We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
81
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
81
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews within walking distance harris tweed gregor douglas ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2021 via mobile

Made to feel very welcome from the very start. Lovely accommodation and fantastic homemade breakfast.
The B&B is very close to the standing stones, and is a great launch pad for visiting other parts of Lewis.
Would definitely stay here again!

Room tip: Just do it!
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NinjaMooseofDoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 June 2021

This is a wonderful B&B in a traditional croft house that has been beautifully refurbished resulting in a very comfortable, scrupulously clean and highly welcoming place to rest weary heads and legs.

We stayed here for a couple of nights while cycling through the Islands. Gregor and Douglas were incredibly welcoming, genial and generous hosts – lots of great advice on where to go and what to see. Food wise – brilliant! A very filling breakfast with Gregor’s home baked bread and everything else you could possibly wish for. When it came to the evenings, Gregor produced a very full and super good evening meal using local ingredients giving us a very tasty taste of the islands.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewAwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor Macleod, Owner at Gealabhat Callanish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Gregor & Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2020

From the first contact by phone to the warm and wonderful welcome by Gregor and Douglas this was a superb B&B.Attractive room (I particularly liked the Harris Tweed Curtains and Cushions) spotless and well stocked ensuite.Gregor cooked us an excellent evening meal and the breakfast cooked by Douglas was great. We much enjoyed the friendly chats with or lovely hosts. The Calanish stones are amazing and within walking distance.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank megsmum2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2019 via mobile

We loved this place so much we came back a year after our first visit and had an incredible second visit. The location is perfect (close to visiting the standing stones and centrally located to visit northern parts of Lewis or Harris), the hosts are welcoming & gracious and our room was so comfortable I had best the nights sleep in 5 days of traveling. And the breakfast was delicious !!!!!

Review from Sept 2018: Lovely place with an amazing location and incredible host! We walked to see the standing stones by moonlight & at the sunrise. The room was perfect for two traveling friends. Incredible shower and delicious breakfast.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Travel731686
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2019

Our SPECIAL PLACE this year, among the 17 B&B’s of our itinerant journey.

Special because of the location, of course, WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE TO CALLANISH STANDING STONES.

Special because of the B&B itself: COMFORTABLE, CLEAN, TASTEFULLY (AND ECLECTICALLY) DECORATED.
Our room was spacious, with good mattresses and pillows, and dark curtains (good thing, whereas the early sunshine in the morning). The shower room too was good, with a giant multi sprayer shower, and (not an insignificant detail) a WELL WORKING flush.
We slept like babies in their soft, COZY duvets!
And I could enjoy a true moment of RELAX, looking at the peaceful countryside, with a good glass of wine on the outside bench.

But that’s not all: Gealabhat is special also because of the DINNER we had there: AMAZINGLY tasty poached salmon and gorgeously chocolatey dessert… Oh-My-Good(ness)!!!

And last but not least, this place is special because of the WELCOME of Gregor, Douglas, and Barney… their dog. Those guys are PROFESSIONAL, YET UNAFFECTED AND LIKEABLE; VERY HELPFUL, and able to create a milieu where people can meet and share a little bit of themselves during the trip… :-)

What more can you ask for…?

THANK YOU :-D We will be back! Hopefully soon…

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabetta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews