We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
30
62
42
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
62
42
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubenjoyed my stayoff street parkingovernight stopcape towna great staybarmanvibepersonnelyardhoteroutetastyafrikaansstoepkgalagadi
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Their restaurant was terrible.Rather go to the Blue Nartjie down the road.Some of the reception,bar and restaurant staff are country bumpkins. Off road parking is a nightmare as its small and tight. One of the nights I was there a caravan was broken into although they have a security person on duty.The Hantam house is a better option to stay and their restaurant is great.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mikedM8730VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear Mike

I am sorry you found our restaurant not to your liking, we always deliver great food and service, which is why it is so strange to hear that you were not satisfied. We have secure parking in our courtyard, next time please ask our receptionist for directions. I am well aware of the caravan incident, however the caravan was left open by the guest, thus a cable was taken. All our staff here at Calvinia Hotel is dedicated to delivering great service, and I am very proud of them. Calling them "bumpkins" is not accurate and rather mean.

Kind Regards

Morne Loubser
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We booked the incorrect hotel through bookings.com on the 4th August, but immediately cancelled by mail and telephonic, sneaky sneaky took R 375.00 off our credit card. Several phone calls and emails and still no refund.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 91barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Barbara

As explained previously, we have to follow the guidelines set by booking.com with regards to refunds, as promised your refund will be processed.

Regards

Calvinia Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Can recommend this establishment fir any occasion! Room was modern and neat! Staff friendly, food exquisite! Atmosphere more than excellent and relaxed! We had a lovely stay and will return defnitely!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elsabie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Dear Elsabie

Thank you kindly for the great review.

Calvinia Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Most boarding schools have better "canteen" eating facilities and superior design rooms. The top "luxuary" suite is in the courtyard next to a loud bar where raucous locals play pool and listen to crappy pop music into the following day! The room is large and cold even though it has a gigantic stone fireplace that is probably never used. You can't open the curtains as everybody passes to access the car parking lot. I stayed in a room with 5 beds, 5 bibles and a new shower that flooded the tiled floors. A Very Dangerous place!
Only if you are desperate and need "SHELTER" stay here, if no guest house is available.
A classic place where website exceeds reality

Room Tip: Stay away from the bar area and internal car yard!!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank afritrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Thank you for the review. Calvinia Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

This is the only hotel in town. Facilities are very basic. It shows little sign of having been upgraded or refurbished for many years. Food is limited and just about average. The best feature is the beer garden.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lagosnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for the review. Calvinia Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews