We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lumley's Place
Nearby Hotels
The Beautiful South Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$160
US$151
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$79
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
66
24
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
24
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homesurrounding viewsnecessary amenitiesreasonable ratesbeautiful mountainsplace to staygoing the extra milecape towneasy accessdelicious breakfastvery pleasant stayguest housenight staywine regioncomfortable roomsstellenbosch areabeautiful place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

I stayed at Lumleys Place with 2 friends, we were in the area for a wedding. It is a family run business, rooms are clean and the breakfast in the morning is lovely. i recommend staying here, heart of the wine region and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TLW_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlacePniel, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Guest

thanking you for taking the time out to review your recent stay. we loved hosting you and friends. thanks for the recommendation to others. We do appreciate and God bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

A very convenient guest house run by an extremely welcoming family. the family go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home.The rooms are prostinely clean and very comfortable with all the necessary amenities. The guetshouse is within close proximity to all the well known wine and berry farms in the region and therefore very convenient for exploring the region.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jean0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlacePniel, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Guest

We are glad that our service led to you wonderful experience staying with us. Yes we are quite centrally located to the R310 wine farms from Tokara up till Solms-Delta. We take pride in our first generation family owned Bed and breakfast and serve family recipes at breakfast with a modern twist. God bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Checked in to Lumley's Place in Pniel up helshoogte pass excellent accommodation great breakfast great service great view of the valley from the dinning room . Super friendly owner made us very right at home. Very convenient location for many of the wedding venues in the area at reasonable rates and only a short drive.

Room Tip: Very good home away from home accommodation will be back soon
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank owenjullies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlacePniel, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Sir

we thank you kindly for your recent review. Yes, we are quite centrally located between Stellenbosch and Franschhoek and a short distance away from Boschendal and Banhoek Conservancy's wine farms. We strive for service excellence to make your experience at our humble family establishment as positive and unforgettable and are grateful to God for letting us live our gifts. God bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

If you want to have an end of term gathering Lumley's Place is the best, not just for the food(best breakfast ever) but the feeling you get when you walk through the door the warmth, love and humanity fills each room. The view you have when looking out the window is breathtaking your surrounded with the most beautiful mountains and also a interesting history. Benita and her staff were amazing. Really a place that I will recommend to people.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank ronique012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlacePniel, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest I am appreciative of this awesome review and is glad that you have experienced our brand which is , us our food and service to whoever walks through our door. Our views are amazing. Yes, we would love to share #ourstory #ourhistory with so much more. thanking you and God bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We decided to break away from our normal routine for one night and decided to stay @Lumley's Place.
What an awesome stay.
Friendly welcome
Comfortable bed
Beautiful view at breakfast
Delicious pancakes
Delicious breakfast
Would love to go back. Perfect place for a peaceful breakaway.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Desmerijames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlacePniel, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Des we thank you kindly for this review and is glad that we could add value to your breakaway. We take much pride in serving breakfast to our guests as that is part of our brand, yes the pancakes are delicious a recipe gift from my Swedish guests. God bless and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews