We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quiet secret getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
The Mill is set in a secluded 1/4 acre garden surrounded by fields and water.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mill is set in a secluded 1/4 acre garden surrounded by fields and water.
Lounge with log burner. The view from the lounge. Moorehens, coots, ducks and otters are spotted regularly.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
The Mill is set in a secluded 1/4 acre garden surrounded by fields and water.
Lounge with log burner.
The view from the lounge. Moorehens, coots, ducks and otters are spotted regularly.
Circular bespoke kitchen. Modern oak and granite with underfloor heating, features a butler sink.
First floor circular bedroom with underfloor heating, 4foot double bed, flat screen TV and DVD.
Double height living room with chandelier.
Mill tower.
Ground floor shower room with underfloor heating. Towels and toiletries are provided for your stay.
The cap room, one of the highest points for miles around and great for watching life go by below.
The Mill Cap, which was rebuilt in 2010. Gorgeous views over the flat landscape all around you.
Garden to the front of the Mill.
Views of the fields from the lounge. Our nearest neighbours are a herd of Highlands cows.
Our neighbours
Potter Heigham bridge, only 400 yards from the Mill.
The mill as it was circa 1900. The cap and sails were destroyed by lightening in the 1930s.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Potter Heigham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
claireyou...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quiet secret getaway”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What an excellent stay we had at the Old Mill, tucked away on the banks of Repps in walking distance from Potter Heigham, a little gem of a property. We took our two dogs who had a whale of a time in all the space, enjoying the enclosed garden, and wildlife in and around the mill. Loved the quirkiness of the round master bedroom, providing the right amount of privacy if needed. The rooftop was a delight, spent many a nights up in the secret den, watching the stars with the telescope and even braved going outside onto the roof surround to enjoy some stunning sunsets and scenery. The Mill is in a perfect location for discovering the broads, and we find lots of useful information in the folder telling us where to go, what to do etc, and contact details were we in need. The water was cut off whilst we were there due to works and the owners were so helpful in sorting the problem quickly and without disturbance. Enjoyed cooking for the nights we stayed in, but also eating out in the local vicinity was great too. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was a real touch too! A most enjoyable week and a property we would definitely visit time and time again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
We are so glad you and your dogs enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine B
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we found the Mill not to be as clean as one would expect, we felt that the property had not been cleaned from the previous guests stay. Food debris was left in the dishwasher and we had to replace the washing up bowl during our stay with a new one, the waste required disinfecting! We had to clean the fridge out before using. There were no blinds in the kitchen or bathroom, so privacy was an issue. The toilet did not flush properly, the toilet brush was clogged with toilet paper. The information pack did not contain or have any numbers/ addressees in case of an emergency. The oven had cobwebs and was dirty and we could not use. The grounds outside were untidy with freshly cut hedging thrown into the dyke!
Ashtrays outside on the table were left not emptied. Found it difficult/impossible to contact the
owner…Still waiting for the return of the refundable deposit…20 days after departure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Norfolk
Liked least: Communication with the owner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2014
After reading your lovely comments in the visitors book and your email regarding returning in July 2015 I am sure that you enjoyed much of your stay and I will try to address the points made on Tripadvisor.
Our lovely housekeeper does an excellent job of making the Mill homely for each guest and puts time and effort into making each stay enjoyable and special. We get lots of wonderful feedback so I was surprised that you feel the kitchen needed attention as she has a very high standard of cleaning but I have passed on your comments.
The Mill doesn't have blinds in the kitchen or bathroom as its set back in a garden on a riverbank surrounded by fields and isn't overlooked (apart from by cows).
A home phone number and two mobile numbers are provided so you will always be able to speak to us. These numbers are in the information folder and on the kitchen chalkboard. I aim to check my email daily when possible.
As you did not provide details for your deposit return until several days after your holiday ended there was a delay in it being returned to you. The website now automatically returns the deposit to guests within 10 days.
Our garden is at its best in summer and a gardener visits regularly to keep it tidy. The garden adjoining the dyke is kept as natural as possible as the brambles and reeds provide protection for nesting birds. We have been lucky enough to be visited by a dog otter, barn owl, stoat, marsh harrier and lots of ghekos and dragonflies in our garden and have families of swans, ducks, coots and moorhens nesting in the surrounding dyke. We are a no smoking property so we do not supply ashtrays.
The fallen tree at the back of garden is home to a hedgehog which my daughter discovered this Summer. We decided to give him a chance to hibernate and remove it in the Spring, however we now have a moorhen nesting in the branches so it may have to stay permanently!
Kind regards, Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill R
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Arrived through the garden gate into the secret garden what lovely setting for the windmill.Loved the windmill in every aspect.Willis the boarder terrier loved the underfloor central heating especially after a long walk on the beautiful beach of Winterton On Sea .Lathams store in Potter Heigham is like an Aladdins cave ,Martham Co-op is a good place to stock up for your stay. Caister on Sea beach is good and the chippy on Great Yarmouth beach is dog friendly .Lovely to see the seals off Horsey Beach . Sea Palling is a lovely beach and the cafe is dog friendly with great coffee ,In land Blicking Estate is well worth a visit. The swans came down the dykes with their cygnets in to share my toast.We loved the windmill and the settings

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djw45
Watton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very good place to stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Positives: good comfortable accommodation. Lots of wildlife to see. Easy access along the river bank. Good shop & restaurant nearby. Good base from which to discover the Norfolk Broads.
Negatives: not all the electrics worked. Quite narrow stairs but well lit. Main bedroom compact!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Mill and managed to see some of the wildlife. We love the Broads in the Autumn and ofter see an otter at the back of the Mill garden in the stream at this time of year.
Because windmills were never meant to be lived in we found the renovation of the Mill a challenge. We hope we made best use of the space while not losing the character of the building, but the bedrooms are all quite small and circular so take some getting used to, as does the spiral staircase!
Our apologies that something electrical wasn't working. We have not received any complaints about a problem but we will always do our best to solve any problems we are made aware of during your stay and hope it did not inconvienience you too much.
Kind regards, Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
widndino
Ravenstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lifte times ambition complete”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a great place to stay, the windmill is very well equiped, love the underfloor heating, which sadly due to damp Norfolk weather we needed. But the weather did not dampen our holiday. We enjoyed going back to the windmill every night and had some great days out as the location has a lot going on around it. The peace was amazing and we loved watching the Swans daily habbits. Hope to go again, just loved sitting out on the cap watching the world go buy. Thank you for allowing us to stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locatin, and sitting at the top of the windmill.
Liked least: nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$119
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing