We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gary B

The Namakwaland tour

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Aug 2022via mobile
We started our journey to see the Namakwaland daisies at Red Sands. After a short drive on the dusty roads, we were welcomed in the afternoon by the warm smiles of the team, and promptly shown where to go, and what amenities were around us. The chalet was clean, sizeable and what was needed for a good nights sleep. A walk around the chalets, caravan park and farm yard, ended up with a sundowner before dinner. The dinner was amazing, and probably the best Eisbein I’ve ever had, anywhere in the world. Breakfast was as good whilst we chatted away with other travelers who’d recently journeyed through Southern Africa. It’s a fantastic stopover if you need to be in the area.
Date of stay: August 2022
Room Tip: If there’s a tour group around, let them have dinner first so you can experience true Northern...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 981
  • Booking.com
14.5 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
13.5 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
14.5 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 406
  • Booking.com
14.7 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double self catering
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
14.1 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 998
  • Booking.com
15.3 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family of three room
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
15.8 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 257
  • Booking.com
13.9 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
    15.8 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
      166.7 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Kuruman
      Reviews (436)
      Filter reviews
      436 results
      Traveller rating
      266
      129
      30
      7
      4
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      266
      129
      30
      7
      4
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews northern cape self catering private ablution steak the reserve bird life food was great red sand overnight stop great stopover excellent stay many years clean rooms enjoyed our stay comfortable accommodation en route feel welcome
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      98 - 103 of 436 reviews
      Reviewed 25 August 2022

      We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Red Sands. It is far enough off the tar road that you don't hear any traffic noise and the stars at night are fantastic. The accomodation is large and very comfortable, but the best is the restaurant! My steak was perfect but my partners lamb chpos immediately gave me Order Envy :) Totally reccommend Red Sands.

      Date of stay: August 2022
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank pierre487
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 22 August 2022

      I have stayed many times over the years at Red Sands. This was the first time I stayed in a chalet. What a great experience. The attention to detail made it such a pleasant and comfortable stay. The meals at the restaurant are also excellent - just what you need after or before a day's traveling!

      Date of stay: August 2022
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank rethabosman1957
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 14 August 2022

      Excellent stop over between Gauteng and Kgalagadi. Client focused and hands-on. Very pleasant breakfast and all staff well trained, friendly end helpful. Room adequate for all uour needs. Will stop there again.

      Date of stay: August 2022
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank pietervisser2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 13 August 2022

      It certainly lives up to its name! the red sand was a spectacular back drop for very well appointed accommodation. The rooms are very comfortable and warm (much needed in July). The dinner menu had a variety of options and generous portions.
      Best breakfasts for an early departure - basic, but the scrambled eggs were not over cooked and good quality bacon.

      Date of stay: July 2022
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank LisaWorldTraveller
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 10 August 2022

      I enjoyed the stay and food was great. Staff were awesome at the Restaurant. I was disappointed DSTV was not working, it was just showing 1 channel that advertised other programmes on various channels. No instructions on how to operate it.

      Date of stay: August 2022
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank NomaX1
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews