We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chris D
Market Harborough, United Kingdom

Great, world class experience.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Apr 2024
My wife and I chose Musango Safari Park as one of our destinations for our honeymoon and what an incredible experience we both had. The staff were so attentive to our needs and the attention to detail was second to none. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which gave us plenty of privacy, plenty of space with a comfortable bed, plenty amenities and our own dipping pool along with clean bedding and room everyday with free laundry, turned around on the day. There was plenty of activities to choose from and our tour guide, Graham who is the son of the founders took us on all of our activities which he showed impressive knowledge on all game animals we came across and even more impressively, his knowledge on all the birds in the area and migrating birds too. All this along with fishing and a bit of an insight on tracking animals as well. The team didn't just show us a good time, they also showed us how giving they are too, with a tour to the local fishing village and demonstrated some of the good work they have been doing there to help build the locals kids education and also donated reading glasses/prescribed glasses to those who are in need. We witness this exchange and saw just how grateful the village elders were for this small gift.

Thank you to the Musango team, we will most certainly be back and hopefully for longer next time! :)
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.8 km from Musango Safari Camp All inclusive
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
109.4 km from Musango Safari Camp All inclusive
Free parking
Pool
Family unit overlooking Lake Kariba
Contact accommodation for availability.
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Lyawa Lodge
Contact accommodation for availability.
109.5 km from Musango Safari Camp All inclusive
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.8 km from Musango Safari Camp All inclusive
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.6 km from Musango Safari Camp All inclusive
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
107.1 km from Musango Safari Camp All inclusive
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lake Kariba
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
165
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steve edwards fishing village fish eagles safari camp beautiful lodge pontoon boat victoria falls game drives bumi hills bird watching honeymoon suite great fun small island plunge pool bush buck bream rooms face
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2023 via mobile

This is Africa in the raw. A family owned and run safari camp with 8 individual, comfortable and secure ‘glamping’ accommodations, all very separate with sunrise views and some with a plunge pool. A hand crafted, thatched central meeting and eating area with drinks and meals included. Game viewing can be achieved from any of the accommodations or the central meeting area but a game drive is a must.
The owner, Steve Edwards and his offspring are fluent in the local languages and qualified trekkers who will take the time to identify and track every bird, animal or reptile’s tracks rather than simply driving around. The experience is far more intimate than in the larger more crowded, tourist oriented camps.
Fishing and travelling on foot is a must, or simply lounge by the pool while game viewing and listening to that distinctive African sound of grumbling hippo in the bay.
We only wish we’d stayed for a week rather than the three days we did

Room tip: Easy to reach. Fly into Victoria falls international airport, short flight to Bumi Hills and a boat ride to Musango
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2023

Dear Greg and family
thank you for your kind words, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Musango! we had a wonderful time hosting you and your family. we hope that you will be back one day, perhaps for a longer stay :)
wishing you all the very best
from the Edwards' and the Musango team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2023

We’d done the Okavango, Chobi, Vic Falls and Namibia but when we got to Musango we simply exhaled. For us, this was Africa in the raw. Glamping deluxe accommodation in total privacy. The central communal area is just so beautifully hand crafted by the Edwards family that has owned and built this place from scratch. Your guide will be knowledgeable on every species, bird, mammal, reptile and insect by boat or specially equiped Land-rover. Don’t expect to see big game around every corner, but do expect to learn about everything you do see. Not just the animals, but their tracks and their habits. Communal meals, the meals devised and introduced by the chef are just what is needed after an interesting day in the African bush or waterways washed down by the all inclusive, well stocked bar and cellar. Of all the places we stayed on our African experience, Musango will remain the most memorable.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2023

Dear Greg and the Wilkinson family,
thank you so much for your kind words. it was such a pleasure hosting you and your family! we wish it could have been for longer. Sorry that you missed Steve and Wendy, next time.. will let you know when the lake is full for your return trip :)

all the very best
the Musango team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2023

Welcoming family run safari camp on lake Kariba. Beautiful location, fabulous views over the lake. Different experience than many with much game viewing from boats. Especially good for birders with highly knowledgeable guiding. Excellent home cooked food

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NorthStar48885521623
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2023

Dear "NorthStar"
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review our wonderful piece of Paradise - Musango Safari Camp.
We really appreciate you coming back to us through TripAdisor with wonderful recollections of your stay with us.
Boasting over 400 species of birds at Musango and have introduced this avian spectacle to many previously non-birders, who are now fully fledged bird watching enthusiasts. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2023

Well, what can I say about Musango Safari Camp?
It's a place that I would visit time and time again. It's my happy place!
This was my fourth visit to this beautiful bush camp on Lake Kariba and, like my other visits, I had the most amazing time.
Steve and Wendy are the owners of Musango who run a very tight ship with incredibly high standards. The camp is always perfectly clean, the staff are very friendly and professional and Conrad, the guide, is brilliant and a pleasure to spend time with.
The camp itself is lovely with 8 light and airy rooms with a comfy bed and a bathroom, a sitting areas inside and out and a stunning view of the sunrise over the lake, if you're awake early enough. The communal areas are great with plenty of comfortable seating, a bar and somewhere to charge your devices. Oh, and amazing views of the lake and distant mountains!!
The food is plentiful and delicious, and nothing is too much trouble. My friend is a vegetarian and can't eat eggs or onions - the chef coped wonderfully!
We did several game drives and cruises and saw many many birds - too many to name (mainly because I can't remember them all), lions, elephants, waterbuck, impala, zebras, warthogs, crocodiles, lizards and loads of other animals. Conrad was a wonderfully knowledgeable guide with a great sense of humour - he had to with us two!
Wendy is one of life's nice people and is the perfect host. She ensures that your stay is perfect in every way, and is great company whenever you are lucky enough to spend time with her.
Steve has forgotten more than I'll ever know about the wildlife, the planet and the stars. He's very patient and loves to impart his extensive knowledge if he is asked - about pretty much anything! He's also a great hugger!!
There are many places that I want to visit but I keep getting drawn to Musango. I can't wait to go back again.....

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2023

Thank you so very much for your lovely review of our Paradise - Musango Safari Camp.
Your comments are so appreciated and we have passed onto the wonderful staff your gratitude and warmth which the staff so deserve. Musango is what it is because of the staff and of course because of you and guests like yourselves. We take great pleasure in sharing it all to our guests. Thank you once again. Please spread the word. Stay safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2023

From the moment we arrived at Musango we felt completely at home, welcomed by the owners Steve and Wendy .
Beautiful common areas very relaxing with all you could wish for and views of the lake to beat all.
Our room was perfect with everything you would expect, very comfortable bed and great bathroom , clean and with seating outside for quiet moments .
Very good brunches and suppers , just how they do it I don't know but superb
Activities on water and land are excellent, far to many birds to remember and with Steve's endless knowledge about everything birdy the trips were far more educational and interesting. The fishing great fun thank you Bradley and Robin you're brilliant bringing in Bream, Squeaker, and Vundu etc
To sum up an excellent experience to be recommended and definitely a place to return to on Kariba, thank you Steve, Wendy and your amazing staff we loved it .

Room tip: The best tip is to enjoy this remarkable place
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2023

Thank you, Kevin, we are thrilled that you all had such a great time! We will make sure the fish are around for your next visit ;) thank you, again, for the support - it was delight having you all here! keep well and hope to see you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews