We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Johan_Seekles

Red Sands Country Lodge is the perfect stopover

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Red Sands Country Lodge is the perfect stopover on your journey from Johannesburg to Kgalagadi NP via Upington. Just 15 km past Kuruman, turn off the N14 and enter through the first security gate. You'll find yourself driving through magnificent red dunes and a park filled with wildlife. In just five minutes, you'll arrive at a lush oasis, home to pristine chalets and camping spots.

Imagine being surrounded by vibrant birds, friendly llamas, and playful sheep and goats, all under a breathtaking starry sky. The first impressions here are simply magical. The staff are incredibly welcoming and provide outstanding customer service. The food? Absolutely delicious, featuring a fresh and varied salad buffet at dinner.

The prices are very reasonable, especially given the top-notch service. The chalets are spotless and fully equipped, and the showers offer a refreshing, powerful jet—just what you need after a day of travel.

This was my third stay at Red Sands, and it never disappoints. I've previously stayed at Lavender Lodge and Petry Guesthouse in Vryburg, which were good, but Red Sands is in a league of its own. I’ll definitely be back for more!
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 101
R 1 890
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
14.5 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 030
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
14.5 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 329
R 1 189
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
13.9 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
R 1 059
R 950
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
15.3 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
13.5 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 473
  • Priceline
14.7 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double self catering
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
14.1 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Family of three room
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
15.8 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
94.1 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Luxury room
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 134
  • Priceline
14.1 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
View more hotels in Kuruman
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
267
129
30
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
267
129
30
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northern cape self catering private ablution steak the reserve bird life food was great red sand overnight stop great stopover excellent stay many years clean rooms enjoyed our stay comfortable accommodation en route feel welcome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2024

Wonderful experience and excellent food! We were lucky enough to be there for the monthly buffet. What a great place. Everything was great, from the comfortable bed to the cleanliness to the natural landscape. The cat welcoming us was an added bonus!

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navigate52169685673
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2024

I travel a LOT for work and do not give credit too easily. In this case, it will be my pleasure...
We were a group of five, sharing two self-catering bungalows, for a strategic planning session over two days/nights.
Night one we dined in the restaurant, and it was great. We all had different meals and every one of us were impressed. Service was efficient and very friendly and relaxed. The vibe was good with a few other tables also in.
On night two we not only self-catered but received 8 friends as guests. To arrange this properly we needed extra-ordinary requests filled. The Red Sands team went way above and beyond to accommodate us, brining in extra tables, extra crockery, and even a fire conger. The GM himself did most of the running up & down in his bakkie.
Rooms and facilities are great, with many of the little things that annoy me elsewhere not a problem here, such as convenient power points for charging phones bedside, place to put down your personal stuff in the bathrooms etc. And the setting, well it's just perfect Kalahari!
Most noticeable of all however, is that the team are a happy, pleasant, willing and friendly lot. Altogether a great experience!

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephenPalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2024

This place is absolutely convenient, beautiful and relaxing for a stay over on your way to other destinations in the Northern Cape and Namibia.
The staff are professional and friendly as well as helpful and kind. I will recommend this to everybody.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank corriebenade
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2024

My wife and I took our two grandchildren camping for two days. My wife’s sister and BIL came from Pretoria to join us. We really enjoyed our stay and all the staff were friendly and the facilities were spotless. We really enjoyed our stay!

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ajv572024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2024

The staff from reception, restaurant, and housekeeping are friendly and helpful. Thank you so much for a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yvonnemokgalagadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews