We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasured Heirlooms”

Martina Vidal Venezia
Ranked #1 of 4 Museums in Burano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: MARTINA VIDAL An intertwining story Since four generations we have been realizing Burano lace. Today we realize luxury home linen where, passion, tradition, quality, and creativity are combined for the realization of unique and inimitable products. Martina Vidal Venezia is a Home Linen Atelier created by Martina and her brother Sergio as a concept store where to transfer the experience, knowledge and skills of their ancestorsand satisfy the needs of the most demanding customers. Our collections are result from great craftsmanship and creativity, realized with very precious and top quality fabrics: cashmere, silk, cotton sateen and the finest linen fabrics. In our continuous research for distinctiveness and beauty, we take inspiration from Italian culture and tradition so that the knowledge handed down to us, can become source of success. Our wish is to make you live a unique and very personal experience in our Atelier, in order to make your day on the island of Burano unforgettable.
Reviewed 2 September 2018

We bought a tablecloth with napkins and a handkerchief that I may use as a doily. It was a BEAUTIFUL time at this wonderful shop. Monica was our sales assistant, and she was absolutely fabulous! We will definitely want to return to this enchanting island!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank lcanzoneri53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"high quality"
in 6 reviews
"sales person"
in 2 reviews
"bed sheets"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful store"
in 2 reviews
"lace shops"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful lace"
in 3 reviews
"lace making"
in 4 reviews
"visited burano"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 2 reviews
"clothing"
in 5 reviews
"products"
in 10 reviews
"napkins"
in 3 reviews
"lacemaker"
in 3 reviews
"scarf"
in 5 reviews
"craftsmanship"
in 4 reviews
"purchase"
in 9 reviews
"owner"
in 4 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2018

We visited Burano to enjoy the pastel homes and see lace shops. The clothing and home items in this shop were exquisite! We worked with a wonderful sales person who spent a great deal of time showing us pillow cases, etc. We ended up purchasing a heirloom quality top sheet and pillow case set. We also appreciated that the shop took care of the VAT refund and even processed our refund at the shop!! It's a good thing we don't have money. I could have spent a lot!!!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Walking through Burano we found ourselves in this place, that defining a simple store is very simplistic and does not give the idea of the experience that we live.
A kind lady who embroidered, and who explained his story to us, a warm and friendly staff, and the highest-quality products.
Thanks Martina for your patience and expertise and for helping us to choose tablecloths for our new home, and for pampering us with coffee and sweets typical of your beloved island.

We will definitely be back next year.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank tamywringler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

We visited this shop in hopes to find some authentic Burano lace. The lace work quality is top notch, and there appears to be a long heritage in lace making in this family. However, we were put off by some of the most aggressive sales people we have ever seen!

The sales person would try to get us to buy things we don't want. We specifically told her that we are not interested in that item but it still ended up in our check-out process. We had to really get our point across. On the check-out, the shop owner "offered" us discount by giving us about 10% off if we pay all in cash. Now, if we go through the normal tax-free process, we'd get 12% off, so that "offer" is a rip-off. The tax-rate is actually 22% so if they accept cash without giving us a receipt, they'd have pocketed 12% that would have gone to the city government to improve infrastructure etc.

We still ended up buying over 1000 EURO worth of lace products, because the products are genuinely good, but we'd have buy more if we were able to shop at a more leisurely pace.

Date of experience: June 2018
5  Thank SleepySea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio V, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Martina Vidal Venezia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Sir,
First of all I wanted to thank you for the appreciation of our products, and for choosing and buying some of them.
I'm sorry then that he did not feel comfortable with a person of our staff, and for this I offer my apologies, if he could help me to identify the clerk who helped you I could ask for explanations and make sure that it does not happen again -
Regarding the discount offered for payment in cash, this has no value for tax purposes, as an invoice, receipt, or tax free bill is still issued.
Cash payment is just one way to not pay bank charges related to the transaction
As in Italy they are extremely high (3-5%).
If you provide me with your data and the date of purchase I send you a copy of the tax document issued the day of your visit.
Thank you and I hope to have you again in our atelier.

Sergio Vi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

But we still bought a scarf!! The craftsmanship was amazing to the rest of Burano. The amount of attention to detail is crazy in the lace. Even if you don’t buy, just go in to observe the little old lady making lace in the back.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank matthewcN2216HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Martina Vidal Venezia also viewed

 

Been to Martina Vidal Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing