We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
32
24
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
32
24
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish eagles lake malawi negative reviews self catering cottage rooms are beautiful trevor power lakeshore lodge batteries setting stock accommodation tree sunrise canoe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2022

I’ve stayed here several times for work purposes. It is a lovely, laid-back lodge on a beautiful, pristine beach. Trevor and Basil could not be more helpful. Yes, it is a bit Malawian, food can take a long time to arrive and drinks are not always in stock, but then you’re there to relax and chill out. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. It’s a solar lodge, so naturally power can be limited, but that’s just as you’d expect.

In terms of the two negative reviews posted below, please bear the following in mind:
1. I stayed at the lodge in October 2021 and met the husband mentioned in the review, who was so dissatisfied with food and power. I can confirm that what the manager has responded with is true. There is a fully equipped self-catering cottage there but that is not what his company paid for. The rates at Fish Eagle Bay are very reasonable, considerably less than local lodges, and what is and is not included is made very clear, it’s bed and breakfast only.
2. Bua River Lodge is now managed by the couple who used to manage this lodge. I have met them staying here previously and at Bua. Why they would write this review and try to sabotage is anyone’s guess, but the reply is truthful and fair.

Ignore those reviews. This is a lovely, relaxing place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luceontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge Lake Malawi, Owner at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2022

Thank you very much for your review. It is always encouraging to receive a positive review. It motivates all of us at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge to continue doing our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2022

Despite a few negative reviews - we visited this lodge on 20 June 2022. We found it to be in excellent condition. Trevor who manages the lodge is friendly & could not do enough to help us. There are some rumours amoungst the locals that it had closed down? This is defintely not the case. The rooms are immaculate & the location & setting is outstanding. Included in the very reasonable rate you get free use of the kayaks.i would highly recommend visiting this lodge.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bruce062
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge Lake Malawi, Owner at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2022

Thank you so much for your excellent review. We really do our best to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2021

When there is nothing, what can you complain about?
My husband has been staying here since the beginning of October and the service is horrendous... they pay a fortune for food and then it is provided in the minimum quantities... the current manager is extremely rude and does nothing to resolve guest issues with regards to basic living conditions... they were given a self-catering unit with no fridge, no stove, no cookware, no kettle, they even removed the shutters of the windows... they barely have enough power to charge a phone and then when he complains, he is told he is a child and needs to grow up, (We have the WhatsApp's). How do you manage a place like this and then still expect people to stay there? There is also an additional lodge next door where the party never stops and there is no effort made to control the noise which continues all through the night and morning. The owner cannot be contacted in any manner and the manageress does not care if you complain or not, she will rather tell you to find somewhere else to stay... I won't recommend this place to anyone, not even for a night.

Date of stay: October 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank An-LieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge Lake Malawi, Owner at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2021

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately I have no choice but to respond since you chose to write your review on a public forum. You yourself have never been to Malawi or Fish Eagle Bay Lodge. Fish Eagle Bay Lodge is an ECO Lodge. We had to close for 12 months during the strict Covid Lockdowns. We are working very hard to get the Lodge back to the standards people are used to, and the accommodation for contractors working in the Nkhotakota District is very welcome. However the amount paid for daily accommodation is so low that we are virtually subsidising your husband's accommodation. Your husband is dissatisfied because his employer only pays for accommodation, not any food or drinks. He was under the impression that all was included and that is the reason why he is complaining about food prices. Furthermore I think your husband does not want to understand that solar power is finite. So should he choose to have all his lights and a fan on all night, the power will definitely not last the whole night. We strive to provide excellent service and have been subsidising his meals, and some meals were given for free. Your husband however is impossible to please and not once has he thanked anyone for anything given to him with the best of intentions. Fish Eagle Bay Lodge offers good quality accommodation and food. We have a beautiful beach and very friendly staff. We hope that your husband will be happy at the next Lodge, and that you will one day actually come and visit Fish Eagle Bay, to see the beauty and tranquility for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2019 via mobile

It was a bit hard to find but worth it (on google map look for sani beach) the location and the sandy beach on the lake are amazing! The managers are very knowledgeable and friendly. We hired a canoe (we paid for it) and this was fun. No major activities around just relaxing. The food was good and large portions- as vegetarians/ vegans the option are enough.
TNM is the only available network there.
We got the big villa which was enormous for our needs. The self catering & BBQ outside was big plus so we could have dinner or lunch on the balcony to enjoy great time
All in all highly recommend 🤙😄

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank shanykp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fisheaglebay, Manager at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2019

Hi guy's,

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Dalene
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2019 via mobile

We were 4 travellers originally traveling från mbeya tanzania to malawi, we found no other hotel who could help us with transfer except Dalene and Mike. Our trip changed so half The group travelled from mbeya and half flew to malawi. They were absolutely Amazing and fixed us transport both from The north border and from another hotel. They picked us up personally. Dalene and Mike are Amazing people from South africa, they both have big hearts and wants The best for their clients. All The price are fair, nothing is overprice. The lodge is fresh, clean and very Nice. The beach to The lake is very beautiful and The food is exceptional. Mike even cooked us home cooked food, which you miss when you travel long. Their staff was Amazing and bazil thaught us to play bao and he walked up a hill with us.

The scenary is Amazing around this lodge and people are so friendly. No worries to take a morning jog or play football on The beach with The local kids.

IF you ever go to Malawi, it is a Must to stay here and get to know Dalene and Mike. You will be amazed and have a wonderful vaccation.

Thank you so much Dalene and Mike for giving us The best memories, your 4 swedes.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Panizerfani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fisheaglebay, Manager at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2019

That was amazing meeting you and spending time with you guys. You were absolutely stunning and everybody on the lodge enjoyed your company.
To us all our client's are special and we are here to serve our customers to the best of our ability.
Hope to see you again on your next Africa trip.
Regards
Management
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge
Mike and Dalene and Basil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews