We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
Agoda.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
55
13
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secure parking our room was spacious modern shower next morning breakfast stop accommodation route upington birds microwave
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2019

Stayed here for one night,but could have stayed longer. Room was beautiful, spotlessly clean and a very decent size with a nice modern feel. Bed and bedding was perfect.There is a nice small kitchenette with mini fridge, microwave and coffee making facilities. Dawn was very informative with recommendations about restaurants. Breakfast the next morning was excellent with plenty of warm and cold options. Can certainly recommend this place

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2019

On arrival Dawn and her son gave us a very warm welcome. They went out of their way to make a dinner reservation for us at a local restaurant. The room we stayed in was spacious and sparkling clean. This is a drought stricken area,yet Dawn has created a stunning garden. Due to this drought it is not possible to have lawns, however one does not notice there is hardly any lawn. The chatter of birds makes one want to relax on a comfy chair in the garden. After enjoying a lovely breakfast made and serve by Dawn we sadly had to depart. Hope to return next year again, hopefully for more than one night.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2019

Four of us stayed here (two rooms) on our way to, and again on the way back from, the Kalahari. Couldn't fault it. Very helpful owner (Dawn). Secure parking and your own remote control on your key fob. Pleasant surroundings. Nicely-furnished, spacious rooms with comfortable bed and a modern shower. Spotlessly clean. Great breakfast cooked to order. Good value too. What more could you want? It's not in the centre (to the extent that Calvinia even has a centre as such), so you need to either make a short trip to a restaurant or cater for yourself (microwave provided in the kitchenette). Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank R-in-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019 via mobile

We stayed overnight on the way up to the Northern Cape. The rooms were very well appointed, beds very comfortable and warm as toast. Dawn the host was most accommodating and did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Breakfast was great

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank gregsD3442WQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2019

Although just an overnight stop on our northern Cape trip, it was enough to want me to return again and again. And we shall!

We were welcomed by Dawn personally and showed to our "room" for the night. This turned out to be an extremely well appointed 1 bedroom flatlet. The bedroom has a small table for 2, a couple of lounge chairs to relax in, a large bathroom with great shower, as well as the kitchenette. Parking is extremely safe and on the premises. The gardens are lovely too. The accom was very clean and well appointed for self catering if you wish although there are some very good eateries in town only a kilometre or 2 from the house that can be highly recommended.

Breakfast is great and there is both the continental choices as well as a great full English should you have room for it. All in all we were spoilt by Dawn and her staff.

A wonderful overnight stay and we hope to see Dawn again in the not too distant future as we explore this area in more detail, especially the flower season.

Thanks very much Dawn for making us feel so at home and welcome.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews