We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed overnight”
Review of Calvinia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calvinia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calvinia
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Arrived after 11pm and reception was excellent. Found a room with safe parking. Nothing was too much effort for them. The show was strong and hot. And the breakfast was great. The price is more than reasonable. I will recommend to anyone and will definable stay over again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Adele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dear Adele

Thank you kindly for the great review.

Calvinia Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Calvinia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2016

Their restaurant was terrible.Rather go to the Blue Nartjie down the road.Some of the reception,bar and restaurant staff are country bumpkins. Off road parking is a nightmare as its small and tight. One of the nights I was there a caravan was broken into although they have a security person on duty.The Hantam house is a better option to stay and their restaurant is great.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mikedM8730VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear Mike

I am sorry you found our restaurant not to your liking, we always deliver great food and service, which is why it is so strange to hear that you were not satisfied. We have secure parking in our courtyard, next time please ask our receptionist for directions. I am well aware of the caravan incident, however the caravan was left open by the guest, thus a cable was taken. All our staff here at Calvinia Hotel is dedicated to delivering great service, and I am very proud of them. Calling them "bumpkins" is not accurate and rather mean.

Kind Regards

Morne Loubser
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We booked the incorrect hotel through bookings.com on the 4th August, but immediately cancelled by mail and telephonic, sneaky sneaky took R 375.00 off our credit card. Several phone calls and emails and still no refund.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 91barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Barbara

As explained previously, we have to follow the guidelines set by booking.com with regards to refunds, as promised your refund will be processed.

Regards

Calvinia Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Can recommend this establishment fir any occasion! Room was modern and neat! Staff friendly, food exquisite! Atmosphere more than excellent and relaxed! We had a lovely stay and will return defnitely!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elsabie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Dear Elsabie

Thank you kindly for the great review.

Calvinia Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Most boarding schools have better "canteen" eating facilities and superior design rooms. The top "luxuary" suite is in the courtyard next to a loud bar where raucous locals play pool and listen to crappy pop music into the following day! The room is large and cold even though it has a gigantic stone fireplace that is probably never used. You can't open the curtains as everybody passes to access the car parking lot. I stayed in a room with 5 beds, 5 bibles and a new shower that flooded the tiled floors. A Very Dangerous place!
Only if you are desperate and need "SHELTER" stay here, if no guest house is available.
A classic place where website exceeds reality

Room Tip: Stay away from the bar area and internal car yard!!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank afritrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryHotels, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Thank you for the review. Calvinia Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvinia
0.5 km away
Tarantula Guest House
Tarantula Guest House
#2 of 10 in Calvinia
35 reviews
0.8 km away
African Dawn B&B
African Dawn B&B
#1 of 10 in Calvinia
37 reviews
0.0 km away
Manyane Resort
Manyane Resort
#13 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Carmel Villa B&B
Carmel Villa B&B
#5 of 10 in Calvinia
17 reviews
0.8 km away
Katryn's Bed and Breakfast
Katryn's Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 10 in Calvinia
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calvinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calvinia Hotel

Address: 22 Church Street, Calvinia 8190, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Calvinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calvinia
Price Range: R760 - R999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Calvinia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When entering the Calvinia Hotel, visitors are still welcomed with true warm country hospitality. The hotel offers 25 rooms all with en-suite showers & bathrooms, WIFI and selected DSTV channels, a splash pool to cool off in the summer heat, conference facilities for up to 80 pax, a beer garden, secure parking and restaurant & bar which is currently independently owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Calvinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing