We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels
Nearby Hotels
Tarantula Guest House(Calvinia)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Carmel Villa B&B(Calvinia)(Great Value!)
US$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hantam Huis(Calvinia)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
28
58
37
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
58
37
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubstaff were friendlyclean roomsenjoyed my staynorthern capeawesome staymosquito repellentsafe parkingoff street parkingnight's restnice breakfastfood is excellentovernight stoppleasant staysmall townbarmanvisitors
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The breakfast was non existing...the Catering Manageress was extremely rude and really lacks some Customer Skills...The Reservation was made for the Hotel but we had to stay in the Lodge which is really not up to scratch..actually very POOR.. There is BETTER accommodation available in Calvinia..!!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank petertY1300SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, Restaurant Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dear Guest
The vleisfees was in process that morning....my restaurant was fully occupied and as you entered I asked is you were guests of the HOTEL and you answered no ..... there was clearly a misunderstanding as I asked if you could come a few minutes later when seating was available
I apologies for the inconvenience

Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Can't say I enjoyed my stay at the Calvinia Hotel. It is old and needs a revamp. Although the new dirt was cleaned the old dirt still clings. The room was adequate that's it...drunks in the little Bar didn't help...

Room Tip: If you must stay here then don't expect a grand room
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 712sandimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for the review, my apologies for the inconveniences during your stay.

Calvinia Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Arrived after 11pm and reception was excellent. Found a room with safe parking. Nothing was too much effort for them. The show was strong and hot. And the breakfast was great. The price is more than reasonable. I will recommend to anyone and will definable stay over again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Adele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dear Adele

Thank you kindly for the great review.

Calvinia Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Their restaurant was terrible.Rather go to the Blue Nartjie down the road.Some of the reception,bar and restaurant staff are country bumpkins. Off road parking is a nightmare as its small and tight. One of the nights I was there a caravan was broken into although they have a security person on duty.The Hantam house is a better option to stay and their restaurant is great.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mikedM8730VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear Mike

I am sorry you found our restaurant not to your liking, we always deliver great food and service, which is why it is so strange to hear that you were not satisfied. We have secure parking in our courtyard, next time please ask our receptionist for directions. I am well aware of the caravan incident, however the caravan was left open by the guest, thus a cable was taken. All our staff here at Calvinia Hotel is dedicated to delivering great service, and I am very proud of them. Calling them "bumpkins" is not accurate and rather mean.

Kind Regards

Morne Loubser
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We booked the incorrect hotel through bookings.com on the 4th August, but immediately cancelled by mail and telephonic, sneaky sneaky took R 375.00 off our credit card. Several phone calls and emails and still no refund.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 91barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Barbara

As explained previously, we have to follow the guidelines set by booking.com with regards to refunds, as promised your refund will be processed.

Regards

Calvinia Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews