We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
31
24
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
31
24
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish eagles lake malawi negative reviews self catering cottage rooms are beautiful trevor power lakeshore lodge batteries setting stock accommodation tree sunrise canoe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2019 via mobile

We were 4 travellers originally traveling från mbeya tanzania to malawi, we found no other hotel who could help us with transfer except Dalene and Mike. Our trip changed so half The group travelled from mbeya and half flew to malawi. They were absolutely Amazing and fixed us transport both from The north border and from another hotel. They picked us up personally. Dalene and Mike are Amazing people from South africa, they both have big hearts and wants The best for their clients. All The price are fair, nothing is overprice. The lodge is fresh, clean and very Nice. The beach to The lake is very beautiful and The food is exceptional. Mike even cooked us home cooked food, which you miss when you travel long. Their staff was Amazing and bazil thaught us to play bao and he walked up a hill with us.

The scenary is Amazing around this lodge and people are so friendly. No worries to take a morning jog or play football on The beach with The local kids.

IF you ever go to Malawi, it is a Must to stay here and get to know Dalene and Mike. You will be amazed and have a wonderful vaccation.

Thank you so much Dalene and Mike for giving us The best memories, your 4 swedes.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Panizerfani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fisheaglebay, Manager at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2019

That was amazing meeting you and spending time with you guys. You were absolutely stunning and everybody on the lodge enjoyed your company.
To us all our client's are special and we are here to serve our customers to the best of our ability.
Hope to see you again on your next Africa trip.
Regards
Management
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge
Mike and Dalene and Basil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2019

Stayed there for the half night early June 2016.

I was alone and took normal rondavel which was spacious, clean, quiet and naturally-ventilated with good mosquito protection. Rondavels are located close to the beach and restaurant at reception area. Lodge has night security post/patrol led my Moses, who is knowledgeable and interesting collocutor. Hi Moses!

I spent 10 days in Malawi and visited almost all areas in central and south part of country but this lodge was the only place where Chambo fish is cooked in great way. Somehow, its taste reminds rather a lobster that lake fish. Very impressive!

Thank you.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xsaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge Lake Malawi, Owner at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2022

So glad that you enjoyed our fresh fish from the Lake. We do our best to offer fresh locally sourced food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2019

Fish Eagle bay run by a lovely couple, was one of our stops during the Calendar Lake Project 52 day expedition around lake Malawi. We were warmly welcomed by staff and owners who proceeded to ensure that all we required was available to us. Unfortunately we only stayed one night but wished we had more time to spend on their beautiful beaches. They gave a personalized service and ensured that we were well watered and fed. Huge Thank you Dalene who went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. From the Calendar Lake Crew.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank KumbaliLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fish Eagle Bay ... L, Manager at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2019

Thanks guy's it was great having you here. Hope you will come and visit us soon. It was a lovely crew and only a pleasure to entertain you.
Regards to every single person on board and best of luck for your future plans.
Mike and Dalene
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2019

A rather pretty small lodge with rather nice beach about 6km off the road but well sign posted (but you might think you are lost - so just keep driving). We came last year for 2 nights and this time stayed 5, it is under new management and we did think they were excellent, friendly and obviously enjoy their work. Lovely beach and even though was caught the edge of some bad weather which turned the usually beautiful waters a murky brown it was still fun to swim in and even managed to body surf. Locals are friendly and not in your face. Fish and chips for 2 and a rather nice bottle of white SA wine for about £18... As an omelette expert (well I eat them everywhere) I think their morning vegetable omelettes were pretty good.

Room tip: Room 1 & 2 rather nice... see the lake whilst reading on the bed. I believe there are some self catering cottages.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fish Eagle Bay ... L, Manager at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2019

It was a pleasure to meet you and we really hope to see you again. Thank u for choosing Fish Eagle Bay Lodge for your get away holiday. Regards
Mike and Dalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

December was my 3rd time to Fish Eagle Bay and this time with my entire family including my brother from overseas from Sweden. We took the two self catering chalets at the bottom of the premises and had a great time for a week. Staff are brilliant, accommodating an always willing to assist wherever they can. The restaurant and bar are fantastic, especially when you feel like not cooking below. We made potjie by the bar as well which allowed us to watch the football. Special mention must go to Stanley, Kicka and Mike who were always there to assist. This has become my place to go at the lake from Lilongwe and it was thoroughly enjoyed by all. Always a pleasure to go there and will be back soon for a long weekend. Great setting and friendly staff always make it a home away from home. Keep up the great work!!!

Room tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have a magnificent view. Self catering on the beach
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews