We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lumley's”
Review of Lumley's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lumley's Place
Ranked #1 of 1 Pniel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Lumley's”
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Lumley's Place is like a home away from home and was perfect for our needs. The setting is incredible and the warm welcome makes it somewhere we would return to for a visit when we are in the area again. Some good Cape hospitality that will warm your heart.

Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HelenDesbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlacePniel, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
We humbly accept this rave review as we believe all is possible only by the Grace of God. I am glad that you felt welcomed and that you will return when close by again. we are situated in a small village and thus our brand is our service and hospitality as we have much to learn from esteemed travellers like yourselves. Also thanking you for the referrals to friends of yours to stay over too- sincerely appreciated. Yes we are situated amongst some scenic mountainous surrounds. God bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
39
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

We really a had wonderful week at Lumley's place. The hospitality was great. I would love to come back with my family in future. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one. Keep up the service. Shishani

Stayed January 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shishani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlacePniel, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, 25 March 2016
Dearest Shishani we having extremely fond and joyous memories of your stay. We are humbled by your praise for our service ... i thank you but all glory to God as we endeavor to serve with grace compassion and sincerity. Please we will welcome your family with open arms and are grateful for your trust in our service and hospitality. We are grateful that we could add to your stunning memories in your life. You have left us with blessings. God bless and travel mercies wherever you go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We were simply blown away with the individual attention we received and the high level of service!
We were treated as part of the family.

We will most definitely visit Lumley's Place again.

Benita and her team made every effort to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. From custom breakfasts for the young ones to tips on where to take them for play areas.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Namboertjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, 24 January 2016
We are humbled by your praise and appreciation. All glory to God for guiding us. We believe in making your life easier as we do know the area well and what's happening around thus to guide you better and deliver on our logo "Sincerely yours" we take pride and pleasure in serving our guests according to their needs. thanking your assisting us in our growth and legacy. God bless and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2015

The beautiful and spacious establishment with the home away from home feel is unforgettable. We had a wonderful, albeit, brief stay at Lumley's Place but what impressed me most was the attention to detail and the effort that was made to accommodate our requests. The manner in which we were received set the tone for our stay and the warm hospitality and the great food will certainly ensure our return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina-Sasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, 1 January 2016
All we are and how we serve our guests is by the grace of God. I thank you for this hearty review and I am glad that we could add to a wonderful experience to your stay @LumleysPlaceBnB. I also thank you from the bottom of my heart for the welcoming tips shared with us from your own experience. God bless and see you soon. Much care and great joy and prosperity for 2016.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2015

My husband and I enjoyed an overnight stay at this beautiful guest house with an awesome view!. Booking was suggested and done by a guest house we were staying at in Cape town. Our reception upon arrival gracious and hospitable. Benita is a wonderful hostess and always willing to go the extra mile. Our room was comfortable and had all the necessary amenities and more. Breakfast the next morning was tasty! We would stay here again if we go back.

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dzagrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, 10 December 2015
I thank you humbly for this warm rave review regarding your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you have enjoyed the stunning mountain views of our village and surroundings. Yes we are truly blessed to be situated in this part of Cape Winelands, South Africa, Pniel is also called the Face of God especially with the peace and tranquility in our village. we are looking forward to your next visit to South Africa. Have a blessed and safe travel wherever your senses take you. God bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pniel
9.2 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
17.9 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1 822 reviews
14.0 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 112 in Stellenbosch
213 reviews
3.4 km away
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
#2 of 52 in Stellenbosch
481 reviews
2.8 km away
Le Pommier Wine Estate - Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley's Place

Property: Lumley's Place
Address: 5 Lumley Avenue | Johannesdal, Pniel, Stellenbosch 7681, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch > Pniel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pniel
Price range (per night): R763 - R1 707
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley's Place 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and Scenic mountain views,safe village neighbourhood, warm hearted villagers, friendly capable staff.4-En-suites,hearty breakfasts, small garden, pool for lazy summer days. Honesty bar and fridge in lounge all guests, Private Shuttle services to golf estates, Boschenmeer,Pearl Valley,Stellenbosch,De Zalze,Devonavale,15min drive to Cullinary Capital Franschhoek, 12min to Stellenbosch. 40Min to Cape Town international and 30min to nearest beach.Close to Wine tastings, Solms-Delta,Tokara,DElair Graff, le Pommier, Zorgvliet, Molenvliet all internationally known wine and event venues.5Min from Franschhoek Motor museum,15min from Franschhoek cullinary capital of Western Cape.Family owned B&B in rural village Johannesdal, Pniel- rich slave history, hands on service from owners, mobile spa services,10min LE Bonheur crocodile farm. 20Min to Butterfly World Klapmuts as well as Paarl, 19min to Madiba,Nelson Mandela statue and historic Madiba jail home at Victor Verster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Lumley's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing