We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lumley's Place
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
66
24
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
24
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homesurrounding viewsnecessary amenitiesreasonable ratesbeautiful mountainsplace to staygoing the extra milecape towneasy accessdelicious breakfastvery pleasant stayguest housenight staywine regioncomfortable roomsstellenbosch areabeautiful place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Lumley's place is a place tucked away in Pniel, not the usual place anyone would venture to to look for a B&B. However, it is sufficiently accessible to Franschhoek and Stellenbosch to use as base to rest the body and mind whilst touring the region.

Benita and family were awesome in taking care of our needs. We had 2 really troublesome kids but Benita was nice to offer additional mattresses, fix up the DVD set for cartoons and offered great suggestions to go around the place. Her children were awesome babysitters, did I say so?

We stayed 2 nights and went to places like Franschhoek (tram ride!), crocodile farm, riverside picnic, butterfly world etc. Covered pretty many places.

If you want to be treated like family, go stay at Lumley's.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulWongsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2015

Dear Sir and family thanking you very much for this awesome review. yes we are not the traditional bed and breakfast we are a family business and as such all my family is involved and we live our logo "Sincerely Yours" to the fullest if need be to assist each guest with their unique needs. My daughter has a knack with little ones that is such a plus for our business and between her studies she fits the babysitting in - and yes we all love kids and yours were no trouble at all extremely friendly and love to play. I am glad we could assist you with advice on the attractions in the area and we strive to keep up to date with latest info of each surrounding attraction to assist our guests needs and interest the best. thanking you for assisting us in our growth and promoting our venue. God bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Lovely, clean, welcoming, luxurious, enjoyable stay. We were welcomed at Lumley's place when our previous booked accommodation elsewhere went wrong. And what a blessing it was to meet the owners and their family. We had an amazing stay and will definitely return again! We travelled to Cape town from here and it was lovely days out. Definitely a place I would recommend to all my friends. Thank you to Benita (the owner) for our stay and all your effort in making us feel home. xx

Room Tip: All rooms gorgeous depending on size (if that matters)
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank coj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2015

Thanking you for choosing to stay with us as well as the wonderful review. We glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Yes we are quite central to many places in and around Cape Town CBD (mostly 45min to 60 minutes scenic drives) depending on midweek days travel is quite easy as to a Monday and a Friday the beach also about 35min away (Gordon's Bay - Strand ) Chapman's Peak about 60min drive - the stunning blue sea waters of Cape Town. we enjoyed the your stay and thanks for sharing your cake recipes with us. Good luck with your studies. thanks for singing the praises of our establishment as well as service. also a big thanks for the promise of promoting our venue as well as the promise to return. God bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

My fiance and I have just recently returned from our stay at Lumleys Place. We had a really lovely time and will definitely be back. The staff are so warm and welcoming and very helpful. We are planning our wedding in Stellenbosch next year and will definitely recommend out guests stay here. The bedrooms are spacious and very clean. We truly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Gecko room. . its right on the veranda above the pool. Just perfect!
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lails_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

dear Laila thanking you for this awesome review. it was very special to us that you choose to venue hunt for your special day in 2016 from our Lumley's Place which is quite central to most of the wedding venues in Cape Winelands area. We are glad we could assist and advise as all of the wonderful world renowned wine farms delivers super service when hosting weddings. thanks for the promise of referring your guests to us. Looking forward to hosting them. Good luck with all the prep and travels for your upcoming event. God bless Benita and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

My sister and I recently bought a Groupon Voucher and booked 2 nights at Lumley's Place for our parents 55th Wedding Anniversary. We also paid for champagne and a cheese platter for them which they obligingly arranged for our parents arrival. My parents were thrilled with this and they have spoken very highly of Benita and her staff. They enjoyed their stay and will definitely go back. They were so impressed with this luxurious guest house and how clean and spotless it is, the bed extremely comfortable and the breakfast outstanding. Thank you to Benita and Staff.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

thanking you Karen and Tracy for entrusting the arranging of the gifts for your parents. Delivering outstanding service to our guests is our "Sincerely Yours" - our logo. We are glad we could assist. They have indicated that the assistance was much appreciated and your parents also wrote a lovely note to my staff. They loved the ambiance of the area and the village. Maureen and Malcolm to the next wedding anniversary. I also thank them for the promise of referring guests and visiting again. God bless. Benita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015

My wife and I went there on a "GROUPON", (old age pensioners). Having traveled up and down that road on numerous occasions, we did not really know what to expect in Pniel. What a wonderful surprise awaited us. The place is like any middle class hotel, beautifully laid out and very welcoming appearance as you enter the building. The room was spotlessly clean, the breakfast fit for a King, and Benita, Joy and the rest of the staff very friendly and helpful. Outside by the pool side sitting Having a sundowner whilst looking at the mountain, was a lovely experience. The down side was, we were there during that awful fire on the mountain, and it broke our heart to see so much destruction on the slopes.
Thank you very much Benita and your family for making our little holiday a time to remember.

Bob & Ann.

Room Tip: We were in the SILVERMINE room, very quiet and near to the pool. However there is no view from it. There is also an "honesty bar" where you can help yourselves and have a drink in the lounge/balcony
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank bist0kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

Thanking you Bob and Ann for your kind words and much laughter that we have shared. A blessing to Ann for sharing her Mango Atchar recipe with us. We will keep you posted of the end result. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay . Your stay was very special. thanks for guiding us with so much wisdom as well. I have taken note of the view on the mountain from Room 2 and we are trying to extend the garden onto the doorstep of that room now by adding a some amazing potted plants , a couch to sit amongst the plants as well. My staff knows that we all must be the brand of friendliness, effeciency and care and service in order for us to serve our guests. God bless and see you soon as promised. we do have a discounted stay for all our returned guests.

God bless, Benita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews