We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic cottage near Dartmour”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage
Main Bedroom Dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Cottage
Main Bedroom
Dining table
Swedish Woodburner
Dining Area
Upstairs Bedroom
The Hammock
Patio
View From the Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bratton Clovelly, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anna C
1 review
“Idyllic cottage near Dartmour”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had an absolutely fantastic holiday at Great Burrow Cottage at the end of June/early July. Mary and Justin were really welcoming, offering us a delicious home made cream tea on arrival. They were always happy to help with anything we needed, but we were also absolutely left to ourselves to relax and enjoy the cottage for the week.

It is set in a lovely landscape, is very close to Dartmour, nearby beaches and the stunning Lydford George. We went for a romantic week away and enjoyed walking on the moors, staying at home with the wood burning fire in the gorgeously designed cottage and pottering about in the outside space (including a hammock, outdoor dining with table and chairs, an outdoor fire pit and a bench where you can sit and enjoy the stunning views). There are chickens roaming around outside, and darts and table tennis for games. We really loved it and would be back in a second!

The cottage has room for more guests, or children too.

Thanks Mary and Justin for a wonderful break.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CurlySaz
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely retreat!”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful week at Great Burrow Cottage. It's very quiet and peaceful but there's plenty of excitement on the doorstep (Dartmoor, the Granite Way cycle path, watersports etc). The cottage is well appointed and tastefully furnished with the sort of things you want on holiday (comfortable beds, a big bath, good kitchen). The garden is beautifully wild and extensive and we particularly enjoyed evenings sitting around the fire pit on the lower lawn. Mary and Justin were helpful and welcoming hosts. We loved the freshly laid eggs from the family's chickens. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeVernon
1 review
“A gorgeous little dreamy hideaway!”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Thanks for a fantastic stay with our 8 month old baby. Loved the setting, the views, the bath, the hammock. Just a brilliant place with a brilliant admosphere. Would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazrinda
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Simply gorgeous”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a lucky find! This was a very last minute weekend booking and it could not have been better. The house was charming, stylish and comfortable and in the most amazing setting. Justin and Mary were wonderfully accommodating with all my last minute queries and welcoming as we turned up, weary from a difficult journey. All the stresses of travelling melted away as we relaxed in the cottage and explored the garden, and the kids were delighted with their den-like bedroom up in the roof. We felt instantly at home and struggled to leave, but we are sure to be back. Justin gave some great tips of the best places to explore locally and Dartmoor was amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happy1966
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A totally relaxing week in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We've just got back from a wonderful stay at Great Burrow and almost don't want to write this review since I don't really want competition for access in the future. However, it seems word is already out since this is a perfect place for a relaxing getaway.

We booked relatively late so were probably lucky to get to use this cottage but it was everything we wanted. At the end of a period of hard work and full-on life at home we wanted to just get away and relax and had a fairly demanding set of criteria (quiet, comfy beds, privacy, cosy and beautiful cottage, access to good walks and good views) so did not expect to get everything but great burrow delivered on them all and more.

We met Justin (the owner) when we arrived and after a short but thorough tour of the facilities that was it. The cottage is in the grounds of their much larger house but has full privacy including its own gardens and parking area so although we knew they were there if we had any issues we simply did not see them again. They also left freshly laid eggs, some milk and other provisions which was very useful in getting up and running before the grocery delivery arrived.

The cottage is warm and easy to spend time in, has been refurbished to a good standard and is well equipped for cooking etc so we did not have the usual problems with useless kit! There are multiple walks either straight out the back or a short drive away and breathtaking views of the moors as well.

All in it helps to be in the middle of such a beautiful part of the world but we didn't feel that we could have asked for a better place to come back to in the evenings. We will be going again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing