We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
HunterBloemfontein
Hermanus, South Africa

You will love it, and visitors from abroad will love it even more

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Mar 2019
This is the place to come to if you want peace and quiet, and the best possible cuisine, right on the edge of the Kalahari. That goes for individuals, couples and groups. And for stopovers as well as for extended stays. We were a group of over 20, who came for our annual private conference, and I enjoyed every minute. Organizing it all was a one-stop affair: an e-mail to the helpful Kirsten Blom. I need to go again in order to savor its delights some more. You will not leave disappointed.
Date of stay: March 2019
Room Tip: There are options for every need: check the website of write to the staff.
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 994
R 1 890
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 890
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 890
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 890
14.5 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 050
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 050
  • Priceline
13.5 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 030
  • Priceline
    R 1 030
  • Expedia.com
    R 916
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 030
14.5 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 500
  • Priceline
    R 1 500
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 366
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 366
14.7 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double self catering
R 900
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 900
  • Agoda.com
    R 900
  • Vio.com
    R 897
14.1 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
R 1 150
  • Priceline
    R 2 140
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 011
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 177
13.9 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
R 950
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 950
  • Expedia.com
    R 892
  • Hotels.com
    R 892
15.3 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family of three room
R 847
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 847
  • Agoda.com
    R 847
  • Vio.com
    R 844
15.8 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free parking
R 1 380
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 380
14.7 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
R 1 200
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 200
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 200
  • eDreams
    R 1 200
16.1 km from Red Sands Country Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kuruman
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
266
129
30
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
266
129
30
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northern cape self catering private ablution steak the reserve bird life food was great red sand overnight stop great stopover excellent stay many years clean rooms enjoyed our stay comfortable accommodation en route feel welcome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2019

The restaurant staff do not listen to what you order. Here is what happened. ordered sirloin with no sauce and chips, got sirloin with baked potato and mushroom sauce, sent it back and got a sirloin with now cheese on and chips. I ate only half the meal as I don't like cheese on steak, but was hungry. Was under the impression they took mushrooms off and added cheese as a disguise (could be wrong)

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vacation55943491989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2019

Beautiful property. Great service from Portia. She went out of her way to assist with all my requests. Really impressed. The staff and security also friendly. I'll definitely be visiting again soon. The property is a hidden gem

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trip12385318304
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2019

We made a one night stopover - booking and checking in was quick and easy. Restaurant was excellent, both quality and service and the room was spacious with a great bathroom. Nothing to complain about

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Navigator60479959089
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2019

We drove down Friday all the way from Pretoria to the blazing hot Northern Cape. The location was not so clear but after about 5 minutes of not finding the place we then found it. Receptionist was so friendly and helpful and gave us a very warm welcome. We proceeded to our chalets and we were impressed, we then decided we need to have dinner. Then we walked to the restaurant, we were a group of 8 and best believe the food was mouth watering, we even requested to see the chef and thank them personally. To cut it short our stay at Red Sands was top of the range. Thank you Red Sands and see you again next year.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sunshine00749925340
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2019

I was in transit from the KTP to home . Breaks the journey at the right spot. Security excellent. Restraurant provides really good food. I had steaks and trimmings done to my liking. Breakfast was good with a buffet choice.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tahja777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RichardKaufmann, Owner at Red Sands Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2019

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. It was an honour serving you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews