We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
125
17
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
125
17
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages self catering breathtaking views braai area attention to detail overlooking the valley year anniversary romantic weekend swimming pool nice patio beautiful place to stay anywhere in the world check in process spacious rooms couples retreat city life highly recommend this place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2021

Right from the time of booking, to arriving, and then departing we experienced excellent and friendly service.
Eliana was so helpful whenever I had a question during our stay.
The accommodation was spotless and beautifully decorated and well stocked with everything you need during your time. A lot of effort has been put in and nothing is spared. Only one small negative is if your neighbour's walk too hard in their unit, you can hear this in yours. Luckily we only had neighbors for 2 nights out of 5 . Beautiful scenery.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank debbiebertoldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelia Retief, Owner at Big Sky Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Hi Debbie,
Thank you so much for your time to write us this excellent review. Wow! We appreciate it very much! It makes us feel very proud and pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and noticed all our attention to detail. Thank you for your ongoing patronage. We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Kind Regards,
Willie, Nelia, Elaina and staff of Big Sky Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2021

Nice setting with clean and well presented apartments. Cleaning fee of R200 is a bit challenging considering a one night stay. Kitchen and living area well presented and equipped. Deck with braai facility inviting and extends well from inside and outside apartment.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank henryzambli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelia Retief, Owner at Big Sky Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Hi Henry,
We don't charge paying guests a cleaning fee of R200. But because you booked through Swop & Stay and didn't pay for the accommodation, we then only charge a R200 cleaning fee, as we have staff to pay. On the Swop & Stay website, establishment owners are allowed to charge a cleaning fee. We also accommodated you in our high season through Swop & Stay, which we normally don't accommodate, as we were alread+y fully booked. We are glad that you enjoyed everything else we had to offer, but don't understand why we received only 4 stars for everything.
Kind Regards, Willie, Nelia, Elaina, and staff of Big Sky Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2021

Absolutely loved the spacious rooms and grounds Units offers a great private atmosphere due to the huge public areas in between chalets.
Will highly recommend! Exceeded our expectations and excellent value for

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ayd0nne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelia Retief, Owner at Big Sky Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2021

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review of our cottages! We appreciate all the lovely things you have to say about us and we truly appreciate your ongoing patronage. We are so glad that you had such a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Kind Regards, Willie, Nelia, Elaina and staff of Big Sky Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2021

What a tranquil, lovely experience! It was so quiet and stunning view of the vineyards, mountains and blue skies. The only downside was that we didn't get a chance to swim in the heat, due to people hogging the swimming pool. The cottage is equipped well with everything you might need. The Honesty jar was a real treat. Will definitely go again!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lizeF8328VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelia Retief, Owner at Big Sky Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

Hi Lize,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our cottages and great rating! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we're sorry to hear that you couldn't go for a swim. We truly appreciate your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Willie, Nelia & Elaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2021

The location was perfect - very easy to connect to towns of Ceres, Wolseley, Worcester and Tulbagh. Everything you can think of is supplied in the cottage.... much better than other self-catering establishments i have stayed in. The views are wonderful. Staff were great - nothing is too much trouble. I would love to stay again.

Date of stay: January 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anitasampsoncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelia Retief, Owner at Big Sky Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Hi Anita,
Thank you very much for giving us this wonderful review and rating of our cottages. We are so glad that you've enjoyed your experience with us and we would also love to welcome you back again. Please let us know anytime when you need accommodation in our area or maybe just want to stay with us for a holiday. It was such a pleasure accommodating you! See you soon!
Kind Regards, Willie, Nelia and Elaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews