We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Oleg S

Best Chambo fish in Malawi

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Jun 2019
Stayed there for the half night early June 2016.

I was alone and took normal rondavel which was spacious, clean, quiet and naturally-ventilated with good mosquito protection. Rondavels are located close to the beach and restaurant at reception area. Lodge has night security post/patrol led my Moses, who is knowledgeable and interesting collocutor. Hi Moses!

I spent 10 days in Malawi and visited almost all areas in central and south part of country but this lodge was the only place where Chambo fish is cooked in great way. Somehow, its taste reminds rather a lobster that lake fish. Very impressive!

Thank you.
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge Lake Malawi, Owner at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 30 Nov 2022
So glad that you enjoyed our fresh fish from the Lake. We do our best to offer fresh locally sourced food.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
12.9 km from Fish Eagle Bay Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
eDreams
    12.9 km from Fish Eagle Bay Lodge
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Vio.com
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    29.9 km from Fish Eagle Bay Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    12.9 km from Fish Eagle Bay Lodge
    Restaurant
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    33.2 km from Fish Eagle Bay Lodge
    Free parking
    Bar/Lounge
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    28.9 km from Fish Eagle Bay Lodge
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    51.7 km from Fish Eagle Bay Lodge
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Our new infinity pool
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    80.9 km from Fish Eagle Bay Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    1.2 km from Fish Eagle Bay Lodge
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    57.0 km from Fish Eagle Bay Lodge
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Nkhotakota
    Reviews (62)
    Filter reviews
    62 results
    Traveller rating
    32
    24
    4
    1
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    32
    24
    4
    1
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews fish eagles lake malawi negative reviews self catering cottage rooms are beautiful trevor power lakeshore lodge batteries setting stock accommodation tree sunrise canoe
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    10 - 15 of 62 reviews
    Reviewed 23 May 2019

    Fish Eagle bay run by a lovely couple, was one of our stops during the Calendar Lake Project 52 day expedition around lake Malawi. We were warmly welcomed by staff and owners who proceeded to ensure that all we required was available to us. Unfortunately we only stayed one night but wished we had more time to spend on their beautiful beaches. They gave a personalized service and ensured that we were well watered and fed. Huge Thank you Dalene who went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. From the Calendar Lake Crew.

    Date of stay: May 2019
    Thank KumbaliLodge
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Fish Eagle Bay ... L, Manager at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2019

    Thanks guy's it was great having you here. Hope you will come and visit us soon. It was a lovely crew and only a pleasure to entertain you.
    Regards to every single person on board and best of luck for your future plans.
    Mike and Dalene
    Fish Eagle Bay Lodge

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 May 2019

    A rather pretty small lodge with rather nice beach about 6km off the road but well sign posted (but you might think you are lost - so just keep driving). We came last year for 2 nights and this time stayed 5, it is under new management and we did think they were excellent, friendly and obviously enjoy their work. Lovely beach and even though was caught the edge of some bad weather which turned the usually beautiful waters a murky brown it was still fun to swim in and even managed to body surf. Locals are friendly and not in your face. Fish and chips for 2 and a rather nice bottle of white SA wine for about £18... As an omelette expert (well I eat them everywhere) I think their morning vegetable omelettes were pretty good.

    Room tip: Room 1 & 2 rather nice... see the lake whilst reading on the bed. I believe there are some self catering cottages.
    Date of stay: May 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank Bryan P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Fish Eagle Bay ... L, Manager at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2019

    It was a pleasure to meet you and we really hope to see you again. Thank u for choosing Fish Eagle Bay Lodge for your get away holiday. Regards
    Mike and Dalene

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 January 2018

    December was my 3rd time to Fish Eagle Bay and this time with my entire family including my brother from overseas from Sweden. We took the two self catering chalets at the bottom of the premises and had a great time for a week. Staff are brilliant, accommodating an always willing to assist wherever they can. The restaurant and bar are fantastic, especially when you feel like not cooking below. We made potjie by the bar as well which allowed us to watch the football. Special mention must go to Stanley, Kicka and Mike who were always there to assist. This has become my place to go at the lake from Lilongwe and it was thoroughly enjoyed by all. Always a pleasure to go there and will be back soon for a long weekend. Great setting and friendly staff always make it a home away from home. Keep up the great work!!!

    Room tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have a magnificent view. Self catering on the beach
    Date of stay: December 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Chris E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 October 2017

    My brother and I stayed at Fish Eagle Bay Lodge in September. We were on a road trip from Nairobi to Livingston and I can honestly say that this is the best place we stayed our entire trip. The staff were incredible, the food was amazing and the setting is really just remarkable - way better than Thailand in my opinion ;) I'd highly recommend this place, and in fact I'm already planning my return!

    Date of stay: September 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Candice W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

    This was our first stop on a two-week driving tour of Malawi. Intending to stay a couple of days, Fish Eagle Lodge was such a relaxing place to allow the stresses of life to wash off, we ended up staying four days. A terrorist attack and a General Election back in the U.K. seemed like things from another world. An almost empty pure white sandy beach, palm trees, a blue lake, friendly staff, great food even if the choice was limited, made this a place to remember.

    Date of stay: July 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Plain_Mike
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews