We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
108
29
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
108
29
4
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2019 via mobile

Now this was a luxurious place to visit, with the vistas and the quiet, the wild rosemary growing along the road. Our room was amazing, with a rain shower, comfy bed, a sitting area where our daughter stayed, in addition to a changing area. The staff was approachable and helpful (especially when our passports got locked in the room safe and we couldn’t get it back open!), provided restaurant recommendations in nearby Guernika, and helped with taxi arrangements. Lovely breakfast with lots of organic fruits, made to order eggs, and fresh orange juice. We actually changed our plans one day just to have the morning to sit outside, talk a walk in the road up the mountain, and to be in this lovely spot.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ctonabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2019 via mobile

My friend and I were looking for a peaceful location where we could relax for a couple of days after walking part of the Camino and Hotel Urune delivered on this (set in the countryside, 30mins from Bilbao airport). However, it is important to note that it is really not suitable for anyone without a car (which I don’t think is clear from other reviews or when we booked online at Chic Retreats). Before staying here we read online that dinner could be ordered upon request, but when we arrived this was not the case. The location is a €30 return taxi ride to the nearest town and after the owner recommended 3 restaurants we travelled there, only to discover that no food was being served as it was Sunday - extremely frustrating. We did share this information with the owner who was unhelpful and did not provide any solution, which we felt was poor service. Please be aware only breakfast is available (for an additional charge) and there is a vending machine but this is not well stocked. Wine can be purchased but this accompanied by crisps for dinner on our last evening was not satisfying!
Overall it was a very disappointing end to a great trip.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Newcastle76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Outside of Guernica, this old farmhouse building has been renovated and now is a really beautiful hotel. We stayed here 1 night while walking the Camino. The scenery is lovely, very tranquil surroundings, one can watch the sunset and hear the cow bells. All is beautifully designed. Rooms and bathrooms very clean amd comfortable including comfortable beds. As it is secluded we brought supper with us from a supermarket and sat in the breakfast dinin room having our supper. The staff were very helpful and accomodating with our supper and any other needs.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mialefrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2018

We were there (family of 4, 2 small kids) for 5 nights in August. The house is a recently refurbished farmhouse immersed in the Urdaibai region, which is interesting by itself. It is still very conveniently located between Bilbao and San Sebastian, close to almost everything Basque Country has to offer (cities, beaches, etc.). The room was huge and breakfast always had fresh, local fruit and homemade items, I'd say it lies in the best quality breakfast range (sadly no fresh, real yogurt). I have two minor/major negative points: 1) very uncomfortable bed (high but with a slim, low-quality mattress); 2) very little space dedicated to children (eg lots of outside space and no single slide/trampoline/what have you).

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lorenzo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a location with epic views and exceptional hospitality, Hotel Urune cannot be beat.

About 30 minutes drive from the tourist filled Bilbao, Urune is a peaceful haven where you can deeply relax in picturesque surroundings, feeling sometimes like you are the only ones there.

For those history buffs out there, it is very close to Guernica, a sombre yet beautiful town that was devastated by bombing in 1937. Otherwise, you are located smack bang in the middle of the Urdaibai nature reserve if long walks are more what you're looking for.

The decor of the hotel is eclectic but well thought out, the bedrooms comfortable and roomy with gorgeous views.

I highly recommend Hotel Urune if you are looking for an escape from the hustle and bustle.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Domtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews