We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
67
25
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
25
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews necessary amenities reasonable rates only stayed one night guest house wine region a wonderful stay breakfast was delicious franschhoek wedding mountains guesthouse farms students
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2015

My partner and I enjoyed an overnight stay at this wonderful establishment. Booking was simple and efficient, and our reception upon arrival gracious and hospitable. Benita is a marvelous hostess and always willing to go the extra mile. Our room was comfortable and had all the necessary amenities and more. Breakfast the next morning, delicious!! All round one of the more pleasant and enjoyable stays we have had in a family run guesthouse over our years of traveling. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

We are honoured to receive such a rave review. We deliver our daily task with guidance of our Father and we honor Him in all we do. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we delivered service excellence. we are humbled by your review and awesome referral .Yes we thrive to be the best family run b&b for all guests to return time and time again. thanking you also for awesome advise given- we have implemented - as you are well travelled. See you soon. God bless you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Lumley's hosted my 21st Birthday Party where 80 family members and friends enjoyed top class food and decor, excellent hospitality and service and a night full of love, laughs and dance. Will definitely recommend this place for a formal party. There was enough room for the dinner at tables but also for drinks and dancing afterwards.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

thanking you for entrusting your special event into our hands. We are glad that our services contributed to the success of this happy event and day for you, family and friends. whatever we do is by the grace of the Almighty as we ask Him to send us guests and events that will contribute to our livelihood and that is good for our venue. He has blessed us always with the specific guests that loves our village our scenic mountains and our good food. We thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

My mom and I spent a few days at Lumley's. The bedrooms are tastefully furnished, clean and cosy, and the overall attention to detail unsurpassed. The breakfasts were lovely, and the hosts were warm and down to earth. It truely felt like home away from home and we felt recharged and rested after our few days at Lumley's. Lumley's can only go from strenght to strength.....

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccmermaid60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Dear Guests we thanking you from the bottom of our hearts for this rave review - we are humbled . God bless you. We are glad that your stay was awesome we are only led by the grace of God and we are living the gifts He has bestowed upon each of us. Keep warm and safe this winter. thanking you for the referrals as well. God bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

My husband and I called Benita to book a two night stay for our honeymoon via a Groupon voucher . At first she advised us that they were unfortunately fully booked but after telling her that it was our honeymoon she made a plan . What a beautiful clean relaxing guesthouse this was .. we found our room to be absolutely wonderful ..very spacious with well thought of quality fittings and pretty personal touches . Staff were always friendly and very accommodating making us feel free and comfortable . Breakfasts were made especially for our individual tastes and loved the freshly baked breads ! Lumleys is a true gem of a place .. well done Benita to you , your family and your staff . ..we will definitely be back and recommend it to friends and family .. Good luck and God bless you all xx

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gailie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

It was our pleasure to assist you by spending one of you most special moments in your lives @LumleysPlaceBnB. Our staff are trained daily to serve our guests heartily, with sincere friendliness and care and to be very proud of how we work and clean as it is a reflection of oneself too. yes we pride ourselves in baking fresh bread on a daily basis and we do ask guests up front what they would love to enjoy. God bless you for your blessings upon our staff and our humble venue. God bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

This must be the easiest review we have ever had to do on our travels. Never before have we experienced such warmth & generosity from the owners of a Guesthouse.

The rooms lacked nothing and Benita, the owner has such a magnificent eye for detail that one would have to go search very far to match the experience we had - pure luxury with a personal touch and so much sincerity and love & care alongside it. The breakfast was amazing and the rest of the family and staff made our stay so precious and we felt so welcome.

We left there feeling refreshed and blessed and ready to take on all the new challenges and blessings ahead ... and the best of all is we made dear friends whom will always in some way be part of our lives. Thank you for sharing with us your bit of paradise and making a home away from home for others. Many blessings ...

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

thanking you so much for this rave warmhearted review. we need to live our logo "Sincerely Your's" in order to make your stay as memorable and homely as possible for all our guests. We feel so blessed to have been part of your unwinding in the Cape Winelands. thanks for the promise of returning and allowing us to serve you the best possible way we can. thanks for blessing us with an aerial picture of our bed and breakfast. God bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews