We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
163
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
163
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steve edwards fishing village fish eagles safari camp beautiful lodge pontoon boat victoria falls game drives bumi hills bird watching honeymoon suite great fun small island plunge pool bush buck bream rooms face
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2023

Musango is a lovely, secluded camp on the shores of Lake Kariba, close to Matusadona National Park. It is a family run business with lots of personal attention to guests. The wildlife sightings were excellent, and we saw lions more than once. I would not hesitate to recommend this for a holiday for solos, couples or families.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2023

Dear Peter, thank you so very much for your comments. We really enjoyed your company and are looking forward to your return. Stay safe. Safari smiles from Steve, Wendy and our incredible team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2023

My step-mum and I spent three days at Musango. I was absolutely overwhelmed by the beautiful location and the wonderfully unpretentious and organic decor that blended so tastefully into the surroundings. The view of the lake was spectacular from two vantage points, as the lodge is situated at the narrow section of a ‘bowtie’-shaped island, affording guests limitless photographic opportunities from the peninsula.

At the end of a drive ‘hunting’ down a lion by attempting to lure it with the recording of a roar, and learning about the various flora and birdlife along the way, spotting elephants and watching bushbuck ‘pronking, a long afternoon drink watching the resident hippo pod snort and wallow in the lake was simply divine.

So too, dining under a velvet sky with the Milky Way above one's head while being regaled with stories of the bush, accompanied by delicious homemade fare washed down with South African wine, leaves this writer at a loss for words.
Days on the water fishing from the pontoon (or in my case watching people fishing while I attempted to) and listening to the hippos grunting all around us and watching ‘flatdogs’ slip beneath the waters was wonderful.

My beautiful lodge was tucked away in complete privacy off the pebbled walkway, nestled into the bush, overlooking the lake and, if I so chose, I had my own seating right there to watch the sky change colour as evening settled in. Or from my bed, I had the same view as the sun rose and I could watch the vision from behind the mosquito netting.

I simply must go back again!

Kim Kemp

Room tip: I wouldn't recommend for small children or kids under 15 as it's not 'high-tech' it's nature. Don't expect glitz, expect authentic Africa.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2023

Dear Kim, thank you so much for your wonderful comments, so very much appreciated. Please send our love to your Mum and we are all looking forward to your return visit so you may experience our wonderful piece of Paradise once more. Loads of love and Safari Smiles - Steve, Wendy and the Musango team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2023

We booked a two weeks travels to Northern Zimbabwe in October 2022 including Mana Pools N.P., Matusadona N.P. and the Lake Kariba area and Hwange N.P. with Iwanowskis Individuelles Reisen - a German based travel agency specialized on safaris to Southern and East Africa. The initial itinerary of this fly-in safari starting in Harare and ending at Victoria Falls Airport included only Mana Pools and Hwange (3 different camps of ABC (African Bush Camps): Kanga Camp, Zambezi Expeditions and Somalisa Expeditions). Unfortunately, it didn’t cover Matusadona N.P., one of Zimbabwe’s best kept secrets and by far not as crowded as the other parks due to its relatively poor accessibility by road, and the islands on Lake Kariba known for their wealth of aquatic birdlife. Thus, we decided to add two privately owned camps in the Matusadona/Lake Kariba area to extend our travels by one week: 3 nights in the beautiful Rhino Safari Camp on Muuyu Island peninsula just inside the park boundaries and 4 additional nights at Musango Safari Camp which is located on a small island opposite the southern lake shore west of the Ume River mouth.

We arrived from Rhino Safari Camp by motor boat in the morning and after a warm welcome by Steve and Wendy we were surprised to be accommodated in the Honeymoon Suite with a private plunge pool on the terrace and a beautiful view to the hippo families grazing on the lakeshore. All the rooms are overlooking the lake in eastern direction, and you can enjoy an unforgettable sunrise over the lake every morning.

We are so happy that we have decided to stay 4 nights enabling us to enjoy the full range of game viewing activities and birding Musango has to offer: sunset cruise with lions, morning birdwatching of water-based birds, several game drives, feeding the majestic African Fish Eagle, boat trip to Starvation Island and an unforgettable boat cruise to the „Dead Forest” with the breeding colony of Great Cormorants and beautiful views to elephants on the island during our last sunset.

The Musango game drives and boat cruises are exceptional - a real celebration of African nature, wildlife and birdlife. Wendy and Steve and all the other staff members are highly motivated to offer their guests an extremely personal and intimate experience. Steve operates a huge ponton platform boat ideal for birdwatching and photography (bring a tripod and lens support of your choice if you are photographing with heavy lenses - there is plenty of space for managing your gear that way).

Game drives are operated with two good old very well maintained Landrover Defender vehicles set on the opposite lake shore. Because Steve itself is also an experienced and passionate wildlife photographer who knows and understands all the tricks of the trade one can be assured that the boat or the vehicle is always stopped in the right direction and to the best angle of light feasible to ensure terrific results. Steve’s knowledge on wildlife and birdlife of the region is outstanding - no wonder: He is the legend amongst Zimbabwe’s PGs.

Many thanks to Wendy, Steve and Conrad for welcoming us in their paradise. The time in Musango Safari Camp was by far the highlight of our 2022 Zimbabwe trip.
If you are seriously interested in Wildlife Photography and / or in African Birdlife go there and spend some time with the Musango people - you won’t regret it!

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kiboko63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2023

Thank you, thank you for your wonderful comments. It is always a special treat to guide and entertain guests that simply enjoy the true Africa and you have said it all. We are so proud of what Musango Safari Camp is to everyone and your comments echo our sentiments. Please stay safe and we look forward to your next trip and being able to reward you with some more African highlights. Steve, Wendy and the wonderful staff at Musango - our piece of Paradise and home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2023 via mobile

In a nutshell, wow.
This little place is a nugget of amazingness, from the minute you arrive and are warmly welcomed, to the moment you leave and Steve and Wendy stand on the bank and wave you goodbye like long lost family members - (and make you cry with longing before you’ve left).
The Musango staff, every single one we encountered, simply can’t do enough for their guests.
Wendy even made a home made tincture for my friend who had a bit of a chest infection.
The activities are astounding and relaxing. The guides are knowledgeable and patient and mostly, passionate - looking at you Conrad!
The cuisine is refined home cooking, and simply one helping is not possible. Dare you to try. The wood stove toast - OMG.
I can’t say enough good things. Just please go and treat yourself. Be prepared to return, cos we certainly will.

Room tip: As most people use devices to take photos, take battery packs to recharge them as the generator isn’t always on.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mandyg431
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2023

Dear Mandy, thank you for your wonderful comments, we really appreciate it. True to form we have shown the staff your comments and they too are very appreciative. It is always a pleasure to have guests like yourselves that REALLY enjoy the true African and Zimbabwean spirit together with all that we have to share and boast about. Looking forward to your promised return. Steady safe, warm regards Steve, Wendy and the staff of Musango

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2023

Steve and Wendy have an amazing place in the world they have created at Musango. We were privileged to spend a few days there and had many amazing experiences with the highlight being seeing lions and hearing them roar multiple times right at sunset.

Highly recommend for anyone wanting a very personalised experience with hosts that make the experience special.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Wanderer42014630743
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2023

Dear Wanderer, thank you for your comments, we really appreciate them. Your reminiscing of the lion sightings and roaring at sunset evokes such an appreciation of where we live and how we’re surrounded by all of this beauty at Musango - our piece of Paradise. Stay safe and hurry back. Warm regards Steve, Wendy and the ever attentive staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews