We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of The Windmill

The Windmill
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Parbold
Price range: US$4 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Windmill is a village dining pub with buckets of charm in a lovely relaxed atmosphere at the heart of Parbold. We have a very good range of cask ales including our very own hand made "Windmill Cask Ales". Our menu has a selection of pub classics, some great specials which change daily, children menu, light bites menu & much more. Our food is of a good standard with the emphasis on fresh local produce. The main menu changes regularly. We have a well balanced wine list with many wines by the glass.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for a nice evening meal with friends. The windmill is lovely, location is idilic. Menu is short and sweet. I would say more traditional English meals though could do with more variety and inspiration.
The food is good and plenty of it too. My only issues were it was hot and some of the windows are painted shut. The menu seems to suit the elderly generation. Waitress? One was lovely and a blond elderly one was not. She wasnt rude but didn't speak or have any expression, just put the food out and walked away very strange.
Overall good if your taking you nan for lunch she wouldn't be disappointed.

Thank DANIEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've lived in the village 5 years and this was the best pub until a year ago. It went a bit too restaurant and lost its roots. Not eaten there since dogs were allowed (each to their own)

Biggest disappointment is the beer. Used to have 4 or 5 guest ales including regular "Southport golden Sands". Now all own brewery beer and it's average at best. Bring back Sands !

Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Guest Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Mark,

Thanks for getting in touch and taking the time to leave us a review.

Dogs are still allowed here but only in designated sections of the pub. We have plenty of dining space where customers can enjoy a meal and where dogs are not allowed.

We will feedback your comments regarding the beer to our management team. We still offer other choices of beer and not just that from our sister brewery.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Windmill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a fantastic meal today for Father’s Day. Food was very tasty and great service. Will definitely return

Thank rebeccagreen2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Guest Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Rebecca,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Windmill and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Ok, so this is going to sound really lame, I had fish chips and peas as a main and it was wonderful! I asked for the fish to be very lightly battered and the chips to be golden brown, and that's exactly how it came, perfectly cooked and tasted so good. Had blackpudding for a starter which was also cooked and tasted very good. Service was excellent. The only criticism I have is that they no longer serve Southport Golden Sands beer, obviously taken it if to sell more of their own on site brewed beer. Sorry big mistake, your beer is good but not a patch on Golden Sands.

Thank Steve509926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Guest Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Steve,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We're pleased to read that you enjoyed our food and that our service was excellent. We will feedback your comments about Golden Sands to our management team. Thanks once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for a pint and a burger after a walk down the canal with the dog.
Dog friendly pub so it's an easy option.
Food is good beer is cold.

Would recommend going.

Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Guest Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Ben,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Windmill also viewed

Parbold, Lancashire
Parbold, Lancashire
 
Parbold, Lancashire
 

Been to The Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing