We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An ideal positioned cottage to get the best out...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Murrayfield

Murrayfield Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Murrayfield Cottage
St Abbs harbour St Abbs from Coldingham Sands
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Murrayfield Cottage
St Abbs harbour
St Abbs from Coldingham Sands
St Abbs harbour
Sitting room
Sitting room showing dining area
Kitchen
Master bedroom
En suite bathroom
En suite from master bedroom
Master bedroom
Shower room
Double bedoom upstairs
Single bedroom upstairs
Single bedroom upstairs
View from upstairs to start of coastal path
Garden
Garden looking to sea
Creel path from St Abbs to Coldingham
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
St Abbs, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
_noughtyj...
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
1 review
“An ideal positioned cottage to get the best out of St Abbs.”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This cottage was exactly as described. Downstairs bedroom and ensuite very spacious and all beds very comfortable. The stair is quite steep with shallow treads and needs to be used with care. The window in the double bedroom could do with a limiter to prevent a child falling out bur we managed a satisfactory solution. The cottage has eveything you need ( other than a potato peeler). There is a good lobby as you go in back door for shoes and jackets great for coming in and not trailing sand or mud through the house.It is a quick walk down to the beach and lots of walks over cliffs etc. There is a landing full of toys to keep the kids amused.I would probably use this cottage again if we return to St Abbs. Nice garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The downstairs bedroom/ensuite to save going up the stair.
Liked least: The stair
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Glad you found the house comfortable. Potato peeler is on its way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the house, the decor - all of it!
Liked least: The iron leaked
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane H
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely week love St Abbs, been to this area before,
it is an old fishermans cottage very sweet from the out side, but I feer it needs a lot of TLC,
Please don't misunderstand me we had a lovely time , the down stairs bedroom and bathroom was lovely, mabe you could have made it slightly smaller and the shower room a bit bigger, now this needs a lot of TLC, my friends ended up using my bathroom, no problem, the kitchen and utility room great, a bit stunned to find the garden was not attached to the cottage we had to cross the back passage to get there,
Sorry about the negative but it really is only your showe room that needs a lot of TLC,
But I would still say stay there as it is lovely, hope the owners get the few things wrong sorted.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking time to comment. I am sorry you were surprised about the garden but it is clearly stated in the listing details that this is separate.
I do feel that your review headline is rather unfair. You are really just saying that the shower room is small. This is an old cottage with limited space and your suggestion of changing the layout is simply not practical not only because of the relative room locations but also structural considerations. While small the shower room is perfectly usable and overall we felt that it was better to have a second facility which many houses of this size do not have.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C
Kernville, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful Cottage Beautiful Town”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Though the house was originally a fishermans row house cottage, it was finished in a very modern uptodate, comfortable style. The wifi reception was excellent (a must for us as we managed our travel plans). The view from the house was restricted, though the upstairs bedroom did have a glimplse of the ocean. But, it was a very easy walk (1min out the back door) to a beautiful view of the harbor, and an easy 3min walk to the visitors center! We definitely want to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location with easy access to the harbor.
Liked least: The view. But, we chose this property for less expensive access not having the view.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyB45
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage lovely location”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is very spacious, large living area and main bedroom with a large bathroom. The upstairs bedrooms have sloping ceilings and feel less spacious. The Single room is wood clad and felt quite dark . It is well equipped and the wi fi was excellent particularly popular with our 10 year old. The garden is nice and the neighbours friendly.
The only negatives being the kitchen cupboards are so full of things that there was very little space for food and most of it would not be used by holiday makers. Also although we did not need it the open fire had an electric fire sta in front of it, had it been cold and wet that would have been a let down.
The village is small but delightful with a shop a couple of cafes a harbour and lots of lovely cottages. It is only a short walk to the beach and very well placed for the costal footpath. It is a short drive or a 20 minute walk to the next village where ther are a couple of pubs and places to get food. St Abbs is a lovely peaceful place We have stayed in a few properties in the area and would definetly return to this one, excellent value.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing