We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lumley's Place
Nearby Hotels
The Beautiful South Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$159
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$79
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
66
24
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
24
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homesurrounding viewsnecessary amenitiesreasonable ratesbeautiful mountainsplace to staygoing the extra milecape towneasy accessdelicious breakfastvery pleasant stayguest housenight staywine regioncomfortable roomsstellenbosch areabeautiful place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2015

My fiance and I have just recently returned from our stay at Lumleys Place. We had a really lovely time and will definitely be back. The staff are so warm and welcoming and very helpful. We are planning our wedding in Stellenbosch next year and will definitely recommend out guests stay here. The bedrooms are spacious and very clean. We truly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Gecko room. . its right on the veranda above the pool. Just perfect!
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lails_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

dear Laila thanking you for this awesome review. it was very special to us that you choose to venue hunt for your special day in 2016 from our Lumley's Place which is quite central to most of the wedding venues in Cape Winelands area. We are glad we could assist and advise as all of the wonderful world renowned wine farms delivers super service when hosting weddings. thanks for the promise of referring your guests to us. Looking forward to hosting them. Good luck with all the prep and travels for your upcoming event. God bless Benita and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

My sister and I recently bought a Groupon Voucher and booked 2 nights at Lumley's Place for our parents 55th Wedding Anniversary. We also paid for champagne and a cheese platter for them which they obligingly arranged for our parents arrival. My parents were thrilled with this and they have spoken very highly of Benita and her staff. They enjoyed their stay and will definitely go back. They were so impressed with this luxurious guest house and how clean and spotless it is, the bed extremely comfortable and the breakfast outstanding. Thank you to Benita and Staff.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

thanking you Karen and Tracy for entrusting the arranging of the gifts for your parents. Delivering outstanding service to our guests is our "Sincerely Yours" - our logo. We are glad we could assist. They have indicated that the assistance was much appreciated and your parents also wrote a lovely note to my staff. They loved the ambiance of the area and the village. Maureen and Malcolm to the next wedding anniversary. I also thank them for the promise of referring guests and visiting again. God bless. Benita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015

My wife and I went there on a "GROUPON", (old age pensioners). Having traveled up and down that road on numerous occasions, we did not really know what to expect in Pniel. What a wonderful surprise awaited us. The place is like any middle class hotel, beautifully laid out and very welcoming appearance as you enter the building. The room was spotlessly clean, the breakfast fit for a King, and Benita, Joy and the rest of the staff very friendly and helpful. Outside by the pool side sitting Having a sundowner whilst looking at the mountain, was a lovely experience. The down side was, we were there during that awful fire on the mountain, and it broke our heart to see so much destruction on the slopes.
Thank you very much Benita and your family for making our little holiday a time to remember.

Bob & Ann.

Room Tip: We were in the SILVERMINE room, very quiet and near to the pool. However there is no view from it. There is also an "honesty bar" where you can help yourselves and have a drink in the lounge/balcony
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank bist0kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

Thanking you Bob and Ann for your kind words and much laughter that we have shared. A blessing to Ann for sharing her Mango Atchar recipe with us. We will keep you posted of the end result. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay . Your stay was very special. thanks for guiding us with so much wisdom as well. I have taken note of the view on the mountain from Room 2 and we are trying to extend the garden onto the doorstep of that room now by adding a some amazing potted plants , a couch to sit amongst the plants as well. My staff knows that we all must be the brand of friendliness, effeciency and care and service in order for us to serve our guests. God bless and see you soon as promised. we do have a discounted stay for all our returned guests.

God bless, Benita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

What a fantastic place for our short visit,Benetia and joy the wonderful cook were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean, large with lovely bedding and wonderful views of the mountains.
Great base to explore the restuarants and to go and play golf at pearl valley or Paarl.
Highly recommended, nothing was too much trouble. Thanks again for the great hospitality and kindness.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolynfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

I thank you from the bottom of our hearts for this rave review. we are glad you chose our venue to spend a few special day with your son whilst visiting SA. We are glad and appreciative that you have enjoyed our hearty breakfasts and our serving you. Yes we are quite central to exploring whatever golf the area has to offer - a mere 10 to 35 minutes to most of the courses. Our brand is our service and we thus do always try and assist the best way possible. God bless and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

Where do I start?
My first thoughts were that this establishment was some what off the beaten track! I couldn't be more wrong! It's situation allows easy access to all the surrounding wine routes. That is if you wish to leave the tranquil setting provided by the venue.
This establishment might be 4 star rated, but, with all the little thoughtful additions, e.g. umbrella stand with umbrellas at the entrance, should be 6+ star!
The owner, Benita, goes out of her way to ensure you enjoy your stay, and the food! It's enough to leave home for! I'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are tastefully appointed and comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoiKhaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2015

dear mr Grobbelaar thanking you for this heartwarming review. it took my breath away - lovely to see my venue and service through your eyes and experience. Our apologies for responding late we had no notification of this awesome review. we do strive daily for service excellence as well as living our logo "Sincerely Yours". We are thrilled to be reviewed by a marketer and traveller like yourself. God's blessings for this feather in our cap. Looking forward to your next visit. travel mercies wherever your business takes you. God bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews