We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant surprise.”
Review of Lumley's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lumley's Place
Ranked #1 of 1 Pniel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Me and my family and a few friends stayed there overnight.We loved the cozy vibe of the place.You feel at home, and in great part because of the warmth of the Staff.It is a hidden gem and the rooms are very good with all amenities you need.The breakfast was delicious and prepared with care.We plan to visit more often.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandrobriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015

I humbly thank you for this review and are glad we made your stay enjoyable and pleasant. We are glad we lived up to our Logo "sincerely yours " and that you felt right at home. Our guests are our investments and contribute to our lively hoods thus we love exceeding the expectations of adding value to your stay and make sure your pleasurable stay leads to you returning to our establishment. thanking you once again. God bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2015

My partner and I enjoyed an overnight stay at this wonderful establishment. Booking was simple and efficient, and our reception upon arrival gracious and hospitable. Benita is a marvelous hostess and always willing to go the extra mile. Our room was comfortable and had all the necessary amenities and more. Breakfast the next morning, delicious!! All round one of the more pleasant and enjoyable stays we have had in a family run guesthouse over our years of traveling. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

We are honoured to receive such a rave review. We deliver our daily task with guidance of our Father and we honor Him in all we do. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we delivered service excellence. we are humbled by your review and awesome referral .Yes we thrive to be the best family run b&b for all guests to return time and time again. thanking you also for awesome advise given- we have implemented - as you are well travelled. See you soon. God bless you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Lumley's hosted my 21st Birthday Party where 80 family members and friends enjoyed top class food and decor, excellent hospitality and service and a night full of love, laughs and dance. Will definitely recommend this place for a formal party. There was enough room for the dinner at tables but also for drinks and dancing afterwards.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

thanking you for entrusting your special event into our hands. We are glad that our services contributed to the success of this happy event and day for you, family and friends. whatever we do is by the grace of the Almighty as we ask Him to send us guests and events that will contribute to our livelihood and that is good for our venue. He has blessed us always with the specific guests that loves our village our scenic mountains and our good food. We thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

My mom and I spent a few days at Lumley's. The bedrooms are tastefully furnished, clean and cosy, and the overall attention to detail unsurpassed. The breakfasts were lovely, and the hosts were warm and down to earth. It truely felt like home away from home and we felt recharged and rested after our few days at Lumley's. Lumley's can only go from strenght to strength.....

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccmermaid60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Dear Guests we thanking you from the bottom of our hearts for this rave review - we are humbled . God bless you. We are glad that your stay was awesome we are only led by the grace of God and we are living the gifts He has bestowed upon each of us. Keep warm and safe this winter. thanking you for the referrals as well. God bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

My husband and I called Benita to book a two night stay for our honeymoon via a Groupon voucher . At first she advised us that they were unfortunately fully booked but after telling her that it was our honeymoon she made a plan . What a beautiful clean relaxing guesthouse this was .. we found our room to be absolutely wonderful ..very spacious with well thought of quality fittings and pretty personal touches . Staff were always friendly and very accommodating making us feel free and comfortable . Breakfasts were made especially for our individual tastes and loved the freshly baked breads ! Lumleys is a true gem of a place .. well done Benita to you , your family and your staff . ..we will definitely be back and recommend it to friends and family .. Good luck and God bless you all xx

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gailie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

It was our pleasure to assist you by spending one of you most special moments in your lives @LumleysPlaceBnB. Our staff are trained daily to serve our guests heartily, with sincere friendliness and care and to be very proud of how we work and clean as it is a reflection of oneself too. yes we pride ourselves in baking fresh bread on a daily basis and we do ask guests up front what they would love to enjoy. God bless you for your blessings upon our staff and our humble venue. God bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lumley's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley's Place

Address: 5 Lumley Avenue | Johannesdal, Pniel, Stellenbosch 7681, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch > Pniel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pniel
Price Range: R1 428 - R1 918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley's Place 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and Scenic mountain views,safe village neighbourhood, warm hearted villagers, friendly capable staff.4-En-suites,hearty breakfasts, small garden, pool for lazy summer days. Honesty bar and fridge in lounge all guests, Private Shuttle services to golf estates, Boschenmeer,Pearl Valley,Stellenbosch,De Zalze,Devonavale,15min drive to Cullinary Capital Franschhoek, 12min to Stellenbosch. 40Min to Cape Town international and 30min to nearest beach.Close to Wine tastings, Solms-Delta,Tokara,DElair Graff, le Pommier, Zorgvliet, Molenvliet all internationally known wine and event venues.5Min from Franschhoek Motor museum,15min from Franschhoek cullinary capital of Western Cape.Family owned B&B in rural village Johannesdal, Pniel- rich slave history, hands on service from owners, mobile spa services,10min LE Bonheur crocodile farm. 20Min to Butterfly World Klapmuts as well as Paarl, 19min to Madiba,Nelson Mandela statue and historic Madiba jail home at Victor Verster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lumley's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing