We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Judith L

Gem on N14

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Feb 2021
A gem of a place a few kilometres from Kuruman.
Hiking/running/cycling trails (off-road) up and down the hills through the natural vegetation of the red kalahari sand.
Good well run restaurant
Great service, friendly efficient well trained staff! So refreshing for South Africa!
Beautiful setting
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 101
  • Hotels.com
14.5 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
13.5 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
14.5 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 473
  • Hotels.com
14.7 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double self catering
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
14.1 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 059
  • Hotels.com
15.3 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family of three room
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
15.8 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free parking
R 1 130
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 130
94.1 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 329
  • Hotels.com
13.9 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
    166.7 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Kuruman
    Reviews (436)
    Filter reviews
    437 results
    Traveller rating
    267
    129
    30
    7
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    267
    129
    30
    7
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews northern cape self catering private ablution steak the reserve bird life food was great red sand overnight stop great stopover excellent stay many years clean rooms enjoyed our stay comfortable accommodation en route feel welcome
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    189 - 194 of 437 reviews
    Reviewed 3 February 2021

    What a pleasant surprise to find that the name is so appropriate, the red sand roads that welcome you are absolutely beautiful ! Our stay was just overnight in the pouring rain but our experience was good from start to finish, booking in was efficient and polite, the room was comfortable but could use a bit of TLC with the curtains and blinds as they weren't working very well. There was a nice size shower with hot water and the bed was firm and made up nicely. Our dinner and breakfast were delicious and served by a smiling welcoming staff. Because of the rain we weren't able to experience any of the other facilities but we enjoyed Red Sands and it was perfect for a stopover on our way further south.

    Date of stay: January 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Joanne S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 February 2021

    First thing to notice is the really red, red sand all around. Lovely place. Restful, quiet but friendly and welcoming. A truly good lodge positioned just below the luxury lodges (with their high prices) but offering all that a discerning traveler would want. Highly recommended.

    Date of stay: January 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank sfouri228899
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 27 January 2021 via mobile

    We camped and stayed in a chalet here and the facilities for both were fantastic. The staff are incredibly polite and helpful and your safety is important to them.

    Kuruman has a massive security and safety problem and the advice from staff and management is great.

    Definitely a place to stay but make sure you book.

    Date of stay: January 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    2  Thank jennyi96
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 January 2021

    Excellent stay - nice location in a nature reserve - peaceful and quiet. Staff were very friendly, helpful and very efficient. Loved that you can go for a trail run after a long day sitting in the car. It makes a good halfway stop on the way from Gauteng to Kgalagadi. Room for improvement - provide wifi in the chalets, aircon doesn't work that well and quite noisy, fix the route markers for the trail run - some are missing, others pointing in the wrong way because the attachments are loose.

    Date of stay: January 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank melvynquan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 January 2021

    Good day,
    We relay enjoyed staying at Red Sands Country Lodge, our friends camped and we stayed in the chalets. Very nice and clean. The staff was excellent we also ate at the restaurant, supper and breakfast - great food and service. We will definitely book again at Red Sands Country Lodge.

    Date of stay: January 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank alwyn2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews