We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
31
24
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
31
24
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish eagles lake malawi negative reviews self catering cottage rooms are beautiful trevor power lakeshore lodge batteries setting stock accommodation tree sunrise canoe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2022

Wonderful lodge right on Lake Malawi! Authentic cottages with thatched roofs on a beautiful white sandy beach. Every day a lovely breakfast and choice of dinner and lunch for very reasonable prices. Lovely staff, everyone was so kind and helpful.
Best place to stay in Nkhotakota!!!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gitta v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge Lake Malawi, Owner at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2022

Gitta, thank you so much for your review. We love the fact that you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of Fish Eagle Bay. Hope to see you again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2022

Having come from Senga Bay where the accommodation was not optimal and the beach was very dirty, it was a pleasure to discover Fish Eagle Bay lodge as a 'walk in' tourist with no reservation or recommendation. The manager Trevor was especially kind and helpful, and I spent two nights in a cottage right on the beach, able to look out the window and see the pink sunrise over the lake in the early morning. I particularly enjoyed being able to walk out of the cottage and down to the lakeshore, walking along the shore in the early morning and meeting the locals, watching the fishermen bringing in their catch, seeing the dugout canoes with their batteries and lights used for attracting the shoals of tiny fish. The lake is delightful to swim in, safe and calm and a lovely temperature. I and my companion hung out in the thatched lapa, drinking cold beer and eating tchambo (tilapia) from the lake and cassava, cooked beautifully by the resident cook. From the lodge we drove to the Nkhotakota Reserve and to the old town of Nkhotakota to see the David Livingstone Tree and the remains of the mosque from where the slave traders operated, taking the captured slaves through the forests of the reserve in chains, to the lake shore, from where they were transported in boats up to Kisumu or Zanzibar. I enjoyed the openness of Fish Eage Bay Lodge; it has no fences and felt very safe. I also enjoyed the dark and the quiet, no noisy sports bars or bright lights at night.

Date of stay: September 2022
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge Lake Malawi, Owner at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2022

Thank you very much for your review Janet. It is very encouraging. We hope to see you again. Zikomo Kwambiri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2022

I’ve stayed here several times for work purposes. It is a lovely, laid-back lodge on a beautiful, pristine beach. Trevor and Basil could not be more helpful. Yes, it is a bit Malawian, food can take a long time to arrive and drinks are not always in stock, but then you’re there to relax and chill out. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. It’s a solar lodge, so naturally power can be limited, but that’s just as you’d expect.

In terms of the two negative reviews posted below, please bear the following in mind:
1. I stayed at the lodge in October 2021 and met the husband mentioned in the review, who was so dissatisfied with food and power. I can confirm that what the manager has responded with is true. There is a fully equipped self-catering cottage there but that is not what his company paid for. The rates at Fish Eagle Bay are very reasonable, considerably less than local lodges, and what is and is not included is made very clear, it’s bed and breakfast only.
2. Bua River Lodge is now managed by the couple who used to manage this lodge. I have met them staying here previously and at Bua. Why they would write this review and try to sabotage is anyone’s guess, but the reply is truthful and fair.

Ignore those reviews. This is a lovely, relaxing place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luceontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge Lake Malawi, Owner at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2022

Thank you very much for your review. It is always encouraging to receive a positive review. It motivates all of us at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge to continue doing our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2022

Despite a few negative reviews - we visited this lodge on 20 June 2022. We found it to be in excellent condition. Trevor who manages the lodge is friendly & could not do enough to help us. There are some rumours amoungst the locals that it had closed down? This is defintely not the case. The rooms are immaculate & the location & setting is outstanding. Included in the very reasonable rate you get free use of the kayaks.i would highly recommend visiting this lodge.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bruce062
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge Lake Malawi, Owner at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2022

Thank you so much for your excellent review. We really do our best to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2021

When there is nothing, what can you complain about?
My husband has been staying here since the beginning of October and the service is horrendous... they pay a fortune for food and then it is provided in the minimum quantities... the current manager is extremely rude and does nothing to resolve guest issues with regards to basic living conditions... they were given a self-catering unit with no fridge, no stove, no cookware, no kettle, they even removed the shutters of the windows... they barely have enough power to charge a phone and then when he complains, he is told he is a child and needs to grow up, (We have the WhatsApp's). How do you manage a place like this and then still expect people to stay there? There is also an additional lodge next door where the party never stops and there is no effort made to control the noise which continues all through the night and morning. The owner cannot be contacted in any manner and the manageress does not care if you complain or not, she will rather tell you to find somewhere else to stay... I won't recommend this place to anyone, not even for a night.

Date of stay: October 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank An-LieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge Lake Malawi, Owner at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2021

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately I have no choice but to respond since you chose to write your review on a public forum. You yourself have never been to Malawi or Fish Eagle Bay Lodge. Fish Eagle Bay Lodge is an ECO Lodge. We had to close for 12 months during the strict Covid Lockdowns. We are working very hard to get the Lodge back to the standards people are used to, and the accommodation for contractors working in the Nkhotakota District is very welcome. However the amount paid for daily accommodation is so low that we are virtually subsidising your husband's accommodation. Your husband is dissatisfied because his employer only pays for accommodation, not any food or drinks. He was under the impression that all was included and that is the reason why he is complaining about food prices. Furthermore I think your husband does not want to understand that solar power is finite. So should he choose to have all his lights and a fan on all night, the power will definitely not last the whole night. We strive to provide excellent service and have been subsidising his meals, and some meals were given for free. Your husband however is impossible to please and not once has he thanked anyone for anything given to him with the best of intentions. Fish Eagle Bay Lodge offers good quality accommodation and food. We have a beautiful beach and very friendly staff. We hope that your husband will be happy at the next Lodge, and that you will one day actually come and visit Fish Eagle Bay, to see the beauty and tranquility for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews