We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mosterton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul S
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Downhill Cottage for 7 great nights.Fabulous cottage,cosy and clean.Home from home.Private and quiet.Ducks and chickens run around.And cows off for milking.Great location too see Dorset.Great price for August,would cost a lot more for a tin can caravan.Would recommend to any one.Book now.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patandliz...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage stay”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week and had a cosy, comfortable stay, in what was (mostly) inclement weather. The cottage was clean, well-appointed and all ready for us. The open fire was really great (extra fuel available from owners) and it burned well, with a good chimney. We especially liked the two new and comfortable settees - each has built-in footrests (you press a lever and these appear individually - two on each settee) - a comfort we've never found before in a UK cottage. The TV is a new flat-screen of a good size - it was pleasant to watch TV by the open fire. The kitchen is equipped with all that we needed (we like to cook) and the spacious conservatory makes a good dining room. The beds are comfy and we had quiet nights. The stars on a clear night are wonderful. The owners live next-door and were helpful without being intrusive. We bought duck and chicken eggs from them - delicious eggs, as the birds run freely. Despite being next door, the cottage is quite private and quiet. We were visiting family in the area so didn't really have time to see the farm, but we enjoyed watching the cows coming to and from milking. A real rural gem!

Date of stay: November 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Reviewed 26 December 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
twickenham
Reviewed 18 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JenKev370...
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous holiday! Couldn't have been better!”
Reviewed 21 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011

We absolutely loved every minute of staying at the holiday cottage. It was extremely cosy and warm. We arrived and everything was ready for us, it was a little squeeze getting our Vectra Estate in the drive way, but once we got used to it and found a knack of parking, it was a breeze! We walked into the cottage and there were fresh eggs, homemade raspberry jam and milk waiting for us. Also, we stayed over the Valentines week and the owner had left us a heart shaped box of chocolates, how lovely and they were very delish!!

The whole of the cottage was lovely and warm and there was a thermostat, so we had complete control over the heating, which was brilliant! The bedrooms were brilliant, expecially the main double room, lovely and comfy! Due to it being on a farm out in the sticks, it was lovely and dark at night.

The bathroom was great, the bath a little on the small size, but this wan't a problem for me and my husband as we are only small, but a can imagine that larger families may find this a struggle.

The downstairs toilet is great, in the same room as the washing machine, which I thought was a brill idea.

The conservatory was a little cold, but we did holiday in February, but when the sun hit it, it was lovely and warm.

The wildlife was amazing, plenty of photo opportunities!! The first night we saw two badgers playing the field across, when we were looking out of the bedroom window.
The sofas were exremely comfy and the real fire was brilliant. The remote didn't work properly with the TV, but we didn't go on holiday to watch TV and it didn't hurt us to get up once in a while to turn the channel over. You can also hear birds really loudly in the living room from the fireplace, they must sit on the chimney, this was lovely to listen to.

The kitchen was brilliantly equipped. Nearly everything you could want, only thing I found missing was a garic crusher, but thats me being fussy! The oven worked brilliantly and also the hob. The fridge/freezer is a great size for the week, we filled it to the brim, but thats only because we didn't go out to eat at all and I cook everything from scratch.

The dog felt really at home, they even provide a little dog bed, this was too small for our doggy, as we have a lab/collie cross, but we brought ours along anyway.

This is a lovely and very special holiday cottage!! We will definately be visiting again!!

Date of stay: February 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing