We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Laid back week”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Saint-Jory-de-Chalais, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Gill R
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Laid back week”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We enjoyed a sunny and laid back week with our 3 sons and their wives and three grandchildren under the age of two. The terrace and pool were great for a very hot week with temperatures in the mid 30s. The house had everything we needed for 8 adults and 3 children and Marjo was on hand to advise about markets and restaurants and to ensure that we had all that we required. As keen cyclists the area offered superb but challenging rides along quiet and beautiful country roads.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Terrace and pool
Liked least: No wi-fi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a pleasant stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Enjoyed a week here in June. A bit of a tardis: the gite is much bigger on the inside than it looks from the outside. Plenty of room with all the facilities you could need. Marjo the owner is a great hostess and on hand if you need anything (but you won't). The swimming pool was well used and our dog loved the freedom of the extensive grounds. We stayed as a couple but the property would be suitable for large groups

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimbohemi...
Brantome, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Calm and tranquil”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well equipped farmhouse with a large and inviting pool. Peaceful setting with trees and garden to play or picnic in. Friendly and inviting hostess Marjo is nearby to ensure all your needs are met, if a question arises. Nice layout to accommodate more than one couple or a large family.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william l
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay - family all enjoyed”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 10 (mixture young and old) stayed here for 2 weeks. We had an excellent vacation - we were looking for a rural spot as this was perfect. The house is very well set up for us not to feel to cramped as bedrooms spread out over house. Excellent eating area outside and great pool and gardens. Short, pleasant walk into small village where you will find a bakers, bar and small restaurant. Perfect stay for visiting other villages i.e Brantome. Marjo was very helpful and on call if any issues. I would recommend to someone who wants a quiet, relaxing spot, which is ideal for couples or families. It is also good location to visit Dordogne as places such as St Jean De Cole are in easy reach. Hopefully be back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, pool, eating area
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas M
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing