We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calvinia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tankwa Lodge by Country Hotels
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed overnight at the Tankwa lodge on our way to Afrikaburn. We were very happy with the accommodation. The rooms were surprisingly modern with good quality linen. We would definitely recommend this for travellers that don't want to pay an arm and a leg, looking for bssic lodging. See you next year Tankwa Lodge!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank heletdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, Headoffice at Tankwa Lodge by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2015

Thank you for your kind review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 6 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2015

The pictures on imternet are misleading and I am sorry that I booked this venue based on the pictures. The lodge was abandoned but after getting the key from the Calvina hotel we could enter. Booked two rooms, the one had tobacco dripping from the ceiling, the other couldn't lock. The replacement for the latter was a cockrotch invested room. The swimming pool in the quad was great but no steps or ladder to get in or out. THe aged couldn't swim as they couldn't get in or out. The unsporty battled to heave themselve out. Dinner and breakfast at the hotel, not the lodge were met with a friendly personel. It made the stay bearable.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Roedig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, Manager at Tankwa Lodge by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Guest(s)

We apologise for your inconvenience. We are not aware of any similar complaints whilst having a fully booked Hotel and Lodge since 20 January 2016.

Kindest Regards

Mariolane Dawson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016
Thank RosMit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, Manager at Tankwa Lodge by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvinia hotels
0.6 km away
Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels
0.1 km away
Carmel Villa B&B
Carmel Villa B&B
#5 of 10 in Calvinia
19 reviews
1.0 km away
Tarantula Guest House
Tarantula Guest House
#3 of 10 in Calvinia
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
African Dawn B&B
African Dawn B&B
#1 of 10 in Calvinia
38 reviews
1.2 km away
Katryn's Bed and Breakfast
Katryn's Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 10 in Calvinia
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankwa Lodge by Country Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankwa Lodge by Country Hotels

Address: Hoop Street, Calvinia 8109, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Calvinia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Calvinia
Price Range: R300 - R400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When entering the Tankwa Lodge, visitors are still welcomed with true warm country hospitality. The Lodge offers 25 rooms all with en-suite showers & bathrooms, a Splash Pool to cool off in the summer heat, Conference facilities for up to 80 pax, a Beer Garden, Secure parking and Restaurant & Bar which is currently independently owned and operated. Rates Low Season: RATES: Single room: R400.00 Twin/ Double room: R300.00 P/p sharing Children 3-11 years: R150.00 Children 0-2 years: Free Rates Low Season: RATES: Single room: R400.00 Twin/ Double room: R300.00 P/p sharing Children 3-11 years: R150.00 Children 0-2 years: Free ACTIVITIES & ATTRACTIONS: • 4*4 Routes: There are various routes, some steep in Anglo Boer War history, along the escarpment with picturesque views and San paintings, or along the riverbed with huge Namaqua fig trees clinging to the rock surfaces. A must during spring when thick carpets of flowers adorn the countryside. • Akkerendam Nature Reserve: Offering walks for the fit or the frail. Afford you to take in the magnificent scenery, study the Sterboom and up to 65 species of birds. • Dutch Reformed Church: Design by Gaysford, a Potchefstroom architect, the church is in neo-gothic style and cost 1,200 pounds to build. • Grave of Abraham Esau: Anglo-Boer War martyr • Museum: House in the art deco Old Synagogue built in 1920, exhibits portray the lives of the early European settlers. A cedarwoodhorsemill and old locomotive train relate the history of the area. • Spring Flowers: Durning the Flower Season (September - October) each year, up-to-date maps direct flower-lovers to the best shows. • Hantam Meat Festival: (Last week-end in August) A local farmers festival, well known all over Southern Africa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing