We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Daphne's Cottage

Front of Daphne's Cottage, to the right your private patio with an open plan garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Daphne's Cottage, to the right your private patio with an open plan garden.
Room one with double bed Bedroom 2, with two single beds with the option of Zip and Link together to make king size bed!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Front of Daphne's Cottage, to the right your private patio with an open plan garden.
Room one with double bed
Bedroom 2, with two single beds with the option of Zip and Link together to make king size bed!
Living area, with TV/DVD player, with recliner sofa's and with access to wifi.
Fully fitted kitchen.
Private patio area.
Your private off road parking, with space for 2 cars.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stretton, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Annette P
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fantastic few days in Daphne’s cottage. We have stayed in many cottages and this has to be one of the best. The beds are really comfortable, lovely leather sofas in the lounge and a well fitted out kitchen. An added bonus is the dishwasher and washing machine. Liz is really helpful and responds really quickly if you need to contact her.There is a lovely pub down the road called Jackson Stops which is in the Michealin guide, we had a lovely meal there. The area is great only a short distance from Rutland Water which is beautiful and you can walk, cycle or do water sports. There are lots of gardens and villages nearby to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anneyates
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A delightful, well furnished cottage, and a great base for attending the Burghley Horse Trials. Elizabeth was a wonderful host who provided a welcome package of bacon, sausages, eggs etc.

In a lovely village just off the motorway - so very handy and easy to find.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnCRoth...
Rotherham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Cottage”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Daphne's cottage is ideal for exploring Rutland. During our week we visited Rutland Water a couple of times, Grimsthorpe Castle and Barnsdale Gardens, leaving many other places for a further holiday.
There were just the two of us using the cottage. We found the double bed very comfortable. The twin bedroom appeared to be ideal for children, so the cottage is perfect for a small family. The twin beds appeared to be able to be joined to make a double. At the risk of making work for the owners, I would venture to suggest a couple without children request this room, as it has a normal window rather than a skylight, and seemed to be the more 'homely' of the two.
The bathroom is well appointed, with a super rainfall shower. I could've stood under it for an hour or more. I didn't though!
The living room continues the comfort theme, with twin reclining settees - very comfortable if you want to put your feet up in front of the TV in the evening.
The kitchen is quite well equipped, though on arrival, with a cup of tea high on the agenda, we were surprised to find no tea pot. Not a major problem, and probably there was a reason for this but we didn't get round to asking.
The dishwasher is a very welcome accessory. It is a narrower than normal model but still more than adequate for 4 on holiday. I would suggest to the owners that they increase the crockery by at least 50%. This could mean a more efficient use of the dishwasher. Several times we needed to use the dishwasher before it was close to being full, which didn't affect us badly, as the owners had thoughtfully provided more than enough dishwasher tabs, but a few more mugs in particular would have saved on the number of washes and been kinder to the environment.
Outside is a pleasant little seating area, with a table and 4 chairs. We didn't actually make use of it as by the time we'd got back from a day out all we wanted to do was put our feet up, but in summer it would prove very welcome, especially if you wished to eat outside.
Stretton itself is a small attractive village with a welcoming pub just across the road which serves excellent food. Although it is just across the road and about a minute's walk, even when it's busy at meal times it isn't noisy, so have no fears if you take young children. You won't be disturbed.
Be aware though that there is no village shop. The closest is perhaps 3 miles away, so not really in walking distance if you run out of milk.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Perfect cottage with all amenities. Great bed and lounge with well equipped kitchen including dish washer and washing machine. Nice outside seating area and well behaved chickens.Good place to explore Rutland and surrounding towns. Highly recommend.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonmorSun...
Sunderland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage is very comfortable, good quality furnishings and beds etc. It is also well equipped and the bread milk etc was a lovely touch. The shower if is great.
Off road parking is also a plus. We had a great week and would certainly recommend. The location is so handy, just off the A1 and near to lots of historic houses etc.
An added bonus was the pub over the road. Great just to walk over for a really good meal and a slow saunter back,
Hope to return at some point and wish Liz and family a very successful year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing