We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great villa - loved the area - real italy”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Belavista

External view of villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External view of villa
Pool Side Pool Side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
External view of villa
Pool Side
Pool Side
Pool Side
Private Pool
Private Pool
View from Lower Terrace
Balcony View
Outside Upper Terrace 1
Outside Upper Terrace 2
Open Plan Living Area
Kitchen and Dinning Area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Terrace outside master bedroom
Terrace outside master bedroom
Panaramic View of Calitri
Calitri Town
Street View of Calitri
Calitri Town
Calitri Town
Calitri Town
Calitri Town
Calitri Town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Calitri, Province of Avellino, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Nigel M
ripon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great villa - loved the area - real italy”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The villa is great - clean, well laid out and comfortable. The pool was great too. The area and town of Calitri is VERY Italian - we loved it. Not many people speak English so be prepared. That said everyone we met was very helpful and tried to help us out. Food in the shops and markets was way above what you find in the UK. Restaurants serve good wholesome Italian food but check opening times and make a reservation. There's lots to do in the area and the Amalifi Coast is a couple of hours, as is Pompeii.
We really enjoyed our time there - highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mascali19...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Rural Retreat”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

An excellent, beautiful villa with fantastic pool in a brilliant rural location surrounded by fields, the area of Calitri is lovely and the local people very friendly. Luigi kept the pool immaculate and Emma was very helpful with advice, Franca kept the villa immaculate and very clean, the property has everything you need. The train from Benevento to Roma took 2hrs and was very reasonable for first class travel. Roma was fantastic and we intend to visit again. Nearby you have Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast both are well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural location and quietness
Liked least: Leaving Italy and Belavista
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinid13
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful, rural getaway in a spacious and comfortable villa.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The villa is in a rural area, 10 mins from the local town, Calitri. Our contact, Emma, was very helpful and offered to show us where the supermarket and restaurants were that evening. The villa itself is very spacious with lovely upper terraces, giving splendid views of the surrounding countryside. TV, DVD player and iPod docks were all provided and we had a very comfortable stay. The local area is not at all touristy and we enjoyed exploring the ‘centro storico’ of Calitri and sampling the very reasonably-priced local fare.

Our only gripe was that we used the pool far less than we anticipated, despite it looking clean and inviting, as most afternoons were very windy and overcast. This meant that the pool area was very chilly, which did not encourage lounging outdoors after a dip. As a pool had been an important factor in choosing this villa, it was a great disappointment to our two teenagers. A hedge has recently been planted on one side of the pool to provide some privacy from the road, but sadly this doesn't provide shelter from the prevailing wind. A low fence or hedge as a windbreak around the other side might have made all the difference to us. Likewise, the beautiful terrace seemed to funnel the wind, so we found it to be too breezy to eat al fresco in the evenings. Judging by the other reviews, we may just have been very unlucky with the weather in mid-July (although the extensive wind farms all around suggest that it is generally a windy area) and I imagine that on hot days the breeze would be welcome.

So, if you are lucky with the weather and are looking for a peaceful, rural getaway in a spacious and comfortable villa, then this is definitely for you!

Note: for those arriving on a Sunday: we arrived at lunchtime - tired and hungry after an early start - to find that the local supermarket was shut and the restaurants don’t open until about 8pm. Thankfully, the lovely Emma had left some bottled water, bread and wine for our arrival! Also, for those with young children, be aware that there is no fence around the pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unspoilt area, with very few tourists.
Liked least: Windy and chilly by the poolside when the sun was not shining.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Italy”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Villa is absolutely wonderful, clean, spacious with lovely terraces to sit on to enjoy lunch and dinner when we were not out eating in town. We spent a week at Belavista in September and to our delight September is known as Festival Season. It was a complete fluke that the Calitri music festival was on (first week of september. The whole town comes alive with music from classical choirs and singers performing in the square to Jazz saxphonists playing at the outside eateries (the old town becomes an outside restaraunt with spectacular secenery). Food and drink is so reasonably priced which again was an unexpected surprise. I cannot recommend a visit to the villa and Calitri enough and if you are fortuante to go in the first week of September the music festival is one not to miss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terraces and swimming pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
99toby
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“relaxing holiday in perfect surroundings”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a really relaxing holiday at Bellavista.The house is spotlessly clean,comfortable,and really well set up for your every need.It is set 5 mins out of Calitri in a rural area.We stayed with one of our teenage sons and extended family from Australia.The outside pool was particularly welcome as it was 35oc most of the time we were there.
Kate has Emma a very nice local tourist guide who speaks excellent english on hand to guide you to the villa and help with local knowledge places to go etc..she has encyclopedic knowledge of the local area and beyond.Emma really made our holiday as without her suggestions we would have missed important stuff !
Emma does a variety of informal guided tours don't miss her tour of the caves under old Calitri with the cheese and salami makers.
We flew to Naples with Easy jet and hired a car from the airport from Europe car, there are many others there, but they were very good we had no problems with them on returnre: spurious damage charges etc... In the airport arrivals look for the free shuttle bus to the hire cars.Its about 1-2 hours drive from airport to Calitri
Euro sat nav was v usefull.

We went on the water taxi at Emmas suggestion from Salerno to Positano and Amalfi ridiculously picturesque places and so easy by boat DONTtry and drive the Amalfi coast.
Calitri is a sleepy little place great for foodies , it could be called an "undiscovered Tuscany" (weve been there twice as well) lots of small green grocers selling excellent salami prosciutto, Amalfi lemons,and other veg all produced in the local area.Also two good fishmongers.There is also a supermarket.
We had a meal in the Cave restaurant in old Calitri which was excellent ...pizzas as well as a la carte .bill for 6 of us Inc wine and beer 110euros.
We also went to Herculaneum by chance on a Sunday which meant we almost had it to ourselves, incredible place about 1.5 hrs back up the coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area, friendly people,the food.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing