We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too salty food and very imbalanced”
Review of Sway

Sway
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 04/20
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Description: Located in the heart of West Lake Hills, Sway’s third location features communal dining, a garden courtyard, an open kitchen, and bar & lounge. Additionally, Sway West Lake Hills showcases a covered rooftop bar with sweeping views of downtown Austin. The menu offerings include Sway’s signature modern Thai dishes as well as a full bar program with specialty Thai cocktails. Named one of Bon Appétit’s “50 Best New Restaurants in America” in 2013, Sway was also most recently voted “2019 Best Brunch in Austin” + “Best Happy Hour in Austin” by readers of Austin Monthly as well as “2019 Best Thai Food” by the Austin-American Statesman.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in the heart of West Lake Hills, Sway’s third location features communal dining, a garden courtyard, an open kitchen, and bar & lounge. Additionally, Sway West Lake Hills showcases a covered rooftop bar with sweeping views of downtown Austin. The menu offerings include Sway’s signature modern Thai dishes as well as a full bar program with specialty Thai cocktails. Named one of Bon Appétit’s “50 Best New Restaurants in America” in 2013, Sway was also most recently voted “2019 Best Brunch in Austin” + “Best Happy Hour in Austin” by readers of Austin Monthly as well as “2019 Best Thai Food” by the Austin-American Statesman.
Reviewed 27 February 2021

We ordered 5 items - chicken wings, brussels sprouts, jungle curry, kai yaang chicken and krapao gai fried rice. The food was way too salty - in each dish!! There is no balance in any of the dishes. The fried rice was literally like soup - overcooked and watery rice.... almost like a bad version of congee. Wait staff is nice otherwise a single star

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank _tomnguyen001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2020 via mobile

We have been to the other 2 sway locations. First time here. It very open with rooftop bar and sitting area. We went up there first. Had some great drinks and salt/pepper calamari. Was awesome. Downstairs we enjoyed socially distant dinner. We got out favorite dishes. Everything was awesome as usual. We were told the other 2 locations will close down. We are sad about that. We will be happy to visit this place.

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank Divebabydive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2020 via mobile

Sway in Westlake provided an evening to remember. The location is accessible and the service was welcoming as well as efficient. The food was excellent. We sat in roof dining area so enjoyed the downtown Austin skyline. This is worth a try.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank rtnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020 via mobile

Food, drink and service were all excellent. Most of what we ordered was spicy - the way I like it! Might be a bit much for some. Agree with earlier review - loud and a bit difficult to hear - but still a very nice vibe. The upstairs bar area had a great view where it was much quieter and they served food. I’ll go back!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank AlamoTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020

Most points about my visit were positive: very stylish interior, good service, flavor complex dishes (and we shared several around the table, even though I am carnivorous I found here even the tofu great) - the blue prawns for appertiser and the Brussel sprouts you should particularly consider when drooling over the menu . Service was good (even though I agree we came quite early for our group lunch so our group had pretty much undivided attention of the staff). I would come back in a heart beat

As for "cons" I would mention only two things:
- it was hard to identify the right building/entrance from the BeeCaves road (despite that I checked StreetView on Google before leaving) so most of us had to loop around for 2nd pass to find it, the sign is not standing out, color gray as well as the building, nothing to catch the eye.
- And 2nd, from the 'stylish' menu it is a bit hard to find out what is considered appertiser, main menu, soup and so on ... maybe less fancy and more practical, for us 'ordinary people' to give us hint?

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucie_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.