We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Value”
other travellers have booked this property
East Lodge is a listed building and the gatehouse to 18th Century Ardwell House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
East Lodge is a listed building and the gatehouse to 18th Century Ardwell House
A new path means the Lodge is less than 200 yards from the shore of Luce Bay A bridge over the Killaser Burn in Ardwell House Gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
East Lodge is a listed building and the gatehouse to 18th Century Ardwell House
A new path means the Lodge is less than 200 yards from the shore of Luce Bay
A bridge over the Killaser Burn in Ardwell House Gardens
The main pond at Ardwell Gardens
The decking faces south, perfect for sitting in the sun,
Enjoy an intimate meal for two
The living room window looks out over beautiful  Luce Bay
The Lodge's cosy bedroom
If you have children or dogs Ardwell Chalets may suit better. You can book via Holiday Lettings
The Mull of Galloway Lighthouse sits above dramatic 300ft cliffs
Ardwell Pond
Ardwell Bay, three miles away across the peninsula, looks across to Ireland
The living room contains a flat screen TV and an open log fire
The kitchen looks out into the woods
The Lodge has been recently refitted
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ardwell, Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
middlenei...
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Yes - very impressed. The only down side was lack of wifi. To be fair we were told that there was no wifi when booking so it wasn't a surprise. Think as time goes by however wifi will be standard, and these days it isn't expensive to install. The house and the setting are marvellous and if we ever visit the area again we would stay here without any hesitation :-)

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2017
Thanks for the kind words. Yes we did look at wifi and it was quite pricy. As I said to you 4G normally works down there for those who need to be online. For a lot of people no wifi is part of the attraction!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“East Lodge”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

What a gem of a lodge beautifully furnished to a very high standard. On arrival we were greeted with wine and chocolates plus milk in the fridge tea and coffee. Plentiful supply of coal and logs for the fire. We had a wonderful time wandering around Ardwell House gardens and tracks. We will be back again. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2017
Thanks for the kind words. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our lovely corner of Scotland and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baggygirl
Wooler, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to find Peace”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely, comfortable cottage for two. Outside decking a suntrap, delightful for lunch. Open fire a treat in the cooler evenings with plentiful supply of logs. Friendly welcome and delicious wine and chocolates; thank you Chris.
Frequently took the short walk to the shore and the beautiful grounds of Ardwell House. My husband enjoyed fly fishing on the Lake. Both felt restored by the slow paced, other worldly feel of this area. Wonderful running along the Mull of Galloway Trail. Sunset over Ardwell Bay and Port Logan not to be missed. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thanks for the fabulous review, John. We hope we'll see see you again soon.
Kind regards
Chris Brewis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$81
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing