We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage
Main Bedroom Dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The Cottage
Main Bedroom
Dining table
Swedish Woodburner
Dining Area
Upstairs Bedroom
The Hammock
Patio
View From the Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bratton Clovelly, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tomdelay
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed 14 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I've had the pleasure of staying twice at the cottage, and will be coming back. It is absolutely perfect. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpoonyB23
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The previous winter, we'd searched for a Devon cottage that was a little bit special for a week in August. When finding Great Burrow's webpage, we didn't quite believe something so perfect could exist and counted they days until our week arrived. Upon arrival it was apparent that the cottage was true to every picture we had seen... stunningly beautiful and serene with the most wonderful garden. The owners Mary & Justin were lovely & friendly and helpful even apologising that they'd had no time to bake us some scones! Our son enjoyed feeding the chickens every morning and exploring in his own private woodland. While most days were spent on the moors, most evenings were spent toasting marshmallows around the fire pit and listening to owls. The cottage was large but cosy, fantastically equipped with a quirky vintage style. We without a doubt will be back to this very special place ❤️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
Thankyou Becky! What a super review to lighten up a dull October day! Looking forward to having you back. All the best, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy J
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and pet friendly”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fist time at this cottage, hard to find but well worth it.

Pet friendly which is a bonus when you have three dogs. Super clean and warm, so quiet at night it was fantastic, the views in the valley are superb. Plenty of walks should you be inclined, also plenty of places to eat within a 30 min radius from basic to something more special. Supermarkets within 20 mins drive ( Lidl and Waitrose) nice craft bakery , easy drive to multiple beaches (pet friendly).

So pleased we plan to come back next year

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W
2 reviews
“Ideal country location.”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A great cottage tucked away in the Devon country side but within easy reach of Dartmoor and North Devon coast.
A comfortable cottage with all you need for a relaxed holiday. We only stayed for a weekend but would have enjoyed a longer holiday. Justin and Mary are great hosts, providing local info etc but not over the top. Milk and eggs on arrival is a welcoming gesture as the the greeting by the chickens.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivienne...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Haven”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We only had a short break, but the cottage was lovely and it so peaceful there. There were a few visits from the Chickens and the cat also made an appearance. We were given Eggs and Milk on arrival which made us feel at home. Beautiful Gardens, pity we had rain but we still went on walks in the surrounding area. We will definitely go back and recommend it to anyone thinking of a peaceful retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Thankyou Viv and Lyn, look forward to meeting the whole gang next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing