We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
66
24
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
24
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homesurrounding viewsnecessary amenitiesreasonable ratesbeautiful mountainsplace to staygoing the extra milecape townlate checkenjoyable stayeasy accessdelicious breakfastguest housenight staywine regioncomfortable roomsa lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2015

My mom and I spent a few days at Lumley's. The bedrooms are tastefully furnished, clean and cosy, and the overall attention to detail unsurpassed. The breakfasts were lovely, and the hosts were warm and down to earth. It truely felt like home away from home and we felt recharged and rested after our few days at Lumley's. Lumley's can only go from strenght to strength.....

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccmermaid60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Dear Guests we thanking you from the bottom of our hearts for this rave review - we are humbled . God bless you. We are glad that your stay was awesome we are only led by the grace of God and we are living the gifts He has bestowed upon each of us. Keep warm and safe this winter. thanking you for the referrals as well. God bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

My husband and I called Benita to book a two night stay for our honeymoon via a Groupon voucher . At first she advised us that they were unfortunately fully booked but after telling her that it was our honeymoon she made a plan . What a beautiful clean relaxing guesthouse this was .. we found our room to be absolutely wonderful ..very spacious with well thought of quality fittings and pretty personal touches . Staff were always friendly and very accommodating making us feel free and comfortable . Breakfasts were made especially for our individual tastes and loved the freshly baked breads ! Lumleys is a true gem of a place .. well done Benita to you , your family and your staff . ..we will definitely be back and recommend it to friends and family .. Good luck and God bless you all xx

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gailie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

It was our pleasure to assist you by spending one of you most special moments in your lives @LumleysPlaceBnB. Our staff are trained daily to serve our guests heartily, with sincere friendliness and care and to be very proud of how we work and clean as it is a reflection of oneself too. yes we pride ourselves in baking fresh bread on a daily basis and we do ask guests up front what they would love to enjoy. God bless you for your blessings upon our staff and our humble venue. God bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

This must be the easiest review we have ever had to do on our travels. Never before have we experienced such warmth & generosity from the owners of a Guesthouse.

The rooms lacked nothing and Benita, the owner has such a magnificent eye for detail that one would have to go search very far to match the experience we had - pure luxury with a personal touch and so much sincerity and love & care alongside it. The breakfast was amazing and the rest of the family and staff made our stay so precious and we felt so welcome.

We left there feeling refreshed and blessed and ready to take on all the new challenges and blessings ahead ... and the best of all is we made dear friends whom will always in some way be part of our lives. Thank you for sharing with us your bit of paradise and making a home away from home for others. Many blessings ...

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

thanking you so much for this rave warmhearted review. we need to live our logo "Sincerely Your's" in order to make your stay as memorable and homely as possible for all our guests. We feel so blessed to have been part of your unwinding in the Cape Winelands. thanks for the promise of returning and allowing us to serve you the best possible way we can. thanks for blessing us with an aerial picture of our bed and breakfast. God bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015

My husband and I have recently spent a couple of nights at Lumley's Place, Pniel, Stellenbosch. Benita, the owner, we found to be most accommodating and very friendly as was her mother Serry, Joy, Basil and the rest of the staff who went out of their way to make sure our visit was an occasion to be remembered - a 55th Wedding Anniversary treat from our loving family. The bedrooms are spacious with beautiful bed linen and the bed was the most comfortable one we have ever slept on away from home. The breakfasts were really plentiful and scrumptious. Lumley's is a very "up-market" establishment and the surrounding views are spectacular. We would highly recommend it to anyone seeking comfort and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureenc707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2015

thanking you for this affirmation that we have assisted you the best way we know how. We are thrilled that your children chose our venue and village for your special wedding anniversary. thanking you for your chats and welcoming advise and stories of life - much appreciated. thanks for promoting our venue and staff wherever you went and your rave reviews. God bless you for the assistance. yes we are glad you loved your room as well as our linen and beds. We do get rave reviews regarding our sleep quality of our beds - thanking you and that is the intention that you need to sleep well and in comfort. Indeed we are blessed to be situated in a most scenic part of the Boland - Johannesdal ,Pniel - really a 306degree mountain view - stunning yes. thanks for loving our breakfast - yes Joy gets up at 4h30 daily to start preparing the freshly baked breads for breakfast. God bless and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Lumley's place is a place tucked away in Pniel, not the usual place anyone would venture to to look for a B&B. However, it is sufficiently accessible to Franschhoek and Stellenbosch to use as base to rest the body and mind whilst touring the region.

Benita and family were awesome in taking care of our needs. We had 2 really troublesome kids but Benita was nice to offer additional mattresses, fix up the DVD set for cartoons and offered great suggestions to go around the place. Her children were awesome babysitters, did I say so?

We stayed 2 nights and went to places like Franschhoek (tram ride!), crocodile farm, riverside picnic, butterfly world etc. Covered pretty many places.

If you want to be treated like family, go stay at Lumley's.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulWongsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2015

Dear Sir and family thanking you very much for this awesome review. yes we are not the traditional bed and breakfast we are a family business and as such all my family is involved and we live our logo "Sincerely Yours" to the fullest if need be to assist each guest with their unique needs. My daughter has a knack with little ones that is such a plus for our business and between her studies she fits the babysitting in - and yes we all love kids and yours were no trouble at all extremely friendly and love to play. I am glad we could assist you with advice on the attractions in the area and we strive to keep up to date with latest info of each surrounding attraction to assist our guests needs and interest the best. thanking you for assisting us in our growth and promoting our venue. God bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews