We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
164
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steve edwards fishing village fish eagles safari camp beautiful lodge pontoon boat victoria falls game drives bumi hills bird watching honeymoon suite great fun small island plunge pool bush buck bream rooms face
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2022

Steve and Wendy made our stay at Musango irreplaceable. Beef Wellington served overlooking Lake Kariba with lions roaring as night music. The game viewing was spectacular. The accommodations were spotless and cozy. Drums replace a dinner bell. Bushbucks brows between the thatch-roofed villas. Bagpipes around the campfire. They're the consummate innkeepers in Africa.

Room tip: The villas are identical.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jamesgT7378HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2023

Dear James, you beauty, thank you for such a wonderful reminder and great comments of your trip to our piece of Paradise - Musango. We’re looking forward to your return for more beef Wellington, stars, lion and Hamour. Safari Smiles from Steve, Wendy and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2022

I can’t believe that I have only just discovered this little gem.
Owners Steve and Wendy went above and beyond to make our stay so perfect. We were welcomed with good old Zimbabwean warmth and made to feel at home with comfortable, clean, rustic accommodation and delicious home cooked meals. Special drinks and snacks on the beach at sunset were a lovely surprise for our anniversary. We were very lucky with our game drives and were able to get superb photos of lion and elephant in the sunset. Steve’s knowledge of the wildlife, bush, birds and history of the area is immense and his little museum has an amazing collection of interesting fossils, insects and history.
Activities include game drives, fishing, a village visit, but most entertaining of all is listening to Steve and Wendy’s stories as they join you at the dinner table.
We will definitely be back.
Thank you Steve and Wendy at Musango

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Hilary545
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2023

Dear Hilary, a BIG thank you too for your lovely comments and fantastic reminders. We’re certainly looking forward to seeing you back here soon. Musango’s reputation is only as good as the guests that support us and from their wonderful comments. Stay safe. Until our next meeting Safari Smiles from Steve, Wendy and the staff of Magic Musango

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2022

Our family stayed at this lodge for a week in August 2022, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The lodge and island are spectacularly beautiful and undisturbed with beautiful sunsets and sunrises. Steve and Wendy the hosts are welcoming, and run a very special place. Not only is the service excellent, the ethos of the lodge is impressive too, serving homegrown food where possible, being as sustainable as possible and consistently giving back to the local community and game conservation. It is a very unique and special place.

Room tip: We accesses the lodge by boat from Kariba and for us this was a better way to travel than by road.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank londontraveller99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2023

Dear “London Traveller” thank you for your kind word and appreciation. Thank you too for your comments on our involvement with the local communities, without which there would be no wildlife to see and enjoy. We look forward to your return trip sometime soon. Stay safe and warmest regards, Steve, Wendy and the staff of Musango

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2022

We recently had the privilege of visiting one of my favourite camps on the planet, and spending time with the very special Steve and Wendy Edwards and their wonderful team. What a superb place Musango is, and set in the most tranquil and beautiful spot.
We can’t decide which was our favourite part of the trip; there were far too many moments to choose from… Spectacular sunrises and sunsets, finding lions with our seriously determined and entertaining guide Conrad, watching all the beautiful wildlife on the lakeshore, gazing in awe at the many species of birds as we puttered quietly through the creeks in the pontoon, very special dinners under the stars, exceptional food, exceptional service, fabulous accommodation…
Thank you all for a fantastic few days. Our only unfulfilled wish is that we didn’t get to stay for at least another week! We will be back as soon as we possibly can.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nixhampton77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2023

Dear Nix, A big thank you for your wonderful comments- much appreciated and we too are looking forward to your return. Yes it was sad that you couldn’t stay another week - we loved your company. Our warmest to you and huge hugs. Steve, Wendy and the staff of Musango

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2022

We were very privileged to spend 3 days with Steve and Wendy at their amazing home on Lake Kariba and learn and experience so much from Steve in this short time. To really follow the tracks of 3 lions for a morning over the "roads" of his empire and finally discover them snoozing under a bush, watch them entranced, drive very carefully and quietly past them and then return in the late afternoon as they were beginning to stretch and prepare to engage with the herd of buffalos we had also been following was something that we will always remember.
Fishing was a very relaxing experience and successful in that we caught fish to use to feed the sea eagles who were waiting patiently up the trees and posing for their photos!
Wendy is the other half of this great partnership organising great food in a very relaxed and beautiful setting and even did a surprise champagne drinks on the beach! for our belated 70th birthdays!
As we were the only ones in camp we had room 8 normally the honeymoon "tent" complete with its own plunge pool and, being from Scotland, we had a very refreshing dip much to the amusement of Steve, Wendy and the rest of the wonderful staff. The room was beautiful and provided everything we needed including the hippos providing some evening entertainment. Superb go if you can.
!

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jilly50Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wendy edwards, Owner at Musango Safari Camp All inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2023

Dear Jilly, yes a dip in the plunge pool or “Cuddle Puddle” in June was in our opinion CRAZY but we had a few laughs over that. Thank you for your kind words - we really appreciate them and we’re dying to see you back at Musango for your next birthdays. Please stay safe and stay in touch. Warmest Safari Smiles to you both. Steve, Wendy and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews