We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just the job”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Courtyard Cottage

Character kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Character kitchen
A bench in the sun Large, light bedroom with hidden storage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Character kitchen
A bench in the sun
Large, light bedroom with hidden storage
Lounge with sofabed
Bath with shower over
The stairs to the bedroom are quite steep and narrow
Steep, spiral wooden stairs
View of courtyard from the bench outside the front door
December sunset in Topsham
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Topsham, Exeter, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debra C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just the job”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Having just bought a boat at topsham boatyard, we needed a base to stay while we worked on the boat. This property fit the bill perfectly. If we had been on holiday it would also have been perfect, homely accommodation in a perfect location. Hope to stay longer when we return, as Topsham looks like a good place to explore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quirky and cool layout
Liked least: stairs, best negotiated in bare feet to avoid slipping. They were mentioned in the property description.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poolefami...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, full of character.”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, full of character. Very comfortable and great location in Topsham. Hazel could not have been ore helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam A
London
2 reviews
“Wonderful cottage and very friendly landlady”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed with our baby son here for a week, and it was lovely. The cottage is bright and clean, and the courtyard is very picturesque.

The facilities were top-notch and Hazel provide a cot for our son, and even left us some milk and wine in the fridge, which was very welcome!

Topsham is a sleepy little village, perfect for getting away from things for a bit, but only 10 minutes from Exeter by train or car.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very pretty
Liked least: The only downside was the steepness of the stairs
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms_Chisso...
}���S��
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely character cottage in a quaint location.

The village of Topsham is lovely, with many places to eat and drink on your doorstep as well as the quayside. Despite being on the High Street, the house was amazingly quiet, although you are aware of having neighbours.

Parking is a slight hassle as, if you return to the property before 5pm, you have to pay to park in car-park opposite, and/or keep an eye on how long you use the roadside parking for, but not a real problem.

The cottage is full of character and the precipitous stairs and sloping floors reflect this. Overall, headroom was fine for my 6ft 5 husband, although there are doorways to watch out for.

Generally well-equipped including lovely kitchen, good free wi-fi and I-pod dock. Since a previous review, I can reassure tea-drinkers that there is now a teapot, and my personal recommendation would be for a better selection of towels.

Lovely property in a great area. Fully recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankatava
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem of a place.”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying four nights at the Courtyard Cottage. The first impression was that there is a great balance between quaint and modern. What struck us was not only that the accommodation is tastefully restored, decorated and well equipped, but that it is larger than the pictures would suggest. The cottage is on three levels, kitchen/dinner on the ground floor, living and bathroom on the first, and bedroom on the second floor. One word of caution: the steps are quite steep and narrow. Our five year old was able to navigate then, but was a little timid at first. The bedroom has ample room for the double bed in which my wife and I slept, and the double mattress that our daughter slept on. Even then, we did not feel cramped. There is ample hanging and storage space for clothes and suitcases etc. The bedroom has a table if writing is your thing. The living room is smaller than the bedroom but large enough to watch TV, or play one of the board games that are provided, without the feeling of smallness. The WiFi is a welcome, added bonus. The kitchen is extremely well equipped, lacking only one thing: a teapot! Our host left milk, wine and two bottles of German beer in the fridge, also a welcome touch after having spent 12 hours in the car. (That makes it sound like we drank them all the night we arrived! We settled for a cup of tea, honest). There are two bikes in the accommodation that can be used free of charge. The cottage was clean throughout. The location of the cottage is great. It is on the main street of Topsham. Parking was generally not a problem. Evenings there is the use of the car park opposite but we always found a spot on the road outside the cottage. Free parking can be found during the day. One note on the key. There is a lock box by the door. It is low to the ground and at night I struggled to see the numbers on the lock. I know it is an eye sight issue, but if you arrive at night, a torch may come in handy! We enjoyed outings to various destinations although our primary purpose for the visit was attending a Christian conference at Westpoint, just 15 minutes away. We hope to be back next year and can recommend this accommodation without reservations. Thanks to Hazel, the property owner who we never met, but who seemed to bend over backwards to make our stay both enjoyable and memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing