We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Les Papillons - A terrific Gite! It's the one...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Papillons

Les Papillons, your holiday home in peaceful Brittany
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Les Papillons, your holiday home in peaceful Brittany
Lush Hostas outside the front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Les Papillons, your holiday home in peaceful Brittany
Lush Hostas outside the front door
Crisp white linen in lovely bedroom
.
Pamper yourself...order some Fizz for your arrival!
Cool and airy living room in summer...
warm and cosy in winter... ideal Christmas or New Year getaway!
Well equipped kitchen..with sharp knives! 'Welcome' box of essentials provided
Enjoy the privacy of your own terrace, surrounded by flowers.
Sit amongst dazzling cornflowers and Cosmos
Sip chilled wine to the sound of crickets in the grass
Swim (or fish!) in the peaceful solitude of our lake
Explore the beauty of 9.5 acres of secluded grounds
Wildlife abounds...
Waterlilies by our lakeside
Battered and bruised but Mathilda the Massey still going strong!
Walk through Butterfly Field to Bracken Glade beyond
Beautiful in Winter too
Lawn with woodland beyond
Quiet lanes...ideal for safe cycling
Fishing at dawn, Lac du Bel Air
Sunset at Lac du Bel Air
Stunning riverside walks: Roches du Diable
Children love the local deer park at Sterou
Beautiful beaches and Brittany sunshine
Grab a bargain at one of the many local Troc and Puces
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Le Faouet, Morbihan, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ASMcM
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Les Papillons - A terrific Gite! It's the one you've been looking for...”
Reviewed 23 April 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Surrounded by drifts of wild flowers and set in glorious woodlands and countryside, Les Papillons is a delightful gite owned and lovingly cared for by a most charming 'English family Robinson'. As a family of four with two teenage boys we have spent several tranquil holidays here in the heart of Brittany and have enjoyed every minute. We would go back in trice! Priziac is close by - a quiet village with a terrific rustic pizza restaurant (with delicious take aways if you don't fancy cooking) and La Faouet, a small town about 5 miles away, is very picturesque and has every amenity and an all-imporantant supermarket. There's also a large sailing lake nearby with all kinds of watersports available. Ask James about a small bar serving local ales and ciders. It's a belter. And on the subject of bells (well not almost) there's also a steep but cracking walk to the top of a hill with a huge bell that can be rung by anyone that's tall and strong enough that overlooks a wonderful old church. The font of all local knowledge is James who is on hand should you need him. And if you need any gardening tips he's also a rather clever landscape designer (which is evident from the gardens - you'll see what I mean if you go!). At this price, I'd say look no further. Les Papillons is a treat!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2018
Thank you for your kind words...it's always a pleasure to see you and your family here and you're all welcome to return any time. And thank you, as always, for leaving the gite so spotless when you left! See you soon I hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful villa”
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Lovely, comfortable house in a quiet setting. It made a great base for exploring the area - despite the rainy weather, we really enjoyed trips to Vannes and Josselin, and had a nice lunch at Le Thon qui Rit in Le Faouet.
The owners were friendly and helpful but not intrusive, and we really appreciated the fresh eggs they left us, laid by their chickens - the kids also loved playing with Ebony, their lovely dog.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2018
Hi Rachel, thank you so much for that lovely review...it really does help! And thank you for leaving the gite so tidy when you left. I hope you all had a good Easter and that your second week in Carhaix went well. Do come again!
Best wishes to Dan, Amelie and Freddy as well,
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicopappo
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightful place to stay in rural Brittany”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a delightful place to stay and use as a base from which to visit the area and tour Brittany as a whole. The rural setting was full of natural interest and the gite was very comfortable and homely enabling us to relax at the end of the day. The owners were friendly and cooperative indeed, we had some very interesting conversations, but importantly, they respected our privacy so we could feel independent.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
920annie
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful English family in a definitely French rural setting!”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The journey from Plymouth to Roskoff and on to La Papillon, was so easy even whilst towing a boat! The gite is ideally situated for exploring both coast and countryside with beautiful towns such as Vannes where we had a delicious meal. The property itself sits in extremely tranquil garden, meadowland and woodland including private lake which the owners are very happy for guests to explore and enjoy. I could imagine this gite being very festive and romantic to visit at Christmas time or during the winter as it has a lovely woodburner in the sitting room!
James and Roo and their family made us feel very welcome and relaxed. The gite was very clean and comfortable with welcoming flowers from the garden and fruit and basic essentials to start our holiday off. James showed off his culinary skills by cooking us a delicious supper one evening - thank you.
We look forward to returning.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne...
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect French rural idyll only a short drive form the Ferry”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful holiday in Les Papillion. There was so much to do for the children from swimming in the lake to exploring the forest to blackberry picking. It is a great place for all kinds of adventures and the children had total freedom. Granny was very impressed with the fresh vegetables, spinach, courgettes, beetroot, leeks and fresh cut flowers from James vegetable gardens. We even made our own blackberry jam which was great fun. The gite was a good size for us, three young children and granny. It was a home from home, with every convenience and the meadow of flowers just outside the kitchen door added to the picture perfect French cottage . We especially liked the close proximity of many of the costal towns with beautiful small beaches within a 45 minute drive. In particular the abundance of sailing schools in the costal towns is a definite attraction and we would consider sailing lessons for the kids on our next visit followed by lunch overlooking the sea and then home for a beautiful tranquil afternoon in the countryside. James and Roo even managed to organise for us to adopt their neighbours dog for the two weeks which was great as we had left our dogs at home. James and Roo are great hosts and we also enjoyed many a tête-à-tête with their charming and helpful neighbour Jean Charles . All in all we felt like we were leaving behind friends when we were leaving. It was a wonderful holiday and we look forward to coming back

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Yet another lovely family! We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your time here at Les Papillons and that you explored so much of the local area as well as spending time here. We shall do some research of our own and make sure that we can let future guests know about your discoveries like the sailing schools. Thanks for your comments about the veg garden too...next year we hope to have even more to offer! Please do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing