We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful unseasonal weather at Polzeath.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Yo Ho Cottage

Popular North Cornwall Surfing Beach - Polzeath. Yoho Cottage is moments away from the shore line.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Popular North Cornwall Surfing Beach - Polzeath. Yoho Cottage is moments away from the shore line.
Large split level patio out the front, perfect for watching the world go by!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Popular North Cornwall Surfing Beach - Polzeath. Yoho Cottage is moments away from the shore line.
Large split level patio out the front, perfect for watching the world go by!
Yoho Cottage is Seconds away from Polzeath Beach, this is the view from the front patio
Rear decking area situated off the kitchen diner. Some Sea & Beach views.
Polzeath - the perfect surfing location
Ideally located to make the most of the stunning sunsets each evening
Beautiful scenery, miles & miles of coast paths.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Polzeath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
edward b
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful unseasonal weather at Polzeath.”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Travelled in a family party of four. Picking up key was tricky. Had to drive onto neighbouring campsite to collect it before 5-30. Then drive to Yo-Ho Cottage to unload, with hazard lights flashing on a dangerous downhill bend. Then drive back to campsite to park. We had to find out these details for ourselves as there was no pre-holiday information sent apart from acknowledgement of our payment.
Wifi was troublesome all week. For two days we had no connection inside or outside the property. For two days we had a connection sitting by the open patio door. For three days we could only connect whilst sitting at the end of the balcony outside. Our phones had no connection. We were told by several local people that EE was the only provider for coverage in Polzeath.
On arrival we had to shop for all our basics at Spar. There was no soap, sauces, or salt and pepper in the Cottage. If guests arrive late, when Spar is closed, these things will have to be brought by them.
The acid test is would we book again. Yes we would as the location was excellent for beach, sea and local shops. We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday with great walks, surfing, eating out and golf. The Dining Room, although pricey, was our best meal ever in this area, to which we have been coming for over 35 years.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Unreliable wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Oct 2016
Sometimes you get the impression that some people only go on holiday in order to complain, this seems to be the case here as all of the points this family mention are grossly exaggerated.

The previous guests we had stay in this cottage loved their first visit so much they booked again for 2017 for 2 weeks before they left to go home. Most of our guests are repeat guests which i think speaks volumes.

There was an issue with the Wi-fi, but this has just been upgraded to super fast fibre broadband so shouldn't suffer any further issues.

The shower drain that was "blocked" was only blocked by the guest who had obviously been putting children in sandy wetsuits through the shower and therefore clogged the drain with sand, something i'm sure they wouldn't dream of doing in their own property.

The "overwhelming" bad smell they mention was non - existent as no one else could smell anything untoward, neither the maintenance man, the 2 cleaners or my colleague and i could smell anything.

The front door in fact opens out on to a gated forecourt approx 20ft from the road, so is quite safe for children & dogs, the parking is approx 200 yards away, so how it took them 10 minutes to walk it is beyond me.

How you can complain about slugs coming in through an open window is also beyond me, not quite sure what i could do to stop that.

As for the curtains "not having been laundered" for a long time, they were in fact brand new in April.

In terms of crockery, this family was obviously expecting a fine bone china royal doulton dinner service, as the kitchen is well equipped and stocked with pretty much anything you could need.

I am very sorry that this particular family didn't enjoy their stay, i'm not sure what they were expecting and can only conclude that they didn't read the property description before booking and were expecting to stay in a larger, more secluded property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
luciestev...
Newbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

House clean and tidy. great for the beach, 2 showers/bathrooms and plenty hot water. Would stay again and really enjoyed the surfing.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A haven of calm and relaxation”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We love Polzeath, and already know the best places to eat and drink, but I think we have now also discovered the best place to stay.

Yoho is just perfect - a modern relaxed feel inside leads to a view of the beach from the balcony at the back and all within 200 yards of the beach.

It far exceeded our expectations and we would thoroughly recommend it to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the short walk to the pubs and beach
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing