We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It really is a gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 12
Elgin, Rideau Lakes, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Susan S
1 review
“It really is a gem”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was our second year in a row to rent this cottage. There is ample room to accommodate my husband and I, our three grown children along with our son's wife and their one-year old. If you like campfires, you'll just love the location of the fire pit on a point at the lake. Here we enjoyed the glass-like lake, saw loons, a crane, and deer on the far shore. Very quiet lake, great for kayaking. Sunrises on lake are picturesque. Beautiful landscaping is like no other cottage rental! The cottage is very clean, well equipped with personal touches added. Don has been great to communicate with through email and in-person he's kind and attentive making sure all is well. The care that has gone into this cottage shows the owners love it, and now we do too!

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Thanks for you review Susan, we enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again soon.
Take care, Don and Reggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy L
1 review
“Kissed by Nature”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The title of this review speaks volumes to me. We were surrounded by such a beautiful landscape and the natural beauty of the entire lake.

We loved the dragon flies and butterflies that visited us during our stay. We also saw deer, and beavers. The birds were amazing, hawks, ducks and loones to name a few.

The cottage was clean and welcoming.

We will definitely re-book. Thank you Don for making it special. We will cherish our many beautiful memories.

Cheers,

Cindy and gilbert

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Cindy and Gilbert, thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at our cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again before to long.
Don and Reggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad6479...
1 review
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This area was very nice and my family really enjoyed,
was far enough out that you had the seclusion you desired but still close enough for several day trips, would definitely recommend to friends and family. Would visit again. Would have enjoyed WiFi but not a deal breaker for the beauty of the property.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to provide a review. If you are looking for a cottage to rent in the future we would be happy to have you stay with us again.

Take care, Don
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueS26
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful, peaceful cottage would to back again in a minute!”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I have no complaints except that somehow many flies got into the cottage, was frustrating. Not owners fault, but was uncomfortable. But i would definately rent again, or reccommend to a friend.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Right on the water and the layout of the cottage, very nice, very spacious.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thank you for this Sue, I will look into the issue with flies and try to resolve. Hope to see you as our guest before long.
Take care, Don
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.