someone broke our wing mirror when the van was parked and despite spending hundreds of euros on the extended insurance they charged us 420 euros as the plastic was cracked.

Would not recommend. Unorganised company who rips you off!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Dear Clare,

As a company operating on the tourism sector, we welcome every review on every platform and we try to extract, from all of them, feedback that will help us grow and become better. Fortunately, we have received mostly excellent reviews over time, as it can be seen on this or other platforms, thus making yours an exception, which we welcome as well. However, we will not lie and say we are not extremely surprised by reading the negative words you wrote about your experience in Portugal, as they say the precise opposite from the perception we had of your reservation. Effectively, we went the extra mile for you and for the success of your booking on multiple occasions, and yours was a review that we hoped could be a 5* one and that unfortunately revealed itself to be on the opposite pole.

Following our conversation over the phone, I would like to now publicly explain our point of view in each of the topics you mention, in order to make sure there are no misperceptions.

Your van did indeed have a mechanical problem on the 5th day of rental. Our standard procedure is to call road-side assistance and bring the customers and the van to our closest office (in this case Faro, which is 140kms away from the place in which you were at the time), and that is exactly what we did. Unfortunately, sometimes insurance procedures may take more time than what we like, and we apologize for the wait. Nevertheless, your accident was at 6 PM and we provided you a substitution vehicle (better model) on the same day. The truck driver – external person – possibly did not speak English so probably you could not understand him but he was doing exactly what he was supposed to do: bring the customers and the van to our location so that we could solve the issue in a satisfying way. When you arrived to Faro at 11:30 PM, our colleague Carina was there waiting you, contrarily to what you claim. In fact, she was the one meeting the truck and taking it to our parking lot, so I am not sure how you did not realize she was there.

You mentioned you did not want to sleep in the van that night and wanted accommodation in Faro, so we went the extra mile and booked a room for you 2 at the Algarve Hostel (4 stars rating here on Tripadvisor). The hostel is located in the city center of Faro, in a safe area right next to the train and bus stations. In fact, we booked it because a lot of our customers stay there before and after the roadtrips. However, you decided not to accept it and to continue your trip in the van, because you did not like the area. It was your right, but we were effectively giving you a night for free in a hostel when we had no obligation to do it. We did it because it is in our company’s mindset to try and provide the customer with the best possible experience and to try and accommodate their wishes, and it saddens us to see that such effort is not only undervalued but also despised.

Even though there were still 9 days left on your trip, which is more than enough time to explore Portugal and get to Porto, you decided that you wanted to change your plans and fly off from Faro instead of doing it from the initially confirmed drop-off location (Oporto). As you can understand, that involves additional logistics to reallocate the vans already assigned to future reservations. Additionally, please keep in mind that changing the confirmed drop-off location during a rental is always subject to availability and has a standard fee of 300€. However, once again, in order to compensate you from the mechanical issue (that was not our responsibility but clearly impacted your evening) we accommodated your request at no cost at all.

Our colleague Carina was waiting for you at our office in Faro for the drop-off at the end of your trip and she confirmed this with you via text message to the provided contact number. It looks like you did not receive the texts and went to the Airport instead. As soon as you called us, she went to meet you and she was there 15 minutes after the agreed drop off time.

The insurance coverage that you contracted covers a lot of incidents. However, as it was explained to you during the pick-up, it does not cover breaking a wing mirror of the van, since the fixing costs were below your deductible (749€). The damage was not only on the plastic, as we had to replace the full mirror. We sent you the actual invoice from our supplier as a proof of good faith. Again, I understand that it is not the best experience to damage a rented van, but we reinforce the idea that we did nothing beyond what we could even have possibly done, and that in no circumstance was customer service beneath the standard level of excellence which we aim to provide.

While I realize our communication could have been slightly better and we apologize for our part of that, we would like to point out that we do look over our customers and really went the extra mile to try and accommodate your every wish and (legitimate) change of heart:
- After a mechanical issue with the van, we provided a better substitution vehicle in the same evening.
- Even though our customers rent our vans so they can sleep on them and you had a brand new van to use, we paid and offered you accommodation at Algarve Hostel in the city center of Faro, that you chose not to accept.
- We waived the fee of changing the reservation to a different drop-off location during the trip (300€) because you changed your plans, and adjusted our operations and logistics to make it happen.


We feel sorry by the fact that you had a mechanical problem with the van and then broke the mirror on the new one, and we understand it must have affected your experience. We realize the trip was not perfect, for the reasons previously described on this answer, but I would like to make clear once again that our team went over our standard procedures to make sure you had the best possible experience, and we are taken aback by the fact that this is how you are reacting to the whole situation, when we expected precisely the opposite.

Regards,
Indie Campers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“Camper Van + Hanging out with your partner + Adventure = Dream vacation”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in October 2015

My Partner and I had had a great trip through Portugal.
In the beginning, Luis collected us at the Porto Airport and instructed us with the Van. He even gave us hints regarding the best spots along the coast and other useful stuff. Everything was very uncomplicated and you can ask him everything during the trip.
Our Van was pretty new and equipped with everything we need for a great trip!

Next time, we'll try out another location and spend more time with the Camper Van!
We would definitely recommend the Indie Camper Team. Thanks again and keep it up!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Hello Michael! Thank you for your kindhearted words! We are so delighted to hear that you recommend our services with no hesitation :) We are doing our best in order to provide all our travelers with new and comfortable vans, and also the best tips and tricks that make the perfect recipe for some unforgettable vacations. If you have something from your trip, either photos or special places, that you would like to share with us, we would be thrilled to hear about it! And have you thought about your next route? Spain would be a great fit!! Stay well and keep your positive spirit, Indie Campers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellisdixo...
Pangea
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The only way to travel around Portugal!”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

From pick up to drop off, this rental was super easy. The van drove really well, got great gas mileage, and was incredibly comfortable for all of us. We packed in the kilometers and had a blast the whole way-. Our experience would not have been the same with any other rental company and we will certainly be road tripping with Indie Campers again. Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Dear Ellis, thank you so much for choosing Indie Campers! The whole team is in high spirits to hear that we were able to make your trip as easygoing as possible and that we will be hearing from you again soon!! Moreover, it is always marvelous to know that our vans are able to provide truly amazing road trips, their inviting interiors are designed to provide as much comfort as possible. Whenever you are ready to explore some new routes and have another adventure with our vans, we are at your service! Warm regards, Indie Campers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$82
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing