We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Formal Party Venue”
Review of Lumley's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lumley's Place
Ranked #1 of 1 Pniel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Lumley's hosted my 21st Birthday Party where 80 family members and friends enjoyed top class food and decor, excellent hospitality and service and a night full of love, laughs and dance. Will definitely recommend this place for a formal party. There was enough room for the dinner at tables but also for drinks and dancing afterwards.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

thanking you for entrusting your special event into our hands. We are glad that our services contributed to the success of this happy event and day for you, family and friends. whatever we do is by the grace of the Almighty as we ask Him to send us guests and events that will contribute to our livelihood and that is good for our venue. He has blessed us always with the specific guests that loves our village our scenic mountains and our good food. We thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2015

My mom and I spent a few days at Lumley's. The bedrooms are tastefully furnished, clean and cosy, and the overall attention to detail unsurpassed. The breakfasts were lovely, and the hosts were warm and down to earth. It truely felt like home away from home and we felt recharged and rested after our few days at Lumley's. Lumley's can only go from strenght to strength.....

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccmermaid60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Dear Guests we thanking you from the bottom of our hearts for this rave review - we are humbled . God bless you. We are glad that your stay was awesome we are only led by the grace of God and we are living the gifts He has bestowed upon each of us. Keep warm and safe this winter. thanking you for the referrals as well. God bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

My husband and I called Benita to book a two night stay for our honeymoon via a Groupon voucher . At first she advised us that they were unfortunately fully booked but after telling her that it was our honeymoon she made a plan . What a beautiful clean relaxing guesthouse this was .. we found our room to be absolutely wonderful ..very spacious with well thought of quality fittings and pretty personal touches . Staff were always friendly and very accommodating making us feel free and comfortable . Breakfasts were made especially for our individual tastes and loved the freshly baked breads ! Lumleys is a true gem of a place .. well done Benita to you , your family and your staff . ..we will definitely be back and recommend it to friends and family .. Good luck and God bless you all xx

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gailie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

It was our pleasure to assist you by spending one of you most special moments in your lives @LumleysPlaceBnB. Our staff are trained daily to serve our guests heartily, with sincere friendliness and care and to be very proud of how we work and clean as it is a reflection of oneself too. yes we pride ourselves in baking fresh bread on a daily basis and we do ask guests up front what they would love to enjoy. God bless you for your blessings upon our staff and our humble venue. God bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

This must be the easiest review we have ever had to do on our travels. Never before have we experienced such warmth & generosity from the owners of a Guesthouse.

The rooms lacked nothing and Benita, the owner has such a magnificent eye for detail that one would have to go search very far to match the experience we had - pure luxury with a personal touch and so much sincerity and love & care alongside it. The breakfast was amazing and the rest of the family and staff made our stay so precious and we felt so welcome.

We left there feeling refreshed and blessed and ready to take on all the new challenges and blessings ahead ... and the best of all is we made dear friends whom will always in some way be part of our lives. Thank you for sharing with us your bit of paradise and making a home away from home for others. Many blessings ...

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

thanking you so much for this rave warmhearted review. we need to live our logo "Sincerely Your's" in order to make your stay as memorable and homely as possible for all our guests. We feel so blessed to have been part of your unwinding in the Cape Winelands. thanks for the promise of returning and allowing us to serve you the best possible way we can. thanks for blessing us with an aerial picture of our bed and breakfast. God bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015

My husband and I have recently spent a couple of nights at Lumley's Place, Pniel, Stellenbosch. Benita, the owner, we found to be most accommodating and very friendly as was her mother Serry, Joy, Basil and the rest of the staff who went out of their way to make sure our visit was an occasion to be remembered - a 55th Wedding Anniversary treat from our loving family. The bedrooms are spacious with beautiful bed linen and the bed was the most comfortable one we have ever slept on away from home. The breakfasts were really plentiful and scrumptious. Lumley's is a very "up-market" establishment and the surrounding views are spectacular. We would highly recommend it to anyone seeking comfort and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureenc707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2015

thanking you for this affirmation that we have assisted you the best way we know how. We are thrilled that your children chose our venue and village for your special wedding anniversary. thanking you for your chats and welcoming advise and stories of life - much appreciated. thanks for promoting our venue and staff wherever you went and your rave reviews. God bless you for the assistance. yes we are glad you loved your room as well as our linen and beds. We do get rave reviews regarding our sleep quality of our beds - thanking you and that is the intention that you need to sleep well and in comfort. Indeed we are blessed to be situated in a most scenic part of the Boland - Johannesdal ,Pniel - really a 306degree mountain view - stunning yes. thanks for loving our breakfast - yes Joy gets up at 4h30 daily to start preparing the freshly baked breads for breakfast. God bless and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pniel
2,5 km away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#2 of 115 in Stellenbosch
263 reviews
10,5 km away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#43 of 115 in Stellenbosch
106 reviews
12,5 km away
Le Verger
Le Verger
#65 of 115 in Stellenbosch
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley's Place

Address: 5 Lumley Avenue | Johannesdal, Pniel, Stellenbosch 7681, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch > Pniel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pniel
Price Range: R1 348 - R1 928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley's Place 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and Scenic mountain views,safe village neighbourhood, warm hearted villagers, friendly capable staff.4-En-suites,hearty breakfasts, small garden, pool for lazy summer days. Honesty bar and fridge in lounge all guests, Private Shuttle services to golf estates, Boschenmeer,Pearl Valley,Stellenbosch,De Zalze,Devonavale,15min drive to Cullinary Capital Franschhoek, 12min to Stellenbosch. 40Min to Cape Town international and 30min to nearest beach.Close to Wine tastings, Solms-Delta,Tokara,DElair Graff, le Pommier, Zorgvliet, Molenvliet all internationally known wine and event venues.5Min from Franschhoek Motor museum,15min from Franschhoek cullinary capital of Western Cape.Family owned B&B in rural village Johannesdal, Pniel- rich slave history, hands on service from owners, mobile spa services,10min LE Bonheur crocodile farm. 20Min to Butterfly World Klapmuts as well as Paarl, 19min to Madiba,Nelson Mandela statue and historic Madiba jail home at Victor Verster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lumley's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing