We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed!”
Review of Old Cobblers Inn

Old Cobblers Inn
Ranked #50 of 128 Restaurants in Rossendale
Price range: US$5 - US$11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: Old Cobblers Inn is a Greene King Pub & Carvery which offers great quality food and drink in a pub atmosphere that caters for all. We’re all about those everyday excuses to relax and unwind with friends and family. Our mouth-watering Carvery is served fresh every day and includes a choice of 3 succulent hand-carved roast meats, slow cooked for up to 14 hours. Alternatively choose from a selection of British pub food favourites. Our drinks range has been selected by experts to ensure the bar is well stocked with all of your favourite tipples. Make your selection from a wide range of wines, beers, national and local cask ales, craft beers, cocktails, spirits, and soft drinks. You can also join us in the bar for all the latest sporting action from SKY Sports. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Visited 'The Old Cobblers' last weekend for lunch. There was a party of 13 of us containing five children. We had booked a table due to the size of our party and when we were told they were very busy we feared the worst in respect of service and waiting time.

We really had nothing to worry about. The staff were incredibly efficient. They immediately showed us to our table, took our drinks orders and came back with the drinks to take our meal orders. We were assigned an exceptional waitress who ensured that all of us, including the smaller members of our party, had everything they needed.

Many of us opted for the carvery which was very hot, tasty and recently roasted.

The puddings were regular pub fare but we were incredibly impressed with the service, food and prices.

We evening got to watch the steam trains passing outside!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra Z, General Manager at Old Cobblers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank You for your review im glad you had a good time.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

So I have read down the reviews and to be frank, I think they are just written by haters who like to paint a negative picture. Take their tantrums with a pinch of salt and try this place out for yourself.

1) Brilliant Value for Money - its a carvery and better than any other in the area. Other meals available which are also very good value.

2) Clean and well presented, - the staff are very professional, friendly and helpful and clearly have a good rapor which each other which makes the place all the more welcoming. Even at insanely busy periods they all maintain their professionalism.

3) It isn't a Wacky Warehouse anymore - GET OVER IT. The changes are definately for the better. A Pub/Restaurant should be just that NOT a creche! It does have a children's area with (I think) a games console etc - how many places offer that?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patch_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra Z, General Manager at Old Cobblers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank You for your review.

We wish we had more guest with your understand with regards to the wacky warehouse.

We are now a new business and trying our best to grow and develop to do this we require support from our guests and when we do mess up which we will we are only human that they give us the opportunity to solve the issue before they leave and put a review on here.

sadly many don't raise the issue so we are not able to help until they do a review by that time it is too late.

Thank you for your continued support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I will never go here again after yesterday and I've beem a customer regularly for 4 years now. Food is sub-standard and cold. The meat made it to my table warm but the rest didn't so wasn't eaten. The chef on carvery looked and acted like I'd urinated on his children on christmas morning. £3 for this portion of chips that were just teetering on being luke warm!!!!! Not to mention the new "play area" that just disrupts people eating with screaming kids right in the heart of one of the eating areas. Very badly planned out. And yes, my children were in there with me telling them to keep it down constantly as it was annoying other customers who were trying to eat. Won't be back again ever and will be contacting upper management. We were never even asked how our meals were! Feel very let down as it was brilliant for families and business before this refurb. We couldn't wait too leave yesterday.

2  Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Always drove past and thought it looks like a nice place. I should try it one day. What a disappointment

Firstly there was only one person on the carvery station (on a sunday of all days) so he was sorting out the cutting and replacing the veg. Waiting about 10 min to be served.

The pigs in blankets were charcoal, the veg had the texture of been boiled for days, what little gravy available was way to watery and roasts were rock hard. I like a crispy roast but these could cause damage

When walking around, Your feet got stuck to the floor. Never a good sign.

If it wernt for the staff member who was friendly and helpful, this review would have been a one star.

Would i come back . . . No

Thank CKD1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

really enjoy good food here we went here wasnt sure at 1st very good staff very fast service we will be coming back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tazhyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra Z, General Manager at Old Cobblers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank You for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Cobblers Inn also viewed

Ramsbottom, Bury
Crawshaw Booth, Rossendale
 
Bacup, Rossendale
Rawtenstall, Rossendale
 
Rawtenstall, Rossendale
 

Been to Old Cobblers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing